Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Compile started by itself
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 12:44 pm    Post subject: Compile started by itself Reply with quote

I followed the handbook down to section 9 and after I did the last command: "emerge ppp" it started compiling on its own.

Is this normal?
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10395
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. Gentoo is a "from source" distribution and thus, when you install something, it gets compiled.

(There are a very few exceptions to this general rule but you won't encounter them until later.)

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think we are talking about different things.

I'm installing Gentoo and have got as far as section 9 and the last command in section 9 is "emerge ppp" for the peer to peer option.

The compile has taken 5 hours up to now and is not finished.
So its not just compiling the last command, its compiling the whole thing.

I didn't start the compiling, it just did it by itself.
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7200

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge ppp doesn't just ask "i want ppp", but ask "do what is need to have ppp working".
you just want ppp, but if ppp need B, without B, ppp won't work. So while you just ask ppp, emerge is doing the work to put all the B so ppp will works.
If your base gentoo is old, the number of B need updating will just be greater. The good part is when you wish "ooo" this time, the number will be lower, as many "B" will have a working state already.
The gentoo promise is that if ppp need B but could use X or Z, you will be able to not have Z or X if you don't need it. But if Z need version 2 and you have no Z or Z version 1, gentoo will update or add Z version 2 to let ppp work.

So you are talking about the same thing. If you want ppp ; emerge may autoadd B or Z or X because you need them.
The other good parts, is when you have working system, doing that while using your system is not a problem, but at installation phase, just waiting in front of it is boring. Previously gentoo was showing the work, it wasn't that nice, as nothing useful was in front of your eyes, but it have a mesmerising effect and gave you a "time elapse" feeling, so you were just seeing code flying all over the screen and it was helping to wait in front (while anyone could just argue you don't have to wait in front, in real everyone is just waiting in front as none could tell where it will end).
You can get that old but sweet feeling effect gentoo shouldn't have remove for some stupid joke consideration : emerge --jobs=1 ppp and get into the matrix!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi krinn,

Are you saying that the "emerge ppp" command will take over five hours to complete?

The title on top of the terminal window is:
"emerge : (112 of 121) sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3 Compile"

Its six and a half hours since I entered the "emerge ppp" command.
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szczerb
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 1706
Location: Poland => Lodz

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This just means that to emerge the 'ppp' package other 120 packages where needed.

Some dependcies are obvious but 120 packages for net-dialup/ppp is a lot.

Are you sure that you downloaded a current stage3 tarball?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7200

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

catchpole wrote:
Are you saying that the "emerge ppp" command will take over five hours to complete?

It's hard to answer that one, it depend how many B (i might have already tell you B are dependencies, anyway i have done it now) are needed, cpu, ram and disk performance...

But for your case, it looks easy to answer.
catchpole wrote:
Its six and a half hours since I entered the "emerge ppp" command.

So i would say, yes, at least more than six and half hours ;)

Adding that you can break the process when you wish, and restart again, it won't redo what was done (just in case you are dying in front of it).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi szczerb,

I got the stage 3 tarball from the Gentoo website at the beginning of October.
Everything was going smoothly using the commands in the handbook.

I thought that I may need peer to peer so I decided to include it. It was the last command in section 9 before configuring the boot loader (Section 10).

Here's where I got to in the handbook. (Section 9)


Optional: Installing a PPPoE Client

If you need ppp to connect to the net, you need to install it.

Code Listing 6.2: Installing ppp

# emerge ppp
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrbassie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 568

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

120 dependencies is a lot. Did you put many positive use flags in make.conf? I'm wondering if it's pulling in gtk stuff

Last edited by mrbassie on Sat Nov 08, 2014 5:25 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szczerb
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 1706
Location: Poland => Lodz

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So basically, durign a new installation you are also updating a month old system. And AFAIR there were quite a few version bumps in the core packages during this time.

So stay calm and keep emerging ;) All is fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44218
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

catchpole,

I'm guessing that you are installing something that has a GUI option and that the GUI option is on.
In this case you will also get all the things to support the GUI.

Still, you won't need to install them when you move on to install your desktop - you will have them already
Code:
ebuild   R    ] net-dialup/ppp-2.4.7:0/2.4.7  USE="gtk ipv6 pam -activefilter -atm -dhcp -eap-tls -radius" 0 KiB

Looks possible. ppp can use gtk, which is a graphics toolkit.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi krinn,

You say that I can break the process and carry on later.
How do I do that?

Hi All others,
If all this time is needed for the "emerge ppp", how long will the kernel compile take? !!!

I did a screen grab from the terminal and captured some of the activity:

Quote:
-lLLVM-3.3 -lz -lpthread -lffi -ldl -lm
llvm[2]: ======= Finished Linking Release Executable llvm-extract
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/llvm-extract'
\
SD=/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src/tools/llvm-mc; \
DD=llvm-mc; \
if [ ! -f $SD/Makefile ]; then \
SD=llvm-mc; \
DD=llvm-mc; \
fi; \
if ([ ! -f $DD/Makefile ] || \
command test $DD/Makefile -ot \
$SD/Makefile ); then \
/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src/autoconf/mkinstalldirs $DD; \




F "/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/lto/Release/LTOCodeGenerator.d.tmp" -MT "/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/lto/Release/LTOCodeGenerator.o" -MT "/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/lto/Release/LTOCodeGenerator.d" /var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src/tools/lto/LTOCodeGenerator.cpp -o /var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/lto/Release/LTOCodeGenerator.o ; \
then /bin/mv -f "/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/lto/Release/LTOCodeGenerator.d.tmp" "/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/lto/Release/LTOCodeGenerator.d"; else /bin/rm "/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/lto/Release/LTOCodeGenerator.d.tmp"; exit 1; fi
llvm[2]: Compiling LTODisassembler.cpp for Release build (PIC)
if i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -I/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/include -I/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/lto -I/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src/include -I/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src/tools/lto -DNDEBUG -D_GNU_SOURCE -D__STDC_CONSTANT_MACROS -D__STDC_FORMAT_MACROS -D__STDC_LIMIT_MACROS -fvisibility-inlines-hidden -fno-exceptions -fPIC -Woverloaded-virtual -Wcast-qual -O2 -march=i686 -pipe -O2 -march=i686 -pipe -O2 -march=i686 -pipe -O2 -march=i686 -pipe -O2 -march=i686 -pipe -I/usr/lib/libffi-3.0.13/include -pedantic -Wno-long-long -Wall -W -Wno-unused-parameter -Wwrite-strings -Wno-maybe-uninitialized -Wno-missing-field-initializers -c -MMD -MP -MF "/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/lto/Release/LTODisassembler.d.tmp" -MT "/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/lto/Release/LTODisassembler.o" -MT "/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/lto/Release/LTODisassembler.d" /var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src/tools/lto/LTODisassembler.cpp -o /var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/lto/Release/LTODisassembler.o ; \
then /bin/mv -f "/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/lto/Release/LTODisassembler.d.tmp" "/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/lto/Release/LTODisassembler.d"; else /bin/rm "/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/lto/Release/LTODisassembler.d.tmp"; exit 1; fi
llvm[2]: Compiling LTOModule.cpp for Release build (PIC)
if i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -I/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/include -I/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/lto -I/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src/include -I/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src/tools/lto -DNDEBUG -D_GNU_SOURCE -D__STDC_CONSTANT_MACROS -D__STDC_FORMAT_MACROS -D__STDC_LIMIT_MACROS -fvisibility-inlines-hidden -fno-exceptions -fPIC -Woverloaded-virtual -Wcast-qual -O2 -march=i686 -pipe -O2 -march=i686 -pipe -O2 -march=i686 -pipe -O2 -march=i686 -pipe -O2 -march=i686 -pipe -I/usr/lib/libffi-3.0.13/include -pedantic -Wno-long-long -Wall -W -Wno-unused-parameter -Wwrite-strings -Wno-maybe-uninitialized -Wno-missing-field-initializers -c -MMD -MP -MF "/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/lto/Release/LTOModule.d.tmp" -MT "/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/lto/Release/LTOModule.o" -MT "/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/lto/Release/LTOModule.d" /var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src/tools/lto/LTOModule.cpp -o /var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/lto/Release/LTOModule.o ; \
then /bin/mv -f "/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/lto/Release/LTOModule.d.tmp" "/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/lto/Release/LTOModule.d"; else /bin/rm "/var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/llvm-3.3-r3/work/llvm-3.3.src-abi_x86_32.x86/tools/lto/Release/LTOModule.d.tmp"; exit 1; fi


There are two screen grabs there. I don't know if it makes any sense to anyone.
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrbassie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 568

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@catchpole

It really depends on your hardware, for me a kernel compile takes about half an hour. I have a celeron 900 2.2ghz.
It's taking so long for you because of the number of packages being emerged one after another.

Don't worry about it though, it took me a couple of days (mostly waiting) to get a working system with a desktop. Once it's done though it's done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44218
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

catchpole,

You may well not be making the best use of your system. There are two options of interest.
MAKEOPTS= in your make.conf and --jobs on the portage command line.

MAKEOPTS= sets the number of parallel makes that can be in progress at the same time from the same package.
--jobs= allows portage to build packages in parallel if they don't have any dependancies in common.

A good MAKEOPTS= is cores+1. Count each virtual core in a hyperthreading CPU as a core.
If you have the RAM, try --jobs=2.

Kernel compiles are special - make.conf is not used. By default, the kernel only builds on one core.
make -j<cores+1> ... like your MAKEOPTS= setting is a good way to build the kernel.

WARNING: Don't use -j without a number. The kernel compile is massively parallel. It will fill all of RAM and all of swap ond invoke the Out Of Memory Manager.
You will still have to switch off the power to regain control.

Your screen shots look normal. Thats gcc output telling you what its doing.
That it is doing is a good sign
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 14396

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

catchpole wrote:
If all this time is needed for the "emerge ppp", how long will the kernel compile take? !!!
As krinn tried to explain to you, and as the package manager should have printed before it started the compilation, you are not building only ppp. You are building all prerequisites to ppp, and then you will build ppp. According to the output you provided, you configured the system in a way that there were 120 other packages that needed to be installed before you would have what you needed to build ppp in the way that you asked it to be built. As of your last post, you have not even started to compile ppp, so we do not know how long it will take. However, it is a fairly small package, so it should not take very long once you can start work on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2014 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Guy's,

I've got the bigger picture now.

I'm reading up now on NeddySeagoon's MAKEOPTS and --jobs.

Just two questions:
1. I noticed that the MAKEOPTS is in capital letters. Does it need to be so in the make.conf file?
2. Would "emerge --jobs=2 ppp" be a good example of the way to use the "jobs" option.? (After checking the cores situation)

Thanks again.
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7200

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2014 6:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

catchpole wrote:

You say that I can break the process and carry on later.
How do I do that?

emerge ppp
emerging 10 of 20... CTRL+C !!! Just break it with ctrl+c keys
emerge ppp <-- again to just restart
emerge 1 of 10 <-- 1 of 10 because previous attempt was break when 10 were already done...

MAKEOPTS, jobs... everything could be use in a line, but have a temporary effect, so you must always type them else default will be apply.
Or like all options, you can add them within your make.conf and set the default as you wish. But command line take over what you set in your make.conf, always.
man make.conf (you'll see how far you could tweak portage to met YOUR need)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44218
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2014 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

catchpole,

Run
Code:
emerge --info
to see what your present default settings are.
You can set any of these more to your liking in make.conf. There are a few that come with a health warning.

When you run emerge, these settings all become "Environment Variables" that the build system can refer to by name.
Its a tradition that "Environment Variables" are always uppercase.
*NIX is case sensitive almost everywhere, so you could define an "Environment Variable" in lowercase but it would be a different "Environment Variable" to the same spelling in uppercase.

Its easy enough for you to test. I'll leave devising and executing the test as an exercise for the reader.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwr
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1969

PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The easiest way to check what the emerge is (has been) doing is "ls -ltr /var/log/portage/*"
That effectively gives a list of the packages emerged and the time they took. You don't
need to check the individual log files unless an emerge fails.

Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum