Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Microcode update issue TSC_DEADLINE - please update ...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mahdi1234
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2005
Posts: 539
Location: far from new world orderia

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 7:02 pm    Post subject: Microcode update issue TSC_DEADLINE - please update ... Reply with quote

Hi there,

I have followed https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Intel_microcode#New_method_without_initram-fs.2Fdisk section 5 i.e. built-in to the kernel option and I have following setup
Code:
CONFIG_MICROCODE=y
CONFIG_MICROCODE_INTEL=y
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="amdgpu/topaz_ce.bin amdgpu/topaz_mc.bin amdgpu/topaz_me.bin amdgpu/topaz_mec2.bin amdgpu/topaz_mec.bin amdgpu/topaz_pfp.bin amdgpu/topaz_rlc.bin amdgpu/topaz_sdma1.bin amdgpu/topaz_sdma.bin amdgpu/topaz_smc.bin intel-ucode/06-3d-04"

However update doesn't seem to work due to
dmesg | grep microcode
Code:
[    0.000000] [Firmware Bug]: TSC_DEADLINE disabled due to Errata; please update microcode to version: 0x25 (or later)
[    0.808193] microcode: sig=0x306d4, pf=0x40, revision=0x16
[    0.809562] microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.2.

Any idea or what more info I should give to solve the problem?

cheers
_________________
http://gentoo.mahdi.cz <-- gentoo package search engine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5854

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the firmware's built in and loading correctly, it should be one of the very first lines in dmesg - look up there. There's a chance it may have scrolled off the top of the buffer by the time you ran grep.

Also the early microcode method won't work on a 32-bit kernel for some reason. I guess Intel doesn't care about old CPUs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mahdi1234
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2005
Posts: 539
Location: far from new world orderia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for info, indeed I have 32-bit kernel so then I guess I would need to look into some other method.
_________________
http://gentoo.mahdi.cz <-- gentoo package search engine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 5861

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like the file you stuffed into the kernel didn't load. By chance did you see multiple lines from iucode-tool? https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1075040.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mahdi1234
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2005
Posts: 539
Location: far from new world orderia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bunder - I only get one
Quote:
selected microcodes:
050/001: sig 0x000306d4, pf_mask 0xc0, 2017-11-17, rev 0x0028, size 18432

_________________
http://gentoo.mahdi.cz <-- gentoo package search engine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Josef.95
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Sep 2007
Posts: 3649
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 2:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mahdi1234 wrote:
Code:
[    0.000000] [Firmware Bug]: TSC_DEADLINE disabled due to Errata; please update microcode to version: 0x25 (or later)

This should be fixed with a BIOS/Firmware Update for your Motherboard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nlsa8z6zoz7lyih3ap
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 376
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also can't make my firmware do the early load. Intel suggests

Code:
echo 1 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/microcode/reload

This does work for me.

I have no idea if it is advisable or not
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mahdi1234
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2005
Posts: 539
Location: far from new world orderia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, I did upgrade BIOS and indeed the message is gone ... however since microcode in BIOS is now identical with the one in sys-firmware/intel-microcode I'm not sure whether it does something or not (cannot is in dmesg it was updated, but maybe it doesn't overwrite when it's not higher version), lets see when more recent is out.

I will try reload parameter as well and keep this thread updated.
_________________
http://gentoo.mahdi.cz <-- gentoo package search engine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5854

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 3:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the BIOS-provided version is now the same number, there's no need to have the kernel do anything. In fact you can go ahead and remove the microcode driver and intel-microcode, you'll only need to add it back if a newer one comes out and there isn't a BIOS update for it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum