Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
"CPU you selected does not support x86-64 instruction set"
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dilbot
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Feb 2004
Posts: 121
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 3:02 pm    Post subject: "CPU you selected does not support x86-64 instruction s Reply with quote

I'm obviously missing something.

Here's my machine: 3.10.25-gentoo #1 SMP i686 Core2 Quad CPU Q8300 @ 2,50 GHz

I used the latest ISO: install-x86-minimal-20140128.iso
I used the latest stage3: stage3-i686-20140128.tar.bz2

Then when I try to compile the kernel, I get the "CPU you selected does not support x86-64 instruction set" error. This happens after selecting either the x86-64 or Core2 options in processors.

The only thing I can think of is that the original ISO is x86 rather than x86-64, but that shouldn't be a factor after loading the i686 stage3. And anyways, there doesn't seem to be an x86-64 ISO available.

Any ideas?

[edit] I can get the kernel to compile if I unclick the new 64-bit-kernel option. But this doesn't really make any sense to me - the CPU is 64-bit. Everything else compiles fine. Eh?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blu3bird
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 612
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 4:02 pm    Post subject: Re: "CPU you selected does not support x86-64 instructi Reply with quote

dilbot wrote:
The only thing I can think of is that the original ISO is x86 rather than x86-64, but that shouldn't be a factor after loading the i686 stage3. And anyways, there doesn't seem to be an x86-64 ISO available.

It is. You can't compile a 64 bit kernel with a 32 bit system (well, you can but it's complicated).

Best thing would probably be to reinstall using x86-64 iso and stage3. Note that x86_64 is called amd64, because amd invented it: http://distfiles.gentoo.org/releases/amd64/
_________________
Black Holes are created when God divides by zero!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dilbot
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Feb 2004
Posts: 121
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"Note that x86_64 is called amd64, because amd invented it"

One of those things you have to know because otherwise it wouldn't make much sense on the face of it.

Thanks blu3bird, I'll give that a try.

[edit] So I've tried the AMD ISO with the i686 intel stage 3. same problem. I guess to get 64-bit on intel, you have to use all of the AMD builds (ISO and stage3)?. I've run out of time to play with this so I'm just going with 32-bit for now. Hopefully there will be a clearly named path for intel 64-bit in the future.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 1753

PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

64 bit kernel can run either 32 or 64 bit apps. 32 kernel can only run 32 bit apps.
The easiest way is to download everything you need already compiled for arch you run (amd64 in your case). I've never used gentoo iso image, maybe you can install from this directly without stage tarball? If no, get stage 3 compiled for amd64.

You can also convert your instal to 64 bit. There is howto in gentoo docs how to do that (https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Changing_the_CHOST_variable seems to be fine), just make sure you build new kernel first, you can do that running genkernel with --arch-override option. Reboot with new, 64 bit kernel, and THEN follow howto. Otherwise you might find yourself screwed by 32 bit kernel being not able to run your brand new 64 bit userland.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10280
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

szatox wrote:
You can also convert your instal to 64 bit.
Alas, this is not true. You must start with 64-bit install media and stages if you want a 64-bit install.

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum