Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Missing partitions in /dev, et al
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
statikregimen
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 138
Location: USA/Michigan

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 4:43 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Missing partitions in /dev, et al Reply with quote

Howdy,

I have just installed Gentoo to an MSI GT72S-G220 gaming laptop. I've noticed a series of issues that may or may not be related.

The kernel was built using a Pappy Preconfig, then hardware detected using sys-kernel/kergen. I then went over it following the AMD64 Handbook (and generally looked over it) to ensure I had at least all the basics. This is essentially the procedure I used for the first laptop I set up which seems to have worked out quite well. I pretty much configured the rest of the system per the handbook.

First, I noticed that when doing my first emerge @world, I was somehow missing /lib/gentoo/functions.sh (the entire directory was actually missing).... I am using a Sabayon XFCE live USB to install actual Gentoo, and was able to copy the directory from there and proceed. Now I wonder if that wasn't a symptom of something else. And worse, if it exacerbated that underlying condition...............

Later, I noticed that unlike the other aforementioned laptop, my wifi modules are not auto-auto-loading and when I manually modprobe them, I get wlan0 instead of the more modern wlp0s1 style (or however it goes). I can't work out how/why the other laptop loads them automatically.

Soon after, I noticed that while drives are listed in /dev (e.g. /dev/sda exists and is associated with the disk I would expect), there are no entries for the 2 partitions (i.e. /dev/sda1 and sda2 are missing). When I attach a USB drive, again it gives me a /dev/sdb but no partitions. My mSATA drives and software raid is OK - all partitions and devices accounted for.

However, fdisk -l /dev/sda:
Code:

Device     Boot  Start        End    Sectors   Size Id Type
/dev/sda1  *      2048     206847     204800   100M  7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda2       206848 1953523119 1953316272 931.4G  7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT


The partitions also show up just fine in other distributions' /devsda1 and sda2 as normal. And again: attaching a USB drive also results in a /dev/sdb but no partitions (except in fdisk, parted, etc).

Lastly, this is less likely to be related, but maybe: I'm trying to install Xorg and when it tries to build x11-proto/xproto-7.0.31 it fails with

Code:
error: cannot run C compiled programs


So I'm thinking either my Stage3 did not unpack fully/correctly (although I did not observe any errors; the md5sums matched when I downloaded the tarball), and/or I"m missing some critical items in kernel config and/or somehow I've messed up udev (even though to my recollection, I have not deviated from default configs on either computer I've set up recently).

Here is my kernel config
lspci -nnk

I am not sure what else you might need.

Thank you in advance!


Last edited by statikregimen on Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:49 pm; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7266
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# CONFIG_MSDOS_PARTITION is not set

This is one of your problems.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
statikregimen
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 138
Location: USA/Michigan

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Brilliant. Thank you.

The partitions are listed now, so one problem is solved....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7266
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

From this point your emerge --info would be useful.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
statikregimen
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 138
Location: USA/Michigan

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
From this point your emerge --info would be useful.


emerge --info

Thank you so much!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7266
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you done emerge -e @system after install?
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
statikregimen
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 138
Location: USA/Michigan

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Have you done emerge -e @system after install?


I did not...However, I don't recall having to do that on the last machine?

Anyway, I just ran it, and it started doing 342 things, and failed on sys-apps/baselayout-2.3

Code:
die "non-empty dir found where we needed a symlink: ${prefix}lib"


Here's the full log fwiw...

and also emerge --info '=sys-apps/baselayout-2.3::gentoo'

So it seems something is fundamentally wrong with this install but I can't imagine what I did wrong :(


Last edited by statikregimen on Mon Aug 21, 2017 5:57 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22335
Location: here

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can post output of ls -l /
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
statikregimen
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 138
Location: USA/Michigan

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
You can post output of ls -l /


Code:

total 80
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  4096 Aug 21 13:42 bin
drwxr-xr-x   4 root root  4096 Dec 31  1969 boot
drwxr-xr-x  16 root root  6640 Aug 21 12:56 dev
drwxr-xr-x  54 root root  4096 Aug 21 13:42 etc
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  4096 Aug 10 17:06 home
drwxr-xr-x   4 root root  4096 Aug 20 16:31 install-stuffs
drwxr-xr-x   6 root root  4096 Aug 21 13:41 lib
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  4096 Aug 17 14:56 lib32
drwxr-xr-x  12 root root  4096 Aug 21 13:42 lib64
drwx------   2 root root 16384 Aug 17 10:19 lost+found
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  4096 Aug 10 17:06 media
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  4096 Aug 10 17:06 mnt
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  4096 Aug 10 17:06 opt
dr-xr-xr-x 150 root root     0 Aug 21 12:55 proc
drwx------   5 root root  4096 Aug 21 12:11 root
drwxr-xr-x  10 root root   400 Aug 21 12:59 run
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  4096 Aug 21 13:41 sbin
dr-xr-xr-x  12 root root     0 Aug 21 12:55 sys
drwxrwxrwt   4 root root  4096 Aug 21 13:42 tmp
drwxr-xr-x  13 root root  4096 Aug 17 13:49 usr
drwxr-xr-x   9 root root  4096 Aug 10 17:06 var
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22335
Location: here

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can also post also
Code:
# ls -l /lib*

normally lib directory is a symlink to lib64
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
statikregimen
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 138
Location: USA/Michigan

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
You can also post also
Code:
# ls -l /lib*

normally lib directory is a symlink to lib64


It's a bit long so I've placed the output here: http://bitblizzard.com/forum_requests/ls2.txt

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22335
Location: here

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try with
Code:
# cd /
# mv lib lib.bck
# ln -s lib64 lib

mv line is for backup current lib directory, although I don't know where it came from.
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7266
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Probably from Sabayon as mentioned in OP.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
statikregimen
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 138
Location: USA/Michigan

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
Try with
Code:
# cd /
# mv lib lib.bck
# ln -s lib64 lib

mv line is for backup current lib directory, although I don't know where it came from.


This looks very promising. running emerge -e @system as prescribed above and it's definitely gotten a lot further this time.

Jaglover wrote:
Probably from Sabayon as mentioned in OP.


I can't imagine how I would have done that, but it's not impossible. I only used the Sabayon USB drive to boot the system and connect to the internet. I followed the handbook 1:1 thence forth (except I had to emerge temporarily into Sabayon app-portage/cpuid2cpuflags and app-portage/mirrorselect, but I checked the mirrors to be sure they were proper gentoo mirrors).

EDIT: Yea, it's really bugging me now...wtf did I do lol! Booze was likely involved....Anyway, so far so good on this emerge...almost done!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
statikregimen
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 138
Location: USA/Michigan

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, so here's where we're at:

After creating the proper symlink for /lib,
- emerge -e @syetem completed successfully
- my installation of Xorg has now completed (xproto, as I mentioned was originally failing, now compiles). Nvidia drivers have failed to compile, however, this may be due to the fact that I am using a hardened kernel - someone mentioned in another thread that it may be incompatible. That's perfectly fine - pretty sure I can figure out what to do from here (or is a topic for another thread).

After rebooting, I notice now I am getting the enp5s0 style of devices listed by ifconfig, so now that is working as expected. And I think it was the last issue of my OP! :D

I can't thank you guys enough! <3

EDIT: Oh, the other issue in the OP was wifi modules not auto-auto-loading. This was also resolved, but only after I re-emerged linux-firmware and copied the modules folder from the backup of the phantom lib directory.

I still have no clue what caused this.... Most likely a user failure but we may never know :( :oops:


Last edited by statikregimen on Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:37 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22335
Location: here

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

statikregimen wrote:
Nvidia drivers have failed to compile, however, this may be due to the fact that I am using a hardened kernel - someone mentioned in another thread that it may be incompatible.

See here
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
statikregimen
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jul 2011
Posts: 138
Location: USA/Michigan

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
statikregimen wrote:
Nvidia drivers have failed to compile, however, this may be due to the fact that I am using a hardened kernel - someone mentioned in another thread that it may be incompatible.

See here


Awesome, thanks! I got up and running with Nouveau but that is bookmarked for when I get ready to start installing games :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22335
Location: here

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When all work on your system you can delete lib.bck directory
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum