Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo stuck at booting
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SoIAS
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 5:17 pm    Post subject: Gentoo stuck at booting Reply with quote

Hello,
this was my first installation of gentoo.
After finishing chapter 10: "http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=10" I have rebooted gentoo and since then it is stuck at "Loading linux ..."
I was installing it on Virtual Box.

http://s3.postimg.org/jcbw2ei43/stuck.png

My mine machine is:
I7 2600k
12 GB DDR3 1600
HD 7950

Do you know what is going on?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 808

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wrong configured kernel and/or bootloader
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SoIAS,

Welcome to Gentoo.

Virtual Box provides hardware for Gentoo - it prentends to be a complete PC in software.
Gentoo cannot tell that it is a guest.

However, you need to use all the drivers for the VBox emulated hardware, not your real hardware.
Boot your liveCD in Virtualbox and post tho output of lspci.

As Perfect Gentleman says, its a kernel issue, so put your /usr/src/linux/.config onto a pastebin site.

That way you helpers can see what you need in your kernel based on the hardware that VBox shows to Gentoo.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SoIAS
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 6:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey,
Thanks guys. I have resolved the previous problem, but I have another one.
While trying to use:
Quote:
emerge world
I'm getting this error:
http://s30.postimg.org/3ujnrnjzl/log.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 808

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
cat /etc/resolv.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SoIAS
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 7:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect Gentleman wrote:
Code:
cat /etc/resolv.conf


Thanks.
Problem solved.
I had badly configured ethernet.
I added dhcp to eth0 instead of "enp5s0".

Read little about it and I have changed name to eth0
Code:
http://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Software/systemd/PredictableNetworkInterfaceNames/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
229566
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Aug 2010
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SoIAS wrote:
Thanks guys. I have resolved the previous problem


It would be nice if you wrote what the problem and solution were so people committing the same mistakes can find the answer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2642

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SoIAS wrote:
Read little about it and I have changed name to eth0
Code:
http://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Software/systemd/PredictableNetworkInterfaceNames/
If you used dhcpcd as network manager you wouldn't have had to care about »predictable« stuff. https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Dhcpcd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SoIAS
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2014 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

GrueXYZ wrote:
SoIAS wrote:
Thanks guys. I have resolved the previous problem


It would be nice if you wrote what the problem and solution were so people committing the same mistakes can find the answer.


I just made a boo-boo with configuring fstab.
Wrote /dev/sdaw instead of /dev/sda2

Thank you guys for help:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum