Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Oss4
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And mark me as totally impressed. :) I got the ebuilds from the oss-overlay in layman, and the ebuild works perfectly. There is also an ebuild for gst-plugins-oss4 in that overlay and bingo, that works perfectly as well. I can now control the sound with my hotkeys, just like alsa. Great. :)
Sound quality is definitely better, all I have to get is skype working.

So, is there an ebuild for the static oss version of skype.
_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another question, has anyone got his Internal Mic (Intel HD) working with OSS4. And if yes, can someone tell me how?

Thanks
Rahul
_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am about to divorce from alsa because I can't stand unnecessary complexity where there's really nothing that should be complex at all.

I have installed oss from the overlay and I am really impressed to see how I have been able to do everything I couldn't do with ALSA in less than ten minutes and with no previous background in oss4 (or oss in general by that matter).

There are some minor things I'd like sorted, but for now I am glad that everything is -mostly- working. However I am experiencing something really strange, what makes me guess it's some silly thing I am not noticing. My problem is that ossmix can raise the volume, or set it absolute, but it can't lower it:

Code:

$ ossmix vmix0-outvol +1
Value of mixer control vmix0-outvol set to 15.6
$ ossmix vmix0-outvol -1
ossmix: invalid option -- '1'
Usage: ossmix -h                Displays help (this screen)
Usage: ossmix [-d<devno>] [arguments]
arguments:
        -D                      Display device information
        -c                      Dump mixer settings for all mixers
        ctrl# value             Change value of a mixer control
        -q                      Quiet mode
        -v1|-v2         Verbose mode (-v2 is more verbose).
        <no arguments>  Display current/possible settings


So, how come I can raise but not lower volume? Is this some revolutionary new feature? :lol:

Thanks in advance for any info :)

Edited: nevermind, "ossmix -- vmix0-outvol -1" will work.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fredizdman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Location: NC

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If anyone else has problems getting oss-overlay to install via layman, it seems the url is incorrect.

http://hg.atheme.org/hgwebdir.cgi/users/majeru/portage-overlay/ .......... should be

http://hg.atheme.org/users/majeru/portage-overlay/

If someone knows how to change the way layman downloads to edit the url directly, that may be easier, there is a workaround however.

Simply go to the bottom link and download one of the archives on the left side. Remember where you downloaded

sudo mkdir /usr/portage/local/layman/oss-overlay

Extract the archive to '/usr/portage/local/layman/oss-overlay/'

copy the contents of /usr/portage/local/layman/oss-overlay/portage-overlay-119286097135/ to /usr/portage/local/layman/oss-overlay/
and remove the unneeded /usr/portage/local/layman/oss-overlay/portage-overlay-119286097135/ folder

use a text editor to add PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/portage/local/layman/oss-overlay/" to /usr/portage/local/layman/make.conf

you should then be able to 'emerge media-sound/oss'

----For those of you who like to copy and paste....

Code:
 wget http://hg.atheme.org/users/majeru/portage-overlay/archive/tip.tar.bz2


Code:
sudo mkdir /usr/portage/local/layman/oss-overlay


Code:

tar -xvjf ./tip.tar.bz2 -C /usr/portage/local/layman/oss-overlay/


Code:
sudo cp -rdf /usr/portage/local/layman/oss-overlay/portage-overlay-119286097135/* /usr/portage/local/layman/oss-overlay/


Code:
sudo rm -rdf /usr/portage/local/layman/oss-overlay/portage-overlay-119286097135/

Code:

echo 'PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/portage/local/layman/oss-overlay/"' >> /usr/portage/local/layman/make.conf


Good luck! Or maybe I was the only one with the error, couldn't seem to find the problem anywhere else. Maybe it will help someone.[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grolsch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 31
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looking for some help with OSS4, could not get OSS4 to compile so i went with oss-devel from oss-overlay. It compiled perfectly well but when I start OSS it locked up the system.

I never built any sound modules in the kernel, as I understand it this is what you;re suppose to do. Any help or advice is appreciated.




00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Leon_UK
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 128
Location: London

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I could'nt get it to compile either and got around that hitch with the devel ebuild, I then rebuilt my kernel so it has no sound support and rebooted into that kernel
Code:
< > Sound card support  --->


I then fired it up via the init script it took a little while for what ever it was doing, I then proceeded to run the test (osstest) all worked perfectly for me, I'm quite impressed so far.

grolsch wrote:
Looking for some help with OSS4, could not get OSS4 to compile so i went with oss-devel from oss-overlay. It compiled perfectly well but when I start OSS it locked up the system.

I never built any sound modules in the kernel, as I understand it this is what you;re suppose to do. Any help or advice is appreciated.




00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller


what kind of lock up are we talking about? I'm guessing since you said system, it required a hard restart? could'nt ctrl-alt to a terminal or just kill X just curious if you had access to dmesg
otherwise there may be information in
Code:
sudo cat /var/log/daemon.log | grep oss

(obviously if you dont use sudo just get root access)
_________________
AMD 7750 BE (@3.0ghz) || pci-e 7600GT (@650/800)Nvidia-drivers || 4gb ddr2 || ~amd64(funtoo) ||gentoo-sources-2.6.35-r1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grolsch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 31
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah hard reboot was required.I removed all instances of the sound system in the kernel prior to installing the oss-devel.

I'm away from home at the moment but I'll check the logs later.

Cheers for the reply
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5702
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i92guboj wrote:
I am about to divorce from alsa because I can't stand unnecessary complexity where there's really nothing that should be complex at all.

I have installed oss from the overlay and I am really impressed to see how I have been able to do everything I couldn't do with ALSA in less than ten minutes and with no previous background in oss4 (or oss in general by that matter).

There are some minor things I'd like sorted, but for now I am glad that everything is -mostly- working. However I am experiencing something really strange, what makes me guess it's some silly thing I am not noticing. My problem is that ossmix can raise the volume, or set it absolute, but it can't lower it:

Code:

$ ossmix vmix0-outvol +1
Value of mixer control vmix0-outvol set to 15.6
$ ossmix vmix0-outvol -1
ossmix: invalid option -- '1'
Usage: ossmix -h                Displays help (this screen)
Usage: ossmix [-d<devno>] [arguments]
arguments:
        -D                      Display device information
        -c                      Dump mixer settings for all mixers
        ctrl# value             Change value of a mixer control
        -q                      Quiet mode
        -v1|-v2         Verbose mode (-v2 is more verbose).
        <no arguments>  Display current/possible settings


So, how come I can raise but not lower volume? Is this some revolutionary new feature? :lol:

Thanks in advance for any info :)

Edited: nevermind, "ossmix -- vmix0-outvol -1" will work.


What I do for Openbox is:

lowerVolume
Code:

#!/bin/bash
read -a VOL < <(ossmix vmix0-outvol)
POS="${#VOL[@]}"
PresVol="${VOL[ $(( $POS-2 )) ]}"

VOL=$(echo "$PresVol - 1" | bc)
ossmix vmix0-outvol $VOL



raiseVolume
Code:

#!/bin/bash
read -a VOL < <(ossmix vmix0-outvol)
POS="${#VOL[@]}"
PresVol="${VOL[ $(( $POS-2 )) ]}"

VOL=$(echo "$PresVol + 1" | bc)
ossmix vmix0-outvol $VOL



muteVolume
Code:

#!/bin/bash
read -r VOL < ~/.volume
echo "$VOL"
if [[ -z $VOL ]]; then
    echo "MUTIN"
    read -a VOL < <(ossmix vmix0-outvol)
    POS="${#VOL[@]}"
    PresVol="${VOL[ $(( $POS-2 )) ]}"
    echo $PresVol

    ossmix vmix0-outvol 0
    echo ${PresVol} > ${HOME}/.volume
else
    echo "VOLIN"
    echo $VOL
    ossmix vmix0-outvol "$VOL"
    > "$HOME"/.volume
fi

_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5702
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yer oss4 works really easily and severly reduced voodoo when compared with ALSA. been using it for near on 2years now
You have to use the oss-devel ebuild if you are using the FORTIFY gcc version (gcc-4.3.3 ??)

I would really like to see oss4.1 in the main tree when opensound finally get around to releasing it - its almost there
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grolsch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 31
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nah nothing, system locks up using oss-devel overlay and when building manually.

Output from /var/log/soundon.log

Code:

Open Sound System starting Tue Mar 17 19:26:40 GMT 2009
OSS version:  4.2 (b 081213/200903171921)
Kernel version:  2.6.29-rc7-zen1
Kernel vermagic:  2.6.29-rc7-zen1 SMP mod_unload
Relinking OSS kernel modules for 2.6.29-rc7-zen1 SMP mod_unload

OSS build environment set up for REGPARM kernels

Building module osscore
Building module oss_ali5455
Building module oss_allegro
Building module oss_atiaudio
Building module oss_audigyls
Building module oss_audioloop
Building module oss_audiopci
Building module oss_cmi878x
Building module oss_cmpci
Building module oss_cs4281
Building module oss_cs461x
Building module oss_digi96
Building module oss_emu10k1x
Building module oss_envy24
Building module oss_envy24ht
Building module oss_fmedia
Building module oss_geode
Building module oss_hdaudio
Building module oss_ich
Building module oss_imux
Building module oss_midiloop
Building module oss_midimix
Building module oss_sblive
Building module oss_sbpci
Building module oss_sbxfi
Building module oss_solo
Building module oss_trident
Building module oss_usb
Building module oss_userdev
Building module oss_via823x
Building module oss_via97
Building module oss_ymf7xx
depmod -a
OSS    vermagic:  2.6.29-rc7-zen1 SMP mod_unload

*** Loading OSS kernel modules ***



Rebuilding manually.

Code:

Open Sound System starting Wed Mar 18 20:32:45 GMT 2009
OSS version:  4.2 (b 081213/200903182025)
Kernel version:  2.6.29-rc7-zen1
Kernel vermagic:  2.6.29-rc7-zen1 SMP mod_unload
OSS    vermagic:  2.6.29-rc7-zen1 SMP mod_unload

*** Loading OSS kernel modules ***
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1160

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oss4 installs ok but just can't get intel hda to even whisper.
i have tried every combination with the ossxmix but no sound.
fact is i know it's just a combination of the ossxmix stuff but can't get the right one.



any help?
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jdratlif
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Aug 2005
Posts: 49
Location: in a small white padded room.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pappy_mcfae wrote:
Mark me down as unimpressed. While I did find a usable ebuild, that didn't insure success. I got sound. to be sure. However, just as in the dark days before 2.6.26, plugging in the headphones doesn't shut off the speakers. That's no good. Hopefully, the fix for the driver will come. For now, I stick with alsa.


That never worked for me in alsa either. So the lack of it in OSS isn't really much of a downside.

However, sound quality is better, and I have individualized (i.e. application specific) volume controls, which is very nice.

It is quieter. I have had to raise my speaker volume, and I had to make a custom audacious ebuild with OSS4 support to get audacious' volume controls to work. Other than that, I'm liking OSS4 better than ALSA (that may change though - this is only the two-week perspective).

tranquilcool wrote:
oss4 installs ok but just can't get intel hda to even whisper.
i have tried every combination with the ossxmix but no sound.
fact is i know it's just a combination of the ossxmix stuff but can't get the right one.


No sound with osstest? Have you pulled every control to the max on ossxmix? I lost volume once because the vmix output had been muted somehow. For my sound to work, I need front, vmix output, and pcm[8-11] to have volume, and anything less than half might as well be mute.
_________________
CODEpendent blog - http://jdrrant.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1160

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jdratlif wrote:
pappy_mcfae wrote:
Mark me down as unimpressed. While I did find a usable ebuild, that didn't insure success. I got sound. to be sure. However, just as in the dark days before 2.6.26, plugging in the headphones doesn't shut off the speakers. That's no good. Hopefully, the fix for the driver will come. For now, I stick with alsa.


That never worked for me in alsa either. So the lack of it in OSS isn't really much of a downside.

However, sound quality is better, and I have individualized (i.e. application specific) volume controls, which is very nice.

It is quieter. I have had to raise my speaker volume, and I had to make a custom audacious ebuild with OSS4 support to get audacious' volume controls to work. Other than that, I'm liking OSS4 better than ALSA (that may change though - this is only the two-week perspective).

tranquilcool wrote:
oss4 installs ok but just can't get intel hda to even whisper.
i have tried every combination with the ossxmix but no sound.
fact is i know it's just a combination of the ossxmix stuff but can't get the right one.


No sound with osstest? Have you pulled every control to the max on ossxmix? I lost volume once because the vmix output had been muted somehow. For my sound to work, I need front, vmix output, and pcm[8-11] to have volume, and anything less than half might as well be mute.



i have sound from osstest but no sound from apps. es amarok and the like. i mean the apps work but no sound is coming out.
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soka
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Dec 2006
Posts: 92
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you try changing the output plugin from auto to oss in amarok?
Do you have the oss use flag set in /etc/make.conf?
Try playing a wav file with ossplay and see if you get sound.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jdratlif
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Aug 2005
Posts: 49
Location: in a small white padded room.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know what happened to me, but when I first tried installing OSS4, I got sound from osstest, but nothing worked in KDE, even though I recompiled everything (or so I believe) with the OSS flag enabled.

A reinstall solved all my problems, thought that shouldn't be necessary if you find the right package. Does KDE recognize OSS in your sound settings? Mine didn't the first time, but after the reinstall it does.
_________________
CODEpendent blog - http://jdrrant.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1160

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

only osstest gives sound nothing else.
i have kde4 and oss is recognised. of course i have the oss use flag.
i don't know why sound is muted because that's what's happening.
everything works but sound is muted.
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jdratlif
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Aug 2005
Posts: 49
Location: in a small white padded room.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tranquilcool wrote:
only osstest gives sound nothing else.
i have kde4 and oss is recognised. of course i have the oss use flag.
i don't know why sound is muted because that's what's happening.
everything works but sound is muted.


Does it play sound when you use the test sound from the kde multimedia control panel? Is OSS the prefered sound device for everything?
_________________
CODEpendent blog - http://jdrrant.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7694
Location: Pelotas, BR

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Multimedia to Unsupported Software. Please drop a line if it is supported (I wasn't able to find it in the tree).
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum