Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] KVM support?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pgu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Jul 2009
Posts: 594
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:09 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] KVM support? Reply with quote

I'm installing qemu on a Core2 Duo 8400 (stepping 6). According to http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/QEMU a vmx in the processor features means that it supports KVM. But there is no KVM in the Virtualization sub-menu like on my i3 laptop?

There is no /dev/kvm either. Does this mean that hte 8400 does not support KVM despite the vmx flag?


Last edited by pgu on Thu Nov 27, 2014 11:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pgu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Jul 2009
Posts: 594
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://ark.intel.com/products/38512/Intel-Core2-Quad-Processor-Q8400-4M-Cache-2_66-GHz-1333-MHz-FSB says that it supports VT. I can't find anything in the BIOS about VT either, so I don't seem to be able to turn it on if it was off.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pgu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Jul 2009
Posts: 594
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe I'll have to upgrade the BIOS to get a switch to enable VT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43751
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pgu,

/dev/kvm comes from enabling KVM support in the kernel.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pgu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Jul 2009
Posts: 594
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 6:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem is that there is no way to select it. The Virtualization menu looks like this:

http://oi60.tinypic.com/t6pm42.jpg

As on my i3 laptop it looks like this:

http://oi58.tinypic.com/2cmrkah.jpg

And when I double checked VT was enabled in the kernel:

http://oi57.tinypic.com/f3ukpv.jpg

What I get in my .config file is:

Code:

$ gzip -dc /proc/config.gz |grep KVM
CONFIG_HAVE_KVM=y
$ uname -mrp
3.16.5-gentoo x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8400 @ 3.00GHz


As on the i3 (by selecting Intel) I get:

Code:
 
$ gzip -dc /proc/config.gz |grep KVM
CONFIG_HAVE_KVM=y
CONFIG_HAVE_KVM_IRQCHIP=y
CONFIG_HAVE_KVM_IRQ_ROUTING=y
CONFIG_HAVE_KVM_EVENTFD=y
CONFIG_KVM_APIC_ARCHITECTURE=y
CONFIG_KVM_MMIO=y
CONFIG_KVM_ASYNC_PF=y
CONFIG_HAVE_KVM_MSI=y
CONFIG_HAVE_KVM_CPU_RELAX_INTERCEPT=y
CONFIG_KVM_VFIO=y
CONFIG_KVM=y
CONFIG_KVM_INTEL=y
# CONFIG_KVM_AMD is not set
# CONFIG_KVM_MMU_AUDIT is not set
CONFIG_KVM_DEVICE_ASSIGNMENT=y
$ uname -mrp
3.16.5-gentoo x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-3217U CPU @ 1.80GHz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5913

PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to enable [General Setup] -> [Timers subsystem] -> [High resolution timers support] to make the KVM option visible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43751
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pgu,

To see all the options in menuconfig, even ones you cannot select, press 'z'. Its a toggle, so you can turn the hidden things off again too.
You can than see the option you need and read the "Depends On" in the help.
You may need to do this recursively too, as a "Depends On" you need might be hidden by another "Depends On".
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2600

PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

make xconfig is generally a good choice of you have qt and X installed since it will tell you what you need to enable for a given option to be available.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 5153
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

make nconfig is a happy medium, that works in console/xterm with enough of a UI to make it less stressful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43751
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

steveL

Thats nice - it even advertises its show all, unlike menuconfig
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pgu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Jul 2009
Posts: 594
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! I've seen the dependencies in the past, but I never noticed that their values were listed as well. HIGH_RES_TIMERS was not set which caused KVM to be false. Now I get:

Code:
# ls /dev/kvm
/dev/kvm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 5153
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2014 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Thats nice - it even advertises its show all, unlike menuconfig

Yeah, one of Griz's tips. ;-)

Only time I see the menuconfig is when I run make oldconfig to see what's changed, before nconfig.

The others will also run the oldconfig check first, automatically, if you've dropped in the .config, but I prefer the conceptual distinction in a workflow. It means I've been forced to see everything new, in a separate stage, when I'm ready to absorb it (sorta;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum