Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] -Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(8,3)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44020
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2016 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Raoul,

I've divided your key config settings up into several groups.

Good. These setting are required. There are other required settings too but if they were wrong, items in this list would be hidden.
Code:
CONFIG_MSDOS_PARTITION=y
CONFIG_EFI_PARTITION=y
# CONFIG_IDE is not set
CONFIG_SCSI_MOD=y
CONFIG_SCSI=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_SD=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_SR=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_SR_VENDOR=y
CONFIG_CHR_DEV_SG=y
CONFIG_ATA=y
CONFIG_SATA_AHCI=y
CONFIG_ATA_SFF=y
CONFIG_ATA_BMDMA=y
CONFIG_PATA_ATIIXP=y
CONFIG_EXT4_FS=y
CONFIG_EXT4_FS_POSIX_ACL=y


Unknown to me.
Code:
CONFIG_EXT4_FS_SECURITY=y


Bad or not needed.
Code:
CONFIG_SCSI_LOWLEVEL=y
CONFIG_ISCSI_BOOT_SYSFS=y
CONFIG_ATA_VERBOSE_ERROR=y
CONFIG_EXT4_DEBUG=y

SCSI_LOWLEVEL is a menu for real SCSI device support. You don't have any real scsi devices. Turning that off will remove ISCSI_BOOT_SYSFS too. I have no idea what that does but its not needed.

Anything with VERBOSE, ERROR or DEBUG in its name should be off unless you are working on that area of kernel code. Some of these options deliberately interfere with normal operation.

Evil
Code:
CONFIG_NTFS_FS=y
# CONFIG_NTFS_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_NTFS_RW=y
This is harmless and not related to your boot issue. It does not do what you think it does though.
You already have CONFIG_FUSE_FS=y, so
Code:
emerge sys-fs/ntfs3g

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raoul
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 108
Location: Adelaide, Aust.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2016 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NS,

Sorry. Hopefully this works. https://picasaweb.google.com/105244389559721076371/6305668581446860961#6305668580509232098

Regards
Raoul
_________________
**************
Not all pain is gain.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44020
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2016 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Raoul,

Google wrote:
Sorry, that page was not found.


Third time lucky?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raoul
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 108
Location: Adelaide, Aust.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2016 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://postimg.org/image/apt9gbpfb/
Hopefully this works. So sorry
_________________
**************
Not all pain is gain.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44020
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2016 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Raoul,

Better, but at 72 dots per inch, I can't read it.
Feel free to email it to my @gentoo.org email address, at the original resolution.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7328
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2016 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do not do the dropbox, either, but I can see the image there. It says nothing new, kernel panic, unknown block (8,3), there are no alternative devices listed by kernel.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raoul
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 108
Location: Adelaide, Aust.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2016 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Neddy,

I have changed the config along the lines you suggest. Same error.

Regards
Raoul
_________________
**************
Not all pain is gain.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7328
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2016 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just noticed you have ext4 in fstab for / and ext4 disabled in kernel.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raoul
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 108
Location: Adelaide, Aust.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2016 12:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Jaglover,

Can you please tell me where? If I look in file systems, I see it enabled there.

Regards
Raoul
_________________
**************
Not all pain is gain.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7328
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2016 1:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm ... I don't see it any more, I probably was looking at wrong paste ...
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44020
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2016 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Raoul,

Three things come to mind.

a) you have used a text editor to edit the kernel .config file at some time.
This often produces an illegal .config, as some menuconfig entries change a lot of lines in the .config file.
The chances of getting this right by hand is close to zero as many .config file options are not exposed directly in menuconfig.
If this applies, throw away the .config file. It cannot be fixed.

b) you need CONFIG_SATA_AHCI_PLATFORM=y
I have a feeling that when you set this, you also turned off ext4 support, so if it was fixed, you wouldn't know.

c) time has stepped backwards on your system, so make is confused.
make is lazy. When a binary file exists, make checks all the dates on the files used to build that binary. If all the files are older, the build is skipped.
However, if you make a binary, time steps backwards then you change one of the files needed to build that binary, make will skip the build.
You can force a rebuild by starting with
Code:
make clean
then there are no binaries in the kernel tree and everything is remade.

There is a fourth thing ...
I have very similar hardware to you. I would expect my kernel to mount root on your hardware.
We can try that next, if none of the above helps.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raoul
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 108
Location: Adelaide, Aust.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2016 1:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Neddy,

a) confident I have not edited config in any way. Only via menuconfig
b) Just tried this and check ext4 enabled. No change.
c) I did this just before b). I did distclean. I assume that is what you meant.
d) That could be an option.

One further option is to use genkernel to get a working kernel and then use that config to make it manually.

What do you think?

Regards
Raoul
_________________
**************
Not all pain is gain.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7328
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2016 1:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Raoul wrote:

c) I did this just before b). I did distclean. I assume that is what you meant.


make distclean is not a valid make target on kernel sources.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raoul
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 108
Location: Adelaide, Aust.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2016 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Jaglover,
I'm not sure what that means.
I have just followed the procedure near bottom of page here: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Kernel/Upgrade#Solving_build_problems

Regards
Raoul
_________________
**************
Not all pain is gain.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7328
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2016 1:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting, distclean is not listed in README file as make target, but it acts similar to make mrproper.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44020
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2016 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Raoul,

Your kernel is Linux/x86 4.6.2-gentoo, mine in Linux/x86 4.6.0-gentoo.

Put my kernel .config into your 4.6.2-gentoo kernel,
do
Code:
make oldconfig
make clean
Then build and test in the normal way.

As I use the /no-multilib/ profile my kernel is missing 32 bit support, which you have set.
Code:
CONFIG_IA32_EMULATION=y
You may want to add that.
Xorg will not start for you. You use the nVidia binary blob, I use nouveau.

Still, if root will mount, that's a success.

My lspci -k, you won't need that, i just to show the similarities between our hardware.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raoul
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 108
Location: Adelaide, Aust.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 2:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Neddy,

Thanks for those files. I have followed your instructions and also rebuilt the kernel. So now some REALLY weird stuff is happening.

1. If I use root=/dev/sda3 in my 40_custom file for grub.conf, then the boot fails. What is cool now is that the font is much smaller so I see higher up the error and it says that /dev/sda3 is not a valid root and it fails with error -6. Further, it suggests other partitions one of which is /dev/sdb3. Now I KNOW there is NO sdb3 as per below.....

blkid:
Code:
/dev/sda1: UUID="2bec8d1f-b01c-4fdf-90c0-dae5b0ec4d38" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sda3: UUID="1afad494-4d1e-426f-8709-d0d54ab8c6d3" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sda5: UUID="bb269c0b-6ddb-4402-8085-5131443ad6a2" TYPE="swap"
/dev/sdb1: LABEL="/System" UUID="b0b84e74-f072-4827-9e77-c4f8d6ed8250" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sdc1: UUID="2dd4020a-f93b-43fc-a087-387cc01fdc19" TYPE="ext4"


fstab:
Code:
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
# device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
# that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
# / was on /dev/sda1 during installation
UUID=1afad494-4d1e-426f-8709-d0d54ab8c6d3  /               ext4    noatime,discard    0   1
# swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=bb269c0b-6ddb-4402-8085-5131443ad6a2 none            swap    sw                   0   0
UUID=2dd4020a-f93b-43fc-a087-387cc01fdc19 /Data   ext4   auto,noatime,nofail,sync      0   1
UUID=b0b84e74-f072-4827-9e77-c4f8d6ed8250 /System   ext4   auto,noatime,nofail,sync      0   1
#UUID=2bec8d1f-b01c-4fdf-90c0-dae5b0ec4d38 /Ubuntu   ext4    auto,rw,sync      0   1


2. So then, on a hunch, I changed my 40_custom root to /dev/sdb3 and lo and behold, the thing boots. I can log in as me. I can confirm that the directory structure of root is for the gentoo installation not for anything else. However, when I try to emerge it tells me there is a fatal python erro and it failed to open /dev/urandom.
When I use a chroot into the gentoo system, I can run python-updater successfully without it requiring any new packages.

Now I am REALLY confused.

Regards
Raoul
_________________
**************
Not all pain is gain.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44020
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Raoul,

Oops ... missing /dev entries is my fault. That kernel is intended to work with a static /dev
You don't have one of those, so /dev will be empty. Almost nothing will work.
However, it did provide some useful diagnostics.

You can turn on DEVTMPFS and the option to mount it that will appear in my kernel, or apply
the lessons learned to your kernel.

With DEVTMPFS mounted, /dev will be populated and things will be more normal for you.

My kernel uses the nouveau driver, so you now use the nouveaufb console. Hence the smaller text.
Now that you see the list of possible devices, your own kernel may boot when you tell it root is on sdb.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raoul
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 108
Location: Adelaide, Aust.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you Neddy for the tips. All now works even with nvidia enabled. The Gentoo system is naming things as sdb......never had that happen before.

Still getting some instability but I will start a new thread for that.

Thanks too Jaglover for your input.

Regards
Raoul
_________________
**************
Not all pain is gain.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum