Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
gentoo on ft700t
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 954
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2015 7:36 pm    Post subject: gentoo on ft700t Reply with quote

hi all

I am trying to install gentoo on my tf700t.i am using this guide: http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Asus_Transformer_Infinity_%28TF700T%29/Install
.I am at the chroot and dont fully understand this:"remount with bind dev, proc, run, sys: for i in dev proc run sys; do mount -o bind /$i $i; done" .I did not find run and when i have made an other gentoo install i used:

livecd usr # cd /
livecd / # mount -t proc proc /mnt/gentoo/proc
livecd / # mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
livecd / # mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
livecd / # cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/
livecd / # chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
livecd / # source /etc/profile

After i chrooted i hade an other problem.i did not have any command....

regards hedmo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44010
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2015 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hedmo,

/run is the new /var/run, its in tmpfs.
This allows for some writeable space before root is remounted rw.

If you don't have it you probobly don't need it.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 954
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2015 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks NeddySeagoon

do you know why i dont have any commands in the chrooted env..?

regards hedmo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44010
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2015 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hedmo,

Not even any error messages?
If bash won't start when you chroot, it should say something.

Does busybox work?
Try
Code:
chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/busybox

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 954
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2015 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon

i got a message:

bash: ls: command not found

but i can exit.I will try yours.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 954
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2015 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i manage to get some commands to work if i /bin/and the command :roll: . i will try to use a ssh from my
gentoo box so i can give a better view.

Thanks for now NeddySeagoon

Regards hedmo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44010
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2015 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hedmo,

Your PATH is not set.

What does export $PATH tell?
As a nrmal user, I get
Code:
$ export $PATH
bash: export: `/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/opt/bin:/usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/4.9.2:/usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/armv6j-hardfloat-linux-gnueabi/gcc-bin/4.8.4:/usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/armv7a-hardfloat-linux-gnueabi/gcc-bin/4.8.4:/usr/games/bin:/usr/portage/local/layman/sunrise/scripts:/usr/portage/local/layman/sunrise/scripts': not a valid identifier

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 954
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2015 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon

i did not try it but i manage to get some where with some commands:

/bin/passwd to get a new password and /bin/su to get to root.
after that i could emerge and stuff.but i got my self a new problem.i can emerge --sync but i can not emerge stuff and the error is something about
fetshing from distfiles or to distfiles.one step forward and more to go.

regards hedmo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 954
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i need some help with my next problem. when i try to emerge some things i get the error: openpty failed "out of pty devices" and its because i have to use
mount -o bind /dev and not mount ---rbind /dev when i chroot .is there a way to solve this :?:

regards hedmo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 954
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i had to install ubuntu and now chroot works and i can emerge and boot up gentoo to :lol: .
i had to use ubuntus zImage and initrd.img to make it boot

regards hedmo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 954
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi again

does anyone know where to find a xorg-server-1.13 ebuild

regards hedmo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum