Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Dualboot with windows 8 MBR
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bluehippy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2014 8:33 am    Post subject: Dualboot with windows 8 MBR Reply with quote

Hello everybody,

i have quite a huge problem with dualbooting gentoo and windows 8 installed in mbr mode. The problem is that GRUB2 doesnt recognise my windows installation and I really tried already many things to get it work. Here's what I did so far:

(1) Installed windows 8
(2) Installed Gentoo with the handbook (english version)
(3) Installed Grub2
(4) Windows wasnt recognised
(5) Did something I dont remember (Maybe reinstalling grub...)
(6) Dualboot was working :-DDDD
(7) Changed one kernel option related to networking and installed new kernel
(8) Grub didnt recognised windows -> no dualbooting

To solve the problem I tried to reinstall grub2, os-prober (doesnt show anything), but nothing worked so far. Running grub2-probe on the windows booting partition to look for bootmgr only gives an
Code:
grub2-probe: Fehler: Für /dev/sda1/bootmgr konnte kein GRUB-Laufwerk gefunden werden. Überprüfen Sie Ihre device.map.
English (sorry if the translation is bad, not my mother language):
Code:
grub2-probe: Error: Cannot find a GRUB-device for /dev/sda1/bootmgr. Check your device.map


Please help, I really would love to dualboot with windows.

fdisk -l
Code:
Disk /dev/sda: 465,8 GiB, 500107862016 bytes, 976773168 sectors
Units: Sektoren of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disklabel type: dos
Disk identifier: 0xe73d167b

Gerät     Boot     Start      Ende    Blocks  Id System
/dev/sda1 *         2048    718847    358400   7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda2         718848 488388607 243834880   7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda3      488388608 976773167 244192280  8e Linux LVM


Disk /dev/mapper/vg0-grub: 4 MiB, 4194304 bytes, 8192 sectors
Units: Sektoren of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

Disk /dev/mapper/vg0-boot: 128 MiB, 134217728 bytes, 262144 sectors
Units: Sektoren of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

Disk /dev/mapper/vg0-swap: 4 GiB, 4294967296 bytes, 8388608 sectors
Units: Sektoren of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

Disk /dev/mapper/vg0-root: 50 GiB, 53687091200 bytes, 104857600 sectors
Units: Sektoren of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

Disk /dev/mapper/vg0-home: 178,8 GiB, 191931351040 bytes, 374865920 sectors
Units: Sektoren of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2657

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2014 9:15 am    Post subject: Re: Dualboot with windows 8 MBR Reply with quote

What is the output of
Code:
su -c os-prober
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1705
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2014 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, after building the new kernel, did you check the contents of /etc/default/grub (especially GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX) and then run the grub2-mkconfig command to regenerate the grub.cfg file?

Code:
grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64 OpenRC elogind nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64 OpenRC elogind xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bluehippy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2014 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi, thanks for the help

Code:
su -c os-prober
doesnt give any output. When running from my normal user it just asked for the password and as root user it doesnt give anything back.

@Fitzcarraldo, yes I run grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg after the kernel installation. This was the point when the dualboot option disappeared again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roman_Gruber
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 3806
Location: Austro Bavaria

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2014 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you overwrite your windows partition?

You may write down here your partition layout please. starting with

/dev/sdx /mount_point file_system (description what you need it for)

e.g.

/dev/sda1 /boot /ext2 (needed for grub to boot)

you can also use a gparted livecd and do the partition layout there. please consider that you can move partitions with gparted too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bluehippy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2014 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not sure if the windows partition was overwritten. I didnt touched it manually, maybe grub touched it.

Partition layout:

/dev/sda1 windows/system ntfs partition was created during the inital windows installation size 350MB
/dev/sda2 windows/c:\ ntfs my windows installation size 240GB
/dev/sda3 lvm LVM for linux installation. I use an LVM to be able to easily change the size.

LVM:

/dev/mapper/vg0-grub no-mount grub <- I intended this as grub partition, but no idea if grub uses it (grub was installed with grub-install /dev/sda ) size 4MB
/dev/mapper/vg0-boot /boot ext2 boot partition, which has my kernel images (also the old one when windows was working) size 128MB
/dev/mapper/vg0-root / ext4 root with NO extra partition for /var, /tmp, or what so ever, size 50GB
/dev/mapper/vg0-home /home ext4 178GB
/dev/mapper/vg0-swap swap swap 4GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2657

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2014 11:02 am    Post subject: Re: Dualboot with windows 8 MBR Reply with quote

Maybe this wiki might help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bluehippy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2014 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, I'll try.

There is a similar wiki on wiki.arch.org, but this one is much easier to understand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bluehippy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2014 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the wiki asks to mount the windows partition, which fails for me with the error
Code:
modprobe: FATAL: Module fuse not found
fuse: device not found, try 'modprobe fuse' first


Well, 'modprobe fuse' gives the error
Code:
modprobe: FATAL: Module fuse not found.


I checked the installed packages and, both, sys-fs/fuse and sys-fs/ntfs3g are installed in the newest stable version.

in the kernel FUSE is activated as module, but doesnt appear anywhere. Is the name of the module "fuse"?

What's wrong with my system????
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonathan183
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Dec 2011
Posts: 309

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2014 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you compiled it as a module then yes I think you should have a module called fuse, I think it gets loaded automatically by ntfs-3g when needed.
You could try
Code:
find /lib -iname fuse
to see if the module exists for your current kernel version, see current kernel version output from
Code:
uname -a

You will probably find the fuse module for previous kernel version which will also be listed with the find output. If you find no fuse module for your current kernel then go back to check your kernel config again.

Ed: example output on my system ...
Code:
jonathan-websurfer@Desktop-PC ~ $ find /lib -iname fuse
/lib/modules/3.10.24-ck/kernel/fs/fuse
/lib/modules/3.10.7-gentoo-gnu/kernel/fs/fuse
/lib/modules/3.10.7-gentoo/kernel/fs/fuse
/lib/modules/3.10.32-gentoo-gnu/kernel/fs/fuse

jonathan-websurfer@Desktop-PC ~ $ uname -a
Linux Desktop-PC 3.10.24-ck #1 Tue Feb 11 23:17:37 GMT 2014 i686 AMD Athlon(TM) XP2000+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bluehippy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2014
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2014 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually some black voodoo magic happened...

I restarted the computer and booted from the Windows 8 DVD into the repair mode. There I opened a command shell, used a few times the commands "cd" and "dir" to see if I have a "boot" folder on my windows disk (There isn't any) and then rebooted. After the reboot grub recognised the windows installation (actually I set up an entry in /etc/grub.d/40_custom) and is now able to boot from both systems...

That's scary, just booting the windows dvd solved the problem for the moment...

When i'm back on gentoo, i'll post the output of the commands

thanks for the help :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum