Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No wlan after reboot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lucid insanity
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 1:29 am    Post subject: No wlan after reboot Reply with quote

First off, this has been a real fun experience of debugging, trial and error. :)

However, I'm now stumped. I followed the handbook through and when I restarted my machine I can't get my wlan to work. The device is recognized, it's a TL-WN722N usb adapter. I have the ath9k drivers as modules.

When I try to run
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start


I get the error wpa_supplicant.conf not found. I don't remember ever putting wpa_supplicant on my machine. I would appreciate any help or direction given. I realize that since it's my first stab ad gentoo I probably forgot something important. Cheers! :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lucid insanity,

Welcome to gentoo :D

Start by following these instructions for wpa_supplicant:

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=4&chap=4
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lucid insanity
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the response! Why would I have wpa_supplicant on my machine though? I never emerged it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Odward
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2012
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

*Edit
If you have wpa_supplicant installed, then it was part of the stage3 tarball or pulled in as a dependancy if you emerged something else.

If not you might have to use the install media to chroot again and emerge a wireless tool. Else if you intended to use an alternative such
as wicd or networkmanager you could emerge those instead.


Last edited by Odward on Fri Aug 17, 2012 2:40 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2600

PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 2:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lucid insanity wrote:
Why would I have wpa_supplicant on my machine though? I never emerged it.


You would have it because you rebooted once before and found that without it your wireless does not work. We have all done that one at least once.

To get it, you will need internet. The easiest way is to boot your live cd back up, mount your partitions and then run the chroot commands, specifically after you get your internet working from the cd, do this:
Code:
cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/
mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
env-update
source /etc/profile
export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"
emerge net-wireless/wpa_supplicant
reboot

Once you get back into your install you can start messing around with the wpa_suplicant config files using the like BilWho provided.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lucid insanity
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 2:29 pm    Post subject: No wlan after reboot[SOLVED] Reply with quote

Thanks for the help! I got it all sorted out. Does anyone have any suggestions on where to look for making a GUI?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2600

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What type? Do you mean like a windows manager or a GUI network manager?

If you man the window manager, first you will need xorg-server
Then you can choose between many different window managers, some of the more popular being kde, lxde, and gnome. Be aware that gnome 3 is due out soon and many people find it to be a royal pain. Some love it, but personally I don't find it very easy to work with.

If you just mean for network configuration, you have two top choices, wicd and network manager. Personally, I like using wicd since it is lighter and I have never quite got the hang of network manager.

Some cavorts on the desktop environments. I like to use kdebase-meta or gnome-light to avoid the unnecessary packages that are not needed. These packages don't pull the extra stuff like pdf views, 30 games, etc and just stick with what you need to log in. For kde, there is also debate about the so called evil trio that don't do anything for you unless you are running some kde apps like kmail. You can disable them with the -semantic-desktop use flag. The reason they got the rap for being evil is because they do take up quite a bit of resources.

EIDT: Additionally, there is no harm in having more than one window manager installed. I have fluxbox and KDE since they both work with my preferred setup (I am rather anti-*kit at the moment). In the past I have installed KDE, LXDE, gnome3, razor-qt and a few others for variety. If you have the time to compile them, it can be fun to check them out. Incidentally, I keep fluxbox so when (not if) KDE breaks I still have a GUI so I can keep working while I fix it.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.


Last edited by The Doctor on Tue Aug 21, 2012 1:29 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
solamour
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 639
Location: San Diego, CA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 1:18 am    Post subject: Re: No wlan after reboot[SOLVED] Reply with quote

lucid insanity wrote:
Does anyone have any suggestions on where to look for making a GUI?


Most of my machines are fairly under-powered, so I like something light, such as Fluxbox (http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/fluxbox-config.xml), which works even better with not-so-under-powered machines.
__
sol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum