Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
X does not start (No screens found)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kapecitis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2017
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2017 9:31 pm    Post subject: X does not start (No screens found) Reply with quote

Hello my friends!
Sorry for my bad English. Im newbie here , its my first experience with installing Gentoo.
I have problem with X Server on my server HP Proliant DL380 G5.
In server installed videocard NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT.
In Grub i see my original resolution of my monitor , 1280x1024, when gentoo boots, resolution stay on 800x600.
startx says no screens found, log says: [drm] failed to open drm device for pci:0000:17:00.0: -19
open /dev/dri/card0 : No such file or directory

In log i see that nouveau module is initialising and start
lspci -v says : kernel modules: nvidiafb (?) , nouveau
modprobe nouveau says: could not insert nouveau no such device

What is wrong and what i need to make ?
Please, help , i cant make this 3 weeks. :cry: :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7198
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure CONFIG_FB_NVIDIA is set to N for your kernel config.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kapecitis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2017
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
Make sure CONFIG_FB_NVIDIA is set to N for your kernel config.


How i can see this?
P.S: im compiled kernel with "genkernel all"
PS2: im installed succesfully Gentoo on my wooden PC with Pentium 4 , 3 GB RAM with NVIDIA GeForce 9500GT , using Handbook...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22199
Location: here

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 6:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kapecitis wrote:
How i can see this?

With command
Code:
$ grep CONFIG_FB_NVIDIA /usr/src/linux/.config

If is set you can use --menuconfig option of genkernel and then disable the option
Code:
Device Drivers  --->
    Graphics support  --->
        Frame buffer Devices  --->
            < > nVidia Framebuffer Support

_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kapecitis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2017
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 6:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, i see that CONFIG_FB_NVIDIA=m
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kapecitis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2017
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 6:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:

If is set you can use --menuconfig option of genkernel and then disable the option
Code:
Device Drivers  --->
    Graphics support  --->
        Frame buffer Devices  --->
            < > nVidia Framebuffer Support


Now i need run "genkernel --menuconfig all"? And disable the NVIDIA Framebuffer support?

And main question , i need to update GRUB config before recompiling kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22199
Location: here

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 6:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kapecitis wrote:
Now i need run "genkernel --menuconfig all"? And disable the NVIDIA Framebuffer support?

Correct

kapecitis wrote:
And main question , i need to update GRUB config before recompiling kernel?

It depends. If NVIDIA Framebuffer is built-in (asterisk character in menuconfig entry <*>) in kernel yes, otherwise (as module <M>) no
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kapecitis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2017
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nvidia framebuffer was as module <M>.

Before recompilling the kernel same problem , failed to load drm device...
Same problem with modprobe...

In log i see some lines:
modesetting: Driver For Modesetting Kernel Drivers: kms
.........
[drm] failed to open drm device for pci .....
open /dev/dri/card0: no such file or directory
falling back to old probe method for modesetting
screen 0 deleted because of no matching config section
device(s) detected , but none match those in the config file
.......
no screens found


P.S When i make Xorg -configure :
List of video drivers:
nouveau
nv
modesetting
..............
Number of created screens does not match number of detected devices.
Configuration failed.


In log i see same + failed to load drm device...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7198
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know the ordering of the framebuffer device and the DRM device but if the framebuffer device loads first, the DRM device will not load and cause /dev/dri/card0 to not show up. You can set it to "N" to ensure it doesn't get created.

The other quick check is to blacklist the framebuffer device kernel object and reboot, to see if it helps...

echo 'blacklist nvidiafb' >> /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-nvidiafb.conf
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kapecitis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2017
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
I don't know the ordering of the framebuffer device and the DRM device but if the framebuffer device loads first, the DRM device will not load and cause /dev/dri/card0 to not show up. You can set it to "N" to ensure it doesn't get created.

The other quick check is to blacklist the framebuffer device kernel object and reboot, to see if it helps...

echo 'blacklist nvidiafb' >> /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-nvidiafb.conf


Nvidia framebuffer is disabled in kernel config.
Why in livedvd video is working and xorg is starting?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7205
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it enabled?
Code:
CONFIG_DRM_NOUVEAU=y

_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kapecitis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2017
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Is it enabled?
Code:
CONFIG_DRM_NOUVEAU=y


i dont know... i want to try to reinstall gentoo again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43586
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kapecitis,

There is no need to reinstall. Lets fix it.

Emerge wgetpaste and pciutils if you don't have those packages.

Post
Code:
lspci -nn
so we can see your hardware.

Run
Code:
wgetpaste /var/log/Xorg.0.log
and post the URL, so we can see what Xorg did when it started.
Run
Code:
wgetpaste /usr/src/linux/.config
and post the URL, so we can see your kernel settings.
It sounds like the kernel is not set correctly for your hardware.

Run
Code:
wgetpaste -c dmesg
and tell us the URL.
Graphics problems often leave messages in the starup log.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kapecitis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2017
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
kapecitis,

There is no need to reinstall. Lets fix it.

Emerge wgetpaste and pciutils if you don't have those packages.

Post
Code:
lspci -nn
so we can see your hardware.

Run
Code:
wgetpaste /var/log/Xorg.0.log
and post the URL, so we can see what Xorg did when it started.
Run
Code:
wgetpaste /usr/src/linux/.config
and post the URL, so we can see your kernel settings.
It sounds like the kernel is not set correctly for your hardware.

Run
Code:
wgetpaste -c dmesg
and tell us the URL.
Graphics problems often leave messages in the starup log.


Thank you for answer.
In will try to make this later.
For now im blacklisted nouveau module, disabled nouveau from kernel and etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kapecitis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2017
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://paste.pound-python.org/show/WjC144p8cnXVS88ODdKA/ - Xorg Log
https://paste.pound-python.org/show/kAIxErt25acUn9x8Se3Q/ - .config
https://paste.pound-python.org/show/m1TAeICrlPfnb8oqrvFj/ - dmesg
https://paste.pound-python.org/show/t5kgBp0Hl66DNJV8BIUL/ - lspci
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7205
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can check my working nouveau kernel config here:

https://paste.pound-python.org/show/x5nX6kbG3IWMYbbbAfRN/
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43586
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kapecitis,

Your video card is
lspci:
17:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: NVIDIA Corporation G84 [GeForce 8600 GT] [10de:0402] (rev a1)

There is nothing about framebuffer consoles in dmesg.
and Xorg
/var/log/Xorg.0.log:
[    29.301] (II) NOUVEAU driver
[    29.301] (II) NOUVEAU driver for NVIDIA chipset families :
[    29.301]    RIVA TNT        (NV04)
[    29.301]    RIVA TNT2       (NV05)
[    29.301]    GeForce 256     (NV10)
[    29.301]    GeForce 2       (NV11, NV15)
[    29.301]    GeForce 4MX     (NV17, NV18)
[    29.301]    GeForce 3       (NV20)
[    29.301]    GeForce 4Ti     (NV25, NV28)
[    29.301]    GeForce FX      (NV3x)
[    29.301]    GeForce 6       (NV4x)
[    29.301]    GeForce 7       (G7x)
[    29.301]    GeForce 8       (G8x)
[    29.301]    GeForce GTX 200 (NVA0)
[    29.301]    GeForce GTX 400 (NVC0)
[    29.301] (--) using VT number 7

[    29.305] (EE) No devices detected.
loaded the nouveau driver which is correct for your hardware.
In your kernel, the Framebuffer hardware drivers are set correctly.

You need to change
Code:
# CONFIG_DRM_NOUVEAU is not set
to either <m> or <*>
If you use <*> the framebuffer will start sooner that if its a loadable module.
Turn on
Code:
# CONFIG_LOGO is not set
too and have a Tux logo per thread at the top of your framebuffer for part of the boot.
It confirms that the framebuffer is working.

You must not edit the .config with a text editor. If you use genkernel, pass the -menuconfig option.
In menuconfig, press the / to search, enter nouveau and press return.
Press the number next to CONFIG_DRM_NOUVEAU to go there and make the change.
Do the same for CONFIG_LOGO.

Remember to mount /boot if you need to or the new kernel will be installed silently into the wrong place.
The nouveau driver is in two pieces, a kernel piece and an Xorg piece. You must have both parts.

You mentioned blacklisting nouveau. Remove that.

Very close. The logo is not required. Its a confidence check.
One kernel change. That's better than reinstalling.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7101

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you have a real reason to disable acpi?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kapecitis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2017
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

krinn wrote:
you have a real reason to disable acpi?

without flag "acpi=off" system is not loading
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7101

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kapecitis wrote:
without flag "acpi=off" system is not loading

It's clearly a "real reason" then :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kapecitis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2017
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

krinn wrote:
kapecitis wrote:
without flag "acpi=off" system is not loading

It's clearly a "real reason" then :)


http://radikal.ru/lfp/i013.radikal.ru/1705/9b/0ea8914764ea.jpg/htm - image of problem without "acpi=off"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kapecitis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 May 2017
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

How i understand

Turn on
# CONFIG_DRM_NOUVEAU is not set

its mean that in --menuconfig i need to enable Nouveau (NVIDIA) Cards module? (<M>)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7101

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try irqbalance instead of acpi=off to see
you might also try switching to a different clock source, hpet is fine, so a clocksource=hpet acpi=on irqbalance
i think kernel might have an option for some know irq quirks and bugs, but i forget the name of the kernel option (i'm not even sure there's one).
while dell and companies like that love to do weird things, but they also provide "some" support ; you might look at dell site for bios bug fixes.
sorry, i didn't mean to derail you from your subject, it's just never really good to disable acpi on modern cpu for lapic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7205
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kernel help: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Category:Kernel
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7101

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kapecitis wrote:
NeddySeagoon,

How i understand

Turn on
# CONFIG_DRM_NOUVEAU is not set

its mean that in --menuconfig i need to enable Nouveau (NVIDIA) Cards module? (<M>)

In real he told you either <*> or <M>
But in short, yeah that's what he said :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum