Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
where is konqueror in plasma 5 ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pietinger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 1:05 pm    Post subject: where is konqueror in plasma 5 ? Reply with quote

I did a complete new install (amd64-stable) and went for KDE again. After xorg-server I emerged "plasma-meta". I dont want to have all KDE-games, so I didnt emerge "kde-meta". Instead I tried to emerge the same meta-packages I have on my old computer: kdecore-meta, kdeadmin-meta, ...

After rebooting, plasma works fine, but I have no konqueror (or any other browser). (I searched in all meta-packages but couldnt find one with konqueror.) OK, I can emerge "konqueror" directly, but is this desired ? Is there a new standard browser ? And if yes, which one ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kharitonow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Dec 2015
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 3:21 pm    Post subject: Re: where is konqueror in plasma 5 ? Reply with quote

pietinger wrote:
I did a complete new install (amd64-stable) and went for KDE again. After xorg-server I emerged "plasma-meta". I dont want to have all KDE-games, so I didnt emerge "kde-meta". Instead I tried to emerge the same meta-packages I have on my old computer: kdecore-meta, kdeadmin-meta, ...

After rebooting, plasma works fine, but I have no konqueror (or any other browser). (I searched in all meta-packages but couldnt find one with konqueror.) OK, I can emerge "konqueror" directly, but is this desired ? Is there a new standard browser ? And if yes, which one ?


Gentoo is all about choise. Your choise. You might install konqueror directly, you might pull it as a dependency of kde-apps/kdebase-meta. You have to choose your browser because exactly you have to work with it. You might want to look at this wiki page to choose one. I would recommend to start with firefox.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 8:14 pm    Post subject: Re: where is konqueror in plasma 5 ? Reply with quote

kharitonow wrote:
You might want to look at this wiki page to choose one. I would recommend to start with firefox.


Yes. Thanks a lot. No more konqeror here. But a new "qupzilla" ! Any experience with it ? (I dont like so big browsers like chromium or firefox)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radio_flyer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2004
Posts: 260
Location: Northern California

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FYI, sadly konqueror is slowly dying. IMO the odds of it being ported to Plasma 5 are unlikely. The reasons are explained in this reddit post:

[url]
https://www.reddit.com/r/kde/comments/3b3hrz/whats_the_future_of_konqueror/
[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
baaann
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jan 2006
Posts: 549
Location: uk

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

radio_flyer wrote:
FYI, sadly konqueror is slowly dying. IMO the odds of it being ported to Plasma 5 are unlikely. The reasons are explained in this reddit post:

[url]
https://www.reddit.com/r/kde/comments/3b3hrz/whats_the_future_of_konqueror/
[/url]


The latest version of Konqueror(16.12.3) is ported to KF5 using QTwebengine. Unfortunately I lost my bookmarks and custom searches etc when upgrading to it but it works ok.

As an alternative I have recently tried Otter Browser, which is built on QT

http://gpo.zugaina.org/www-client/otter

http://otter-browser.org/

I am quite liking it so far
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
augustin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Feb 2015
Posts: 318

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2017 2:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are otter or qupzilla tightly integrated with KDE and KDE activities, the way konqueror is?

Browser support for KDE activities, and web shortcuts:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1058376-start-0-postdays-0-postorder-asc-highlight-.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
augustin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Feb 2015
Posts: 318

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2017 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

baaann wrote:


The latest version of Konqueror(16.12.3) is ported to KF5 using QTwebengine. Unfortunately I lost my bookmarks and custom searches etc when upgrading to it


Same here, and it's a major problem for me:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1063998-start-0-postdays-0-postorder-asc-highlight-.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
baaann
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jan 2006
Posts: 549
Location: uk

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2017 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

augustin wrote:
baaann wrote:


The latest version of Konqueror(16.12.3) is ported to KF5 using QTwebengine. Unfortunately I lost my bookmarks and custom searches etc when upgrading to it


Same here, and it's a major problem for me:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1063998-start-0-postdays-0-postorder-asc-highlight-.html


Sorry Augustin just replied to the thread above having forgotten this thread, so much duplicated.

I would imagine that the previous settings are still held in the home directory but under different config files/folders, I just haven't had the time to investigate?
Who needs to migrate eh? ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum