Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
eth0 not found by system
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Roundtrip
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 9:24 pm    Post subject: eth0 not found by system Reply with quote

hello,

i was installing my first gentoo today (in vmware workstation!!). after rebooting my system can't find eth0 anymore. I compiled the kernel by myself and actually everything else works fine.
Here some further information:

/etc/conf.d/net shows:
config_eth0="dhcp"

I also installed dhcp with: emerge dhcp

ifconfig -a doesn't list eth0 at all. There is only lo, sit0 and tun10

lspci | grep -i eth shows:
Ethernet controller: Advanced Mircor Devices, Inc. [AMD] 79c970 [PCnet32 LANCE] (rev 10)

During my configuration I tried to add the exact driver support but I something went wrong.
Maybe somebody can help me?


Thanks!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7553
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the NIC does not have a driver enabled in the kernel.
boot the live media run lspci -k to determine what driver the media uses then enable it in the kernel .config
post the name of the NIC and the driver the live media uses here.
udev will change the eth0 name unless you take steps to prevent it doing so.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roundtrip
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 9:44 pm    Post subject: pcnet32 Reply with quote

thanks a lot:
the media uses pcnet32 module.
and the NIC Name is the same as above mentioned.
Can you tell me where the config file is to add the module name?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dataking
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:01 pm    Post subject: Re: pcnet32 Reply with quote

Roundtrip wrote:
thanks a lot:
the media uses pcnet32 module.
and the NIC Name is the same as above mentioned.
Can you tell me where the config file is to add the module name?

The kernel config file should be /usr/src/linux/.config. Run "make menuconfig" (in /usr/src/linux) to bring up a menu configuration UI.
_________________
-= the D@7@k|n& =-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roundtrip
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:10 pm    Post subject: new kernel compiled Reply with quote

ok,i recompiled the kernel with the specific module but it didn't fix the problem.
I am still unable to start eth0.

/etc/init.d/net.eth0 start:

"ERROR: interface eth0 does not exist
Ensure that you have loaded the correct kernel module for your hardware
ERROR: net.eth0 failed to start"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 3387

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You've probably run into the newfangled "predictable, persistent net interface names", which are neither predictable nor persistent. At this point you have three options:
1 - Use "ifconfig -a" to find the name that has been (predictably, of course (not)) assigned to your ethernet device, then configure accordingly. Keep in mind that if you ever add or remove a pci card, the pci enumeration will change and you will find that your device name may not be persistent, either.
2 - Touch "80-net-name-slot.rules" and "80-net-setup-link.rules" in "/etc/udev/rules.d". Really only one of those is necessary, but I don't know which one, and I've got both on this system. Do that and you'll get eth0 back.
3 - There is an option you can add to your kernel command line, which I don't remember at the moment, something like "noifrename". It will get your eth0 back, too.
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roundtrip
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for your answer depontius.

but if this would be the case, there has to be a network interface when running ipconfig -a (not only lo).
Sadly this is not the case.

EDIT: There are 2 other network interfaces (sit0 and tun10)
but both are quite strange and I know that sit0 is used for ipv6.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
randalla
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Oct 2008
Posts: 79
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Roundtrip wrote:
thanks for your answer depontius.

but if this would be the case, there has to be a network interface when running ipconfig -a (not only lo).
Sadly this is not the case.

EDIT: There are 2 other network interfaces (sit0 and tun10)
but both are quite strange and I know that sit0 is used for ipv6.


Boot back into the live CD and perform ifconfig -a to hopefully find the real name of the interface.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dataking
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Roundtrip wrote:
thanks for your answer depontius.

but if this would be the case, there has to be a network interface when running ipconfig -a (not only lo).
Sadly this is not the case.

EDIT: There are 2 other network interfaces (sit0 and tun10)
but both are quite strange and I know that sit0 is used for ipv6.

You either built the wrong module, or it's not loaded. Make sure the module you need to load is in /etc/conf.d/modules.

And/or, while booted/chrooted "modprobe ethmodule" then do "ifconfig -a" and see if you get something.
_________________
-= the D@7@k|n& =-


Last edited by dataking on Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:54 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corbintech
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Nov 2014
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just ran into this problem after the install. My eth0 was not there.

ifconfig -a showed this for my network card:

Code:
enp4s0f2: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.1.105  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.1.255
        inet6 fe80::290:f5ff:fef8:93d8  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 00:90:f5:f8:93:d8  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 15114  bytes 14262427 (13.6 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 13501  bytes 1755844 (1.6 MiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0


tun10 may be your network card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roundtrip
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

randalla wrote:


Boot back into the live CD and perform ifconfig -a to hopefully find the real name of the interface.


Ok I am running the live CD on a second vm on the pc (should be the same names i guess).
there it is called "eno16777736". Thats a new information for me but I don't know what this leads to.

EDIT: I now also added the 2 files in /etc/udev/rules.d but it didn't help at all.
still 3 networkinterfaces (lo, sit0, tun10) but no eth0


Last edited by Roundtrip on Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:59 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dataking
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

corbintech wrote:
tun10 may be your network card.

tunN interfaces are usually VPN related (virtual) interfaces. If it's related to the "persistent naming udev crap", it'll be more like your example code.

I recently stood up a system and get enp1s0 and enp2s0. Then when I plug in the USB3 Gig adapter, I get enp0s20u1u1 for that one.
_________________
-= the D@7@k|n& =-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dataking
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Roundtrip wrote:
Ok I am running the live CD on a second vm on the pc (should be the same names i guess).
there it is called "eno16777736". Thats a new information for me but I don't know what this leads to.

It may not be the same, but it should be similar.
_________________
-= the D@7@k|n& =-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corbintech
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Nov 2014
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dataking wrote:
corbintech wrote:
tun10 may be your network card.

tunN interfaces are usually VPN related (virtual) interfaces. If it's related to the "persistent naming udev crap", it'll be more like your example code.

I recently stood up a system and get enp1s0 and enp2s0. Then when I plug in the USB3 Gig adapter, I get enp0s20u1u1 for that one.


Thanks for the info. I am old school, eth0 all the way :).

Would if be possible in the live environment to:

lsmod | grep net*?

Manually load the module on reboot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roundtrip
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dataking wrote:
Roundtrip wrote:
thanks for your answer depontius.

but if this would be the case, there has to be a network interface when running ipconfig -a (not only lo).
Sadly this is not the case.

EDIT: There are 2 other network interfaces (sit0 and tun10)
but both are quite strange and I know that sit0 is used for ipv6.

You either built the wrong module, or it's not loaded. Make sure the module you need to load is in /etc/conf.d/modules.

And/or, while booted/chrooted "modprobe ethmodule" then do "ifconfig -a" and see if you get something.


ok i added the module pcnet32 in the file. do i have to recompile the kernel or anything else except a reboot?

EDIT: i compiled the kernel once again(just in case) and what is interesting is that lsmod is showing no modules!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corbintech
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Nov 2014
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Roundtrip wrote:
dataking wrote:
Roundtrip wrote:
thanks for your answer depontius.

but if this would be the case, there has to be a network interface when running ipconfig -a (not only lo).
Sadly this is not the case.

EDIT: There are 2 other network interfaces (sit0 and tun10)
but both are quite strange and I know that sit0 is used for ipv6.

You either built the wrong module, or it's not loaded. Make sure the module you need to load is in /etc/conf.d/modules.

And/or, while booted/chrooted "modprobe ethmodule" then do "ifconfig -a" and see if you get something.


ok i added the module pcnet32 in the file. do i have to recompile the kernel or anything else except a reboot?

EDIT: i compiled the kernel once again(just in case) and what is interesting is that lsmod is showing no modules!!


There is nothing wrong with that. That just signifies that you compiled the drivers for your system into the kernel. It's how mine is as well.

This is my lsmod on a perfectly running machine:

lsmod
Module Size Used by
btusb 18497 0
atkbd 15990 0
x86_pkg_temp_thermal 4823 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roundtrip
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

corbintech wrote:
Roundtrip wrote:
dataking wrote:
Roundtrip wrote:
thanks for your answer depontius.

but if this would be the case, there has to be a network interface when running ipconfig -a (not only lo).
Sadly this is not the case.

EDIT: There are 2 other network interfaces (sit0 and tun10)
but both are quite strange and I know that sit0 is used for ipv6.

You either built the wrong module, or it's not loaded. Make sure the module you need to load is in /etc/conf.d/modules.

And/or, while booted/chrooted "modprobe ethmodule" then do "ifconfig -a" and see if you get something.


ok i added the module pcnet32 in the file. do i have to recompile the kernel or anything else except a reboot?

EDIT: i compiled the kernel once again(just in case) and what is interesting is that lsmod is showing no modules!!


There is nothing wrong with that. That just signifies that you compiled the drivers for your system into the kernel. It's how mine is as well.


ok but than I still don't have any clue where I made a mistake..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corbintech
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Nov 2014
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Roundtrip wrote:
corbintech wrote:
Roundtrip wrote:
dataking wrote:
Roundtrip wrote:
thanks for your answer depontius.

but if this would be the case, there has to be a network interface when running ipconfig -a (not only lo).
Sadly this is not the case.

EDIT: There are 2 other network interfaces (sit0 and tun10)
but both are quite strange and I know that sit0 is used for ipv6.

You either built the wrong module, or it's not loaded. Make sure the module you need to load is in /etc/conf.d/modules.

And/or, while booted/chrooted "modprobe ethmodule" then do "ifconfig -a" and see if you get something.


ok i added the module pcnet32 in the file. do i have to recompile the kernel or anything else except a reboot?

EDIT: i compiled the kernel once again(just in case) and what is interesting is that lsmod is showing no modules!!


There is nothing wrong with that. That just signifies that you compiled the drivers for your system into the kernel. It's how mine is as well.


ok but than I still don't have any clue where I made a mistake..


This is why, when I compiled my kernel, I did:

make localmodconfig

This sets up the kernel with the modules that are loaded. then I did:

make menuconfig for tweaks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dataking
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you "make menuconfig" is PCNet (or whatever it is) marked with "[*]" or "[M]"?
_________________
-= the D@7@k|n& =-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roundtrip
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2014 7:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I marked with * so it should be built in.
Today I am going to compile a new kernel with make localmodconfig, maybe this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dataking
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2014 7:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Roundtrip wrote:
I marked with * so it should be built in.
Today I am going to compile a new kernel with make localmodconfig, maybe this helps.

Not familiar with "make localmodconfig".....I wimp out using genkernel. Good luck.
_________________
-= the D@7@k|n& =-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roundtrip
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2014 8:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks, i will do that today afternoon (CET).

Do you have any other suggestions what could help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2657

PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2014 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Once your kernel driver is ok, after next reboot you can grep more information from dmesg like:
Quote:
$ dmesg | grep 'network interface'
[ 7.632238] systemd-udevd[270]: renamed network interface eth0 to enp2s14
[ 7.869583] systemd-udevd[279]: renamed network interface wlan0 to wlp8s0
But there is no need at all to care about what the interfaces are named if you followed this guide https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Dhcpcd and got rid of netifrc stuff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roundtrip
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:17 pm    Post subject: Thanks Reply with quote

hello all,

i compiled a new kernel with make localmodconfig.
after that i modified the part with "FUSE"-drivers in .config file (because i work in vmware ;) )
Finally i touched the two files to stop udev from renaming my eth0.
and TADA: eth0 is up and working!

Thank you all very much!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum