Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Runlevel question...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1367
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:59 pm    Post subject: Runlevel question... Reply with quote

What runlevel should 'cpupower' be in? I vaguely recall it being in boot, but it's been ages and the wiki has changed. It doesn't specify any runlevel and I am not wanting to screw things up. Currently it is in default.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7201
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe you should tell what CPU it is, modern CPUs do not need it.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1367
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have it installed on every system I setup. How do I know what is considered modern enough to not require it? Even then, how do I know what scaling the CPU is using?
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5879

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
Even then, how do I know what scaling the CPU is using?

It's whatever you've set as default governor in the kernel config. The cpupower init script just changes that default, same as running echo 'whatever' | tee /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/scaling_governor would.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 1753

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
and I am not wanting to screw things up
What opportunities for screwing up do you see there?
Scaling CPU speed is not a critical service, in the worst case scenario you either make you boot sequence a tiny bit slower or lose a handful of cycles that wouldn't be produced otherwise.
You could just as well skip it completely and just check whether your machine became sluggish or started overheating. If neither of those happens... Well, there is nothing to gain from solving this problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1367
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I want the scaling to work as one day I may just be editing a text document but the next I may be encoding a video or editing one. I still need to know how to determine which processors require cpupower and which ones do not. The oldest CPUs I have running Gentoo are around the 2008 era. Core2Duo or Core2Quad.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 1753

PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

New processors are said to scale down even with performance governor (kernel's default), so there is no need to actually change anything.
Then, you can do that the way I do: just set default governor to your favourite in build time. There is an option in menuconfig for this.
Service comes in handy when you use a provided, binary kernel, so you can't alter the defaults yourself. Still, nothing depends on this particular service, so just drop it wherever you find it most convenient, if you want to go this way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5879

PostPosted: Mon Oct 23, 2017 3:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
I still need to know how to determine which processors require cpupower and which ones do not. The oldest CPUs I have running Gentoo are around the 2008 era. Core2Duo or Core2Quad.

None of them require cpupower, because cpupower doesn't actually do anything besides change one setting at the cost of several exec()s every boot. Even if you compiled the kernel with the default governor set to "performance" there are still ACPI C-states, and if you use the intel_pstate driver the CPU always reduces clocks in idle no matter what policy is active. `cpupower monitor` or powertop will show the real idle numbers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum