Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Which terminal program?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
grx
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 173
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 9:38 pm    Post subject: Which terminal program? Reply with quote

I'm still fairly new to linux, and am always a little confused at all the options for different programs. Maybe some of you could help me out with my latest confusion.

I was wondering which program everyone uses when they bring up a terminal in X? What differences are there between xfterm4, xterm, gnome-terminal, konsole, etc, and why would I want to use one as opposed to the others?

Any input would be welcome!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
S_aIN_t
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 May 2002
Posts: 488
Location: Ottawa

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rxvt-unicode... light, support for truetype
_________________
"That which is overdesigned, too highly
specific, anticipates outcome; the anicipation of
outcome guatantees, if not failure, the
absence of grace."
- William Gibson, "All Tomorrow's Parties"
----
http://petro.tanreisoftware.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Imek
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2004
Posts: 390
Location: Newcastle, England

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I like aterm. It's light, quick, and does exactly what I want and nothing more.
_________________
- I
(very old) "Current" desktop | Adopt an unanswered post today!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xterm really is the best out there. You can configure it like a mad man through resources (man xterm for more info). If you want I'll post my .Xdefaults file when I get home from work in a few hours.
_________________
~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF


Last edited by codergeek42 on Mon Feb 28, 2005 10:57 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grx
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 173
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please do! the default xterm that comes up is not just boring, it's actually ugly. At least a font change is in order... I'd like to see how to do those kinds of things. Does it support transparency at all?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madbiker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Posts: 439
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

S_aIN_t wrote:
rxvt-unicode... light, support for truetype

Agreed. Plus tab support. I just wish they'd fix the problem with displaying 'line' type characters with truetype fonts (such as the ones that form the boxes in make menuconfig when configging a kernel).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. Here's my .Xdefaults file:
Code:
xterm*faceName: Bitstream Vera Sans Mono
xterm*faceSize: 11
xterm*metaSendsEscape: true
xterm*title: Terminal
xterm*scrollBar: true
xterm*scrollKey: true
xterm*background: black
xterm*foreground: white

Xft*dpi: 96
Xft*antialias: 1
Xft*hinting: 1
Xft*hintstyle: hintfull
Xft*rgba: rgb
To get the Bitstream Vera font family, you'll need to install the media-fonts/ttf-bitstream-vera package and add /usr/share/fonts/ttf-bitstream-vera/ as a FontPath in your xorg.conf file. But trust me, it's worth it. :wink:

For the changes to take effect you'll have to add them to $HOME/.Xdefaults and then run
Code:
$ xrdb -merge ~/.Xdefaults

_________________
~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaxPolun
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 2:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use aterm and Eterm. Both are good, but I like Eterm just a bit better because it is more easily configurable. Try the pseudo-transparency theme, it looks great :)
_________________
Far from idleness being the root of all evil, it is rather the only true good --soren kierkegaard

The Real OTW: time to do some good
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lews_Therin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 657
Location: Banned

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I coded a custom term so that I can have both GTK2 and tabs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 2:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lews_Therin wrote:
I coded a custom term so that I can have both GTK2 and tabs.
And you won't share this for the community's benefit? :wink:
_________________
~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John5788
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 2140
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 3:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

both eterm and aterm ive seen some problems in. for example, when i type a long command, it doesnt skip to the next line. instead it continues on the same line at the beginning. also after a few hundred lines in the terminal, i open, say the menuconfig to config my kernel. i close it and my prompt starts at the middle of all the jumble instead of at the bottom. its pretty annoying, but ive learned to live with it.
_________________
John5788
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
allucid
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Nov 2002
Posts: 1314
Location: atlanta

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 3:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lews_Therin wrote:
I coded a custom term so that I can have both GTK2 and tabs.
like gnome-terminal?

I use xterm. it's fast and works well with none of the extra fuss.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

John5788 wrote:
both eterm and aterm ive seen some problems in. for example, when i type a long command, it doesnt skip to the next line. instead it continues on the same line at the beginning. also after a few hundred lines in the terminal, i open, say the menuconfig to config my kernel. i close it and my prompt starts at the middle of all the jumble instead of at the bottom. its pretty annoying, but ive learned to live with it.
Add
Code:
shopt -s checkwinsize
to your .bashrc if you use Bash
_________________
~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kensai
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 568
Location: Puerto Rico

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

codergeek42 wrote:
Lews_Therin wrote:
I coded a custom term so that I can have both GTK2 and tabs.
And you won't share this for the community's benefit? :wink:

Yeah why are you being so selfish:?: :lol:
_________________
Gentoo: Gigabyte: nFORCE 2: nVIDIA GeForce 6600: AMD Athlon XP 3200+
Perspective of a Thinking Human Being
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lews_Therin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 657
Location: Banned

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 3:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

codergeek42 wrote:
Lews_Therin wrote:
I coded a custom term so that I can have both GTK2 and tabs.
And you won't share this for the community's benefit? :wink:


Trust me, in it's current state the community probably doesn't want it. I'll e-mail a tarball to you if you really want to run The Lord of the Memleaks.

allucid wrote:
Lews_Therin wrote:
I coded a custom term so that I can have both GTK2 and tabs.
like gnome-terminal?


Almost exactly like gnome-terminal, except without the multi-second startup times and dozens of required libraries.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lews_Therin wrote:
Trust me, in it's current state the community probably doesn't want it. I'll e-mail a tarball to you if you really want to run The Lord of the Memleaks.
Post it somewhere. Maybe get a project for it on SourceForge. That way we as a community can help you improve it :D
_________________
~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 18084

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 4:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check out the "Best of" thread in Gentoo Chat.
_________________
Those who know what's best for us must rise and save us from ourselves.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum