Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] No temp monitoring on new amd gpu
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Elleni
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 865

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 2:34 pm    Post subject: [solved] No temp monitoring on new amd gpu Reply with quote

In the amdgpu wiki the section on monitoring gpu temperature is missing, so I tried with the information on the radeon wiki.

Code:
Monitoring

lm sensors can be used to monitor the cards temperature. It uses the I2C interface, which needs to be enabled in the kernel:
KERNEL Including radeon firmware

Device Drivers --->
   Graphics support --->
      <*> Support for frame buffer devices --->
         <*> ATI Radeon display support
            [*] DDC/I2C for ATI Radeon support


But this does not work. So how is rx580 gpu temperature beeing monitored with lm_sensors ? Or is this not possible atm? Or are there other utilities to monitor gpu ?


Last edited by Elleni on Tue Jan 02, 2018 7:44 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5858

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works on my RX550... (no radeon in kernel, only amdgpu)
Code:
amdgpu-pci-0100
Adapter: PCI adapter
fan1:        1023 RPM
temp1:        +35.0°C  (crit =  +0.0°C, hyst =  +0.0°C)

What do you get from "ls -ld /sys/class/hwmon/*/device"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Elleni
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 865

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are right.
Code:

sensors
amdgpu-pci-0700
Adapter: PCI adapter
fan1:         812 RPM
temp1:        +40.0°C  (crit =  +0.0°C, hyst =  +0.0°C)


What does not work is when I create a new "site" in Plasma Systemmonitor, it looks like this, and I am missing the browser to pull the apropriate sensor in it to have a graphical monitor:
https://imagebin.ca/v/3mp828cm0foe

Btw. How cpu temp of a ryzen would be monitored?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5858

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I haven't used ksysguard in years but I remember it being very picky for some reason... maybe it needs lm_sensors labels to be defined, I have a really old sensors.conf file that only sets those.
Try this, it might help:
/etc/sensors.d/amdgpu.conf:
chip "amdgpu-pci-*"
    label fan1 "GPU Fan"
    label temp1 "GPU Temp"

For the Ryzen, try enabling CONFIG_SENSORS_K10TEMP and SENSORS_FAM15H_POWER; it's not mentioned in the options' help text but there's a high chance it'll work. Turn on ACPI Thermal Zone too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Elleni
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 865

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately creating custom tabs in ksysguard is not working as it should, but I will see and post in a separate thread, if necessary. the cpu are visible in the standard tab anyways and also gkrellm show all cpus / 12 threads. Strange thing is, that cpu is not showing when invocating sensors nor with xsensors. There is only gpu as pasted above is visible.

Code:
sensors
amdgpu-pci-0700
Adapter: PCI adapter
GPU Fan:      813 RPM
GPU Temp:     +42.0°C  (crit =  +0.0°C, hyst =  +0.0°C)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum