Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Radeon no DRI?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1396
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 1:24 pm    Post subject: Radeon no DRI? Reply with quote

I am having a problem with yet ANOTHER ATI-based system. Every time I try to put Gentoo onto a system with an ATI/AMD card in it, X fails to start and SDDM crashes with it being unable to open "/dev/dri/card0". I have never solved this and always wind up putting Windows 7 on the systems, which works flawlessly. What do I need to check to get this working? I have the kernel stuff selected including DRI and no framebuffer stuff. This always just works with Intel and nVidia, but ATI must need something extra.

I am not in front of the system in question and cannot post the config at this time. If you can tell me what needs to be selected in the kernel for this thing to show up I will be more than happy to do so. I will say that I used the Gentoo Radeon Guide, but it has not solved this issue. I did include the ucode into my kernel, but the system gets an 80x25 console with or without that ucode, and it doesn't complain about the ucode missing if it isn't built into the kernel, so I do not believe that is the issue.

The card in question is an AMD 6520G. Again, 80x25 works, but SDDM crashes and the X log shows two lines where it's unable to open "/dev/dri/card0". SDDM is in the video group (not sure if it needs to be for ATI, but it does for nVidia).
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3210
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe this: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-7940068.html?sid=04d52165cc5c383b34121fe90c490a47

I see my bapste has expired. i could pastebin it again if you want, but if you read the thread, you will see that it was a permissions problem, not a kernel problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5927

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dmesg would help...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1396
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant, I do not have a way to get you dmesg output from the machine, it is incomplete. There are no errors or warnings in dmesg however, only in X.org.log, and then only the inability to open /dev/dri/card0. I did not see the device listed, so permissions are a moot point, but I will check again soon.

*UPDATE*

I was right, /dev/dri does not exist.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3210
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
I was right, /dev/dri does not exist.


Which are you running: udev, eudev. mdev or a fixed /dev?


Last edited by Tony0945 on Mon Aug 15, 2016 5:49 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1396
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I run eudev on all of my Gentoo systems.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3210
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is my config for the A6-7600 APU system: http://bpaste.net/show/2e85add69cbd
Here is my config for an older system with radeon on mobo : http://bpaste.net/show/d235e5d64e67
Hope they help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3210
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you want "Direct Rendering Manager", CONFIG_DRM

Symbol: DRM [=y] x
x Type : tristate x
x Prompt: Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support) x
x Location: x
x -> Device Drivers x
x (1) -> Graphics support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43808
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth,

You have a bit missing from your kernel.
It will be something under Direct Rendering Manager
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1396
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2016 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have DRI selected, it was the first thing that I checked. I will go through the options again and report back. Thank you all for your help thus far.

*UPDATE*

I have DRM selected as built-in in my kernel, as well as "ATI Radeon" and the sub-option "Always enable userptr support". I also have the legacy fbdev selected under the DRM menu. It is the only option under DRM. All of these are selected as built-in.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3210
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

With eudev if you modprobe radeon, it should produce /dev/dri.

You should see this 9with different date/times):
Code:
gentoo linux # ls -l /dev/dri
total 0
crw-rw---- 1 root video 226,   0 Aug 12 11:50 card0
crw-rw---- 1 root video 226,  64 Aug 12 11:50 controlD64
crw-rw---- 1 root video 226, 128 Aug 12 11:50 renderD128
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1396
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Radeon is built into my kernel, so I should not even be able to modprobe it. I always build the permanent hardware drivers into my kernels. This system is a laptop, so the video is permanent. I will try it this afternoon anyway, but I do not know if it will do anything and I expect it to error out.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3210
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try it as a module. Possibly, eudev will not detect it as a built-in. Add it to /etc/conf.d/modules to be sure it's loaded.

i.e.
Code:
# ohci_pci and ehci_pci needed for usb mouse
modules="r8168 ath9k radeon snd_hda_intel"
modules="${modules} xhci_hcd ahci ohci-pci ehci-pci"
modules="${modules} pata_atiixp k10temp fam15h_power"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Workaround for sddm is putting the sddm user in the video group. Similar things have been done for the gdm user in the past.
Of course this negates part of the reason why there is a separate user for sddm but who cares...

If radeon is built into your kernel, then firmware needs to be built-in too: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Radeon#Firmware
About normal users, they don't need to be in the video group as long as your kernel has CONFIG_TMPFS_POSIX_ACL=y
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1396
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SDDM is in the video group. After emerging it I always do that. My users are also normally in the video group. Oh and yes, I did build the firmware into the kernel. I am not getting firmware missing messages, just no /dev/dri being created. I am going to try modprobing in a bit when I get to the system, but again, I seem to recall modprobe not working on things built into the kernel.

*UPDATE*

I did as asked. Running "modprobe radeon" does nothing. No error because it is already loaded (part of the kernel) and no /dev/dri is created. Again, I have never had ATI/AMD cards work in Gentoo, not sure why.

Let me ask this first. Will I obtain better performance if I use the proprietary driver? If so, what is the bare minimum that I need to get the system up?
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3210
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Again, build it as a module. Look at the two kernel configs I posted. Those are both working configs using the in-kernel driver, one from February 2010, the from a recent mobo purchased last month.

Radeon has given me much less trouble than nouveau.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also check what is the content of /proc/fb (should be radeondrmfb when radeon KMS is active).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1396
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suspect radeon would give you lass trouble than nouveau, since nouveau is for nVidia cards. Also, why can't we build radeon into the kernel? I will rebuild as a module, but I prefer for this stuff to be in-kernel.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3210
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
I suspect radeon would give you lass trouble than nouveau, since nouveau is for nVidia cards.


I have two systems wirh ATI cards/mobo/GPU and two systems with nvidia. One of them has a radeon on-mobo chip that is flawless in Gentoo but blue screens on Windows, so I bought an nvidia PCIe card to satisfy Windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1396
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh OK. I despise nouveau personally and have had trouble with it also, but I use the official nVidia drivers on those systems and have not had an issue since. This is also why I asked about using the official ATI/AMD drivers. Performance is a factor here, so if they're better suited for the job, what would I need in my kernel?
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3210
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
Oh OK. I despise nouveau personally and have had trouble with it also, but I use the official nVidia drivers on those systems and have not had an issue since.

This is off your main thread but I had to switch from nvidia-drivers to nouveau when my systems became officially too old to support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1396
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried the radeon driver as a module. Same thing. No /dev/dri and nothing in /proc/fb at all. I then tried with radeon as a module AND the radeon framebuffer device as a module. No dice. I also tried modprobing the radeon driver, still no /dev/dri. I honestly believe it is broken somehow. I have NEVER had the slightest issue with Intel or nVidia, but I have yet to get an AMD/ATI card running, for this exact reason.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 3210
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does eudev log when you modprobe radeon? Be sure you have error logging enabled in eudev?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43808
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth,

Radeon does work both modular and built in. My media player uses Radeon as built in.
The complication is building into the kernel the right firmware for your card, hence the advice to make it work as a module first.
dmesg will tell you the firmware files needed - there may be several.

The kernel Radeon driver gives you radeonfb for free. All the frambuffer hardware drivers in the kernel must be off, especially ATI/AMD ones.
If they load they grab the hardware, the Radeon driver you need will not work

The media player is off just now so I can only get the kernel config file from when it used to PXE boot.
That's a few years ago now. To keep it silent, (no moving parts) it now has an SSD.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1396
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2016 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for the slow response. I have been sick since Friday. Nothing major, but it has had me not wanting to even see a computer. Anyway, here is my update.

There are no firmware-related messages in dmesg or /var/log/messages, leading me to believe that there is no error as far as that goes. As for eudev, it is at default emerge settings. How do I enable more logging from it? Oh, and I removed the FB devices from the kernel. I was merely testing it.

*UPDATE*

On a whim I checked the logs for SDDM stuff and found a segfault. This happens every time SDDM is started.

Segfault Image
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum