Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
recognisiing new cpu [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mikefot
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Nov 2014
Posts: 491

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 6:47 pm    Post subject: recognisiing new cpu [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Dear Folks,

I have moved the hard dive in my machine to a new box.

It has a different motherboard and cpu.

The motherboard is an asus sabertooth fx 990 and the cpu is an amd FX 8350.

There is an nvidia engt 430 graphics card installed as well.

I am getting read onlly errors when I issue commands.

I have been advised that I will need to recompile the kernel.

I can't do that if I can't open files etc - I think it is a file permission problem.

Suggestions appreciated.

Regards

MF


Last edited by mikefot on Sun Nov 27, 2016 4:49 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3250
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 6:59 pm    Post subject: Re: recognisiing new cpu Reply with quote

mikefot wrote:
I am getting read onlly errors when I issue commands.


Can you log in? What sort of errors? Are they boot errors? You say you issue commands, so that means you were able to log in?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikefot
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Nov 2014
Posts: 491

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 7:05 pm    Post subject: fstab output Reply with quote

fstab file is:

/dev/sda2 /boot ext2 noauto, noatime 1 2

/dev/sda4 / ext3 noatime 0 1

/dev/sda3 /none swap sw 0 0


plus entries for cdrom etc

Rgds

MF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikefot
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Nov 2014
Posts: 491

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 7:15 pm    Post subject: errors after logging in Reply with quote

Dear Tony,

I can login as a user and root but the username and domain name is unknown.

A new log file is not being made in /var/liog

Regds

MF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikefot
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Nov 2014
Posts: 491

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 7:25 pm    Post subject: prompt in root Reply with quote

When I login as a use and then su to root the prompt looks like this:

(none) mikef#

the sys and proc directories have been updated to today's date.

A whole load of empty files have been created in sys except one: kcore which is a huge file (some kind of core dump?)

Regds

MF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikefot
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Nov 2014
Posts: 491

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 7:27 pm    Post subject: /dev Reply with quote

/dev has also been updated.

Regds

MF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikefot
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Nov 2014
Posts: 491

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 9:31 pm    Post subject: possible read only solution Reply with quote

I have found a suggestion that could be helpful with the issue here:

http://unix.stackexchange.com/questions/83634/gentoo-mounting-root-as-read-only-why

I will try the root service suggestion.

Regds

MF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roman_Gruber
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 3806
Location: Austro Bavaria

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 9:33 pm    Post subject: Re: recognisiing new cpu Reply with quote

mikefot wrote:
Dear Folks,

I have moved the hard dive in my machine to a new box.

It has a different motherboard and cpu.

The motherboard is an asus sabertooth fx 990 and the cpu is an amd FX 8350.

There is an nvidia engt 430 graphics card installed as well.

I am getting read onlly errors when I issue commands.

I have been advised that I will need to recompile the kernel.

I can't do that if I can't open files etc - I think it is a file permission problem.

Suggestions appreciated.

Regards

MF



When you change hardware you need to ensure that the instruction set of your old cpu is supported by your new cpu.

It seems you switched from an intel cpu to amd cpu, and the amd cpu does not understand a few of the intel cpu instructions.

What was your old make.conf and cpu?
what is your current cpu and make.conf?

Code:
cat /proc/cpuinfo


example ...

Quote:

...

processor : 7
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 58
model name : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz
stepping : 9
microcode : 0x1b
cpu MHz : 1200.000
cache size : 6144 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 8
core id : 3
cpu cores : 4
apicid : 7
initial apicid : 7
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 13
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf eagerfpu pni pclmulqdq dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 x2apic popcnt tsc_deadline_timer aes xsave avx f16c rdrand lahf_lm ida arat epb pln pts dtherm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid fsgsbase smep erms xsaveopt
bugs :
bogomips : 4589.80
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:



The important part:

Quote:
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf eagerfpu pni pclmulqdq dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 x2apic popcnt tsc_deadline_timer aes xsave avx f16c rdrand lahf_lm ida arat epb pln pts dtherm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid fsgsbase smep erms xsaveopt


You will get a similar list for your old cpu. This list has to be supported by your new cpu.

Usually it is safe to upgrade intel -> intel (newer)
amd -> amd (newer)

Regardless of the age (only when you did have set generic flags and optimizations, which i highly doubt)
intel -> amd (not good)
amd -> intel (not good)

When you run march = native or special set, ... same, also not the best settings when you switch intel - amd or vice versa

---

Lets assume you have upgraded the hardware, and the hardware is downcompatible (which i doubt as of now)

Quote:

I am getting read onlly errors when I issue commands.

I have been advised that I will need to recompile the kernel.

I can't do that if I can't open files etc - I think it is a file permission problem.


BAsically, boot up a livecd, chroot and build the kernel. That should be doable when the hardware is downcompatible (which you need to verify, textwall above what i have written)


or

use the kernel from the sysrescue-cd or any bootble kernel to bootup your box. (bootable implies it has all stuff build in for your hardware)
....

I moved this installation here several times from harddrives to better notebooks. I always stayed on the intel side cpu wise, and always upgraded. so my newer cpu understood all instructions / optimizations of my older cpu. I also stayed on the nvidia-gpu side, so also no hassle on that side(but that is not a requirements, as gpus arenot that essential to boot up).

...

please note. a reinstall is sometimes the faster way because you need to adapt your make.conf anyway for your new hardware and you need to build the toolchian and software anyway for your new hardware. it is a clean new install

you can reuse parts of the make.conf and other config files from your previous installation, which speeds up the process.

I personally recommmend to exchange drives every 2 years or less because of used up write cycles, so you have to move the data anyway. Warranty period in my area is 2 years for generic goods.

when you are unable to fix your installation in a reasonable time you may reuse the configs and do a clean install with the gentoo handbook.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikefot
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Nov 2014
Posts: 491

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 10:17 pm    Post subject: old architecture Reply with quote

Many thanks for your comments and suggestions.

My old box was also an AMD one: -


AMD A4-3400 APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics

​on a Gigabyte F2A78M-HD2 board.

Regards

MF

The make.conf file is here:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1004580-postdays-0-postorder-asc-start-50.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roman_Gruber
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 3806
Location: Austro Bavaria

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

than you may chroot with a livecd, and build that kernel with your old toolchain when it meets the old cpu optimizations.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
saellaven
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jul 2006
Posts: 532

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2016 2:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you using an initramfs? is it possible that your drive's device name changed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikefot
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Nov 2014
Posts: 491

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 8:42 pm    Post subject: on reinstallation genkernel all results in system shutdown Reply with quote

Dear Folks,

I decided to reinstall gentoo.

It went OK until I got to the genkernel part.

I did not know what to do with the rc.conf file so I left it unchanged - ie the default one provided in the stage3 tarball.

That is supposed to control system start up and shutdown so maybe that has something to do with it.

Or maybe not.

When I first tried to run genkernel it failed because the directory containing the kernel source has not been created.

I had forgotten to do emerge gentoo-sources.

I did it.

But when I ran genkernel all it started up and ran mrproper and oldconfig etc

and then it said

compiling 4.1.15-gentoo-r1 bzimage.....

and all of a sudden the machine powered down.

At first I thought there was a power failure in my apartment.

Not true.

I then thought e.g. the PC psu had failed etc....

No.


I was running the gentoo installation in a terminal on a debian installation I made and had chrooted into the gentoo root file system to do this.

I rebooted the debian installation and ran it smoothly for couple of hours doing a variety of things before I decided to mount the gentoo partition and do the chroot again.

I did so and tried running genkernel all again and it did exactly the same shutdown trick again.


Is it possible that the kernel being created is somehow sending a system shutdown message?

Would the genkernel log file be in /var/log?

What log files and config files would be useful to post on the site to help with this problem?

Regards

MF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3250
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try /var/log/genkernel.log and /var/log/messages

My guess is that the power supply is insufficient for sustained high CPU use, but I may be way off base. See if those logs shed any light.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikefot
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Nov 2014
Posts: 491

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 9:49 pm    Post subject: shutdown problem Reply with quote

Dear Tony,

Many thanks for your response.

The psu is a 350 MW device taken from a much lower spec pc.

But the asus 990 fx board and FX 8350 cpu only need about 150 W or so and the nvidia engt 430 graphics card 40W or so I think.

I will run a power use calc check.

I will get the log files and post them.

Regards

MF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3250
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

8350 is a 220W TDP CPU. My Phenom II is 125W TDP. I idle at 120 W total taken from the UPS. When running hard, compiling kernel or a big package like Firefox, it jumps to 220 W from the UPS. PS is a 80% Bronze Seasonic 350W. I'd expect your machine to run 100W higher than mine, which is pushing a 350W PS. PS ratings are a bit slippery as they total all outputs, but some have a lot of 5V capability while 12V is what counts and how much per rail. You may need a 450W supply.

Try setting genkernel to only use one core and see if it survives. I forget where the setting is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikefot
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Nov 2014
Posts: 491

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 10:53 pm    Post subject: shutdown problem Reply with quote

Dear Tony,

I am struggling with pastebinit.

In gentoo it compiles but when I run it I get this api key error problem

Running it in debian is odd. It creates a link http://www,paste.debian.net or something similar but NOT the extra number to the posted content.

If you go on the site and try to manually post it it complains the minmum post size is 150 kb and rejects it (even small posts too)

I have put the last 100 lines of the genkernel output in here by hand:


Code:
root@bong:/home/mikef/Documents/gentoo-stuff# tail -100 genkernel.log
  CC      drivers/acpi/apei/hest.o
  CC      drivers/base/firmware_class.o
  CC      net/802/fc.o
  CC      drivers/base/memory.o
  CC      kernel/trace/trace_export.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/evxfgpe.o
  CC      kernel/trace/trace_syscalls.o
  CC      kernel/futex.o
  CC      kernel/trace/trace_event_perf.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/evxfregn.o
  CC      kernel/trace/trace_events_filter.o
  CC      drivers/base/module.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/apei/erst.o
  CC      net/802/fddi.o
  CC      drivers/base/devcoredump.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exconfig.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exconvrt.o
  CC      fs/compat_ioctl.o
  CC      kernel/trace/trace_events_trigger.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/excreate.o
  LD      drivers/base/built-in.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exdebug.o
  CC      kernel/trace/bpf_trace.o
  CC      kernel/futex_compat.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exdump.o
  LD      net/802/built-in.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/apei/ghes.o
  CC      net/8021q/vlan_core.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exfield.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exfldio.o
  LD      net/9p/built-in.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exmutex.o
  CC      kernel/trace/trace_kprobe.o
  CC      kernel/trace/power-traces.o
  CC      kernel/trace/rpm-traces.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exnames.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exoparg1.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exoparg2.o
  LD      drivers/acpi/apei/apei.o
  CC      fs/binfmt_misc.o
  LD      drivers/acpi/apei/built-in.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpi_ipmi.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exoparg3.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exoparg6.o
  LD      net/8021q/built-in.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exprep.o
  LD      net/atm/built-in.o
  LD      net/bluetooth/built-in.o
  LD      net/bluetooth/bnep/built-in.o
  LD      net/bluetooth/cmtp/built-in.o
  LD      net/bluetooth/hidp/built-in.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exregion.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exmisc.o
  LD      net/bluetooth/rfcomm/built-in.o
  CC      kernel/trace/trace_probe.o
  LD      net/bridge/netfilter/built-in.o
  LD      net/bridge/built-in.o
  LD      kernel/trace/libftrace.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exresnte.o
  LD      net/can/built-in.o
  CC      fs/binfmt_script.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/ac.o
  CC      net/core/sock.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exresolv.o
  CC      fs/binfmt_elf.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exstore.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exresop.o
  CC      kernel/dma.o
  CC      fs/compat_binfmt_elf.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exstoren.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exstorob.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exsystem.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/button.o
  CC      kernel/smp.o
  LD      kernel/trace/built-in.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exutils.o
  CC      kernel/uid16.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/hwacpi.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/hwesleep.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/hwgpe.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/hwpci.o
  CC      fs/posix_acl.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/hwregs.o
  CC      kernel/system_keyring.o
Generating X.509 key generation config
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/hwsleep.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/hwvalid.o
  CC      fs/coredump.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/fan.o
  CC      fs/drop_caches.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/pci_slot.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/processor_driver.o
  CC      kernel/module.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/hwxface.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/hwxfsleep.o
  CC      fs/fhandle.o
  CC      fs/dcookies.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/processor_throttling.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/processor_idle.o


I will look for the dmesg output and post that.

Regds

MF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikefot
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Nov 2014
Posts: 491

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 10:55 pm    Post subject: shutdown problem Reply with quote

Dear Tony,

I am struggling with pastebinit.

In gentoo it compiles but when I run it I get this api key error problem

Running it in debian is odd. It creates a link http://www,paste.debian.net or something similar but NOT the extra number to the posted content.

If you go on the site and try to manually post it it complains the minmum post size is 150 kb and rejects it (even small posts too)

I have put the last 100 lines of the genkernel output in here by hand:


Code:
root@bong:/home/mikef/Documents/gentoo-stuff# tail -100 genkernel.log
  CC      drivers/acpi/apei/hest.o
  CC      drivers/base/firmware_class.o
  CC      net/802/fc.o
  CC      drivers/base/memory.o
  CC      kernel/trace/trace_export.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/evxfgpe.o
  CC      kernel/trace/trace_syscalls.o
  CC      kernel/futex.o
  CC      kernel/trace/trace_event_perf.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/evxfregn.o
  CC      kernel/trace/trace_events_filter.o
  CC      drivers/base/module.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/apei/erst.o
  CC      net/802/fddi.o
  CC      drivers/base/devcoredump.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exconfig.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exconvrt.o
  CC      fs/compat_ioctl.o
  CC      kernel/trace/trace_events_trigger.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/excreate.o
  LD      drivers/base/built-in.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exdebug.o
  CC      kernel/trace/bpf_trace.o
  CC      kernel/futex_compat.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exdump.o
  LD      net/802/built-in.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/apei/ghes.o
  CC      net/8021q/vlan_core.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exfield.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exfldio.o
  LD      net/9p/built-in.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exmutex.o
  CC      kernel/trace/trace_kprobe.o
  CC      kernel/trace/power-traces.o
  CC      kernel/trace/rpm-traces.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exnames.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exoparg1.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exoparg2.o
  LD      drivers/acpi/apei/apei.o
  CC      fs/binfmt_misc.o
  LD      drivers/acpi/apei/built-in.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpi_ipmi.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exoparg3.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exoparg6.o
  LD      net/8021q/built-in.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exprep.o
  LD      net/atm/built-in.o
  LD      net/bluetooth/built-in.o
  LD      net/bluetooth/bnep/built-in.o
  LD      net/bluetooth/cmtp/built-in.o
  LD      net/bluetooth/hidp/built-in.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exregion.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exmisc.o
  LD      net/bluetooth/rfcomm/built-in.o
  CC      kernel/trace/trace_probe.o
  LD      net/bridge/netfilter/built-in.o
  LD      net/bridge/built-in.o
  LD      kernel/trace/libftrace.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exresnte.o
  LD      net/can/built-in.o
  CC      fs/binfmt_script.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/ac.o
  CC      net/core/sock.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exresolv.o
  CC      fs/binfmt_elf.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exstore.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exresop.o
  CC      kernel/dma.o
  CC      fs/compat_binfmt_elf.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exstoren.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exstorob.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exsystem.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/button.o
  CC      kernel/smp.o
  LD      kernel/trace/built-in.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/exutils.o
  CC      kernel/uid16.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/hwacpi.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/hwesleep.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/hwgpe.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/hwpci.o
  CC      fs/posix_acl.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/hwregs.o
  CC      kernel/system_keyring.o
Generating X.509 key generation config
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/hwsleep.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/hwvalid.o
  CC      fs/coredump.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/fan.o
  CC      fs/drop_caches.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/pci_slot.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/processor_driver.o
  CC      kernel/module.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/hwxface.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/acpica/hwxfsleep.o
  CC      fs/fhandle.o
  CC      fs/dcookies.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/processor_throttling.o
  CC      drivers/acpi/processor_idle.o


I will look for the dmesg output and post that.

Regds

MF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikefot
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Nov 2014
Posts: 491

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 11:01 pm    Post subject: shutdown problem contd Reply with quote

Dear Tony,

I cannot see any dmesg file in /var/log.

Maybe that would only be created if I had finished the installation and was booting gnetoo from the hard disk and not chrooting into it from debian before the installation grub and tidy up stuff has been done.

Regards

MF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikefot
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Nov 2014
Posts: 491

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 11:18 pm    Post subject: shutdown problem contd Reply with quote

Dear Tony,

I think I understand what you are saying about the power supply.

What you mean is that the compilations of e.g. pastebinit and emacs might have boosted the power requirement somewhat when I did them,

but

compiling the kernel using all 8 processors and optimising it to take advantage of them and any dynamic memory requirements alongside could well use up a lot of power
for short while - but that couldc well be enough to cause a problem and thus the shutdown......................

As the Americans would say "that'll do it"...

You can't fault the gentoo designers for wanting to do the best optimisation job they can with the cpu I have.

They are assuming I would have a power supply that is adequate for the transient requirement needed to produce the best executable obtainable in my case.

I really need to get the old power supply fixed.

It is muscular enough for this box and e.g. a larger graphics card if I would install it.

Regds

MF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3250
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try wgetpaste as an alternative to pastebinit. The name sounds like "get" but you are really doing a "put".

Also, try adding --makeopts=-j1 to your genkernel command line. This should force genkernel to use only one core. If that works, definitely we are looking at the PS
If it still crashes with one core only, we are probably looking at something else.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Syl20
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2005
Posts: 564
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have to buy a new PSU, don't be stingy. A good 450 W unit (choose at least a 80+ bronze one) is much more efficient than a 750 W noname one. And the voltages will be more stable, so your hardware will last much more time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikefot
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Nov 2014
Posts: 491

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 8:52 pm    Post subject: genkernel worked with makeopts=-j1 Reply with quote

Dear All,

The kernel compiled successfully with makeopts set to -j1.

So there is a problem with the power supply......

My other power supply is a Zalman zm 1250 platinum.

It needs to be repaired.

I will get it fixed and swap it for the current one.

I also emrged wgetpaste.

I will see if I can make it work better than pastebinit.

I will finish off the installation and reboot and then power diown the machine and sort the power supply problem.

Then I will go back to it and do the manual kernel compilation and optimisation.

Thanks

Regds

MF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Buffoon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jun 2015
Posts: 1074
Location: EU or US

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 9:09 pm    Post subject: Re: shutdown problem Reply with quote

mikefot wrote:
Dear Tony,

The psu is a 350 MW device taken from a much lower spec pc.

But the asus 990 fx board and FX 8350 cpu only need about 150 W or so and the nvidia engt 430 graphics card 40W or so I think.


350 MW !? Megawatts?

Anyhow, total 350 W does not mean it can provide 220 W or even 150 W on 3.3 V rail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikefot
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Nov 2014
Posts: 491

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 9:16 pm    Post subject: psu too weak Reply with quote

OK, I will get the zalman psu fixed.

It can deliver 45A on one 12V rail and 65A on the other as I recall.

Regds

MF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3250
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

By coincidence I inventoried my power supplies today:

my Antec Earthwatts 380 : +3.3V@20A,+5V@20A,+12V1@17A,+12V2@17A,-12V@0.8A,+5VSB@2.5A

my Seasonic S12II 430B: +3.3V@20A, +5V@20A, +12V1@17A, +12V2@17A, -12V@0.8A, +5VSB@2.5A EXACTLY THE SAME BUT RATED 50 WATTS HIGHER


my Antec Earthwatts EA500: +3.3V@25A, +5V@24A, +12V1@22A, +12V2@22A, -12V@0.8A, +5VSB@2.5A

Seasonic is a manufacturer and Antec is a reseller, in fact I believe the Earthwatts series is made by Seasonic, except for the models ending "D" which are made by Delta.

Edit:
The CPU is usually run off it's own 12V rail. The FX-8350 does appear to be 25W, not 220W as I thought. That would be 10A at 12V at 100% efficiency. You don't want to run these supplies on the ragged edge, but a 17A supply should be sufficient. Maybe the supply is a single rail and feeding the video card too?

The Seasonic above has trouble with my Phenom II X6 1090T, also 125W, three hard drives, ethernet card, HVR-1600 TV card EVGA GS8400S video card. What are the specs on your supply?

Also, did you try running genkernel with only one core? What were the results?
The CPU also may have just got too hot and shut down. Have you blown dust out of the heat sink lately?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum