Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
genkernel initramfs problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wakame
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jun 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2018 6:41 am    Post subject: genkernel initramfs problem Reply with quote

Hello,

I've made an LVM on LUKS install with grub loading into initramfs, which is generated by genkernel.

The only problem is that no console output after grub showing "Loaidng initramfs...". But I can still blindly input my LUKS passphrase then the system starts normally and console output is back.

How can I enable console output in initramfs?

Thank you for your inputs :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 5873

PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2018 8:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I had to wager a guess, your kernel doesn't have the correct framebuffer selected. If you can log into it remotely after it boots up, you should be able to recompile the kernel, install it, and reboot. If not, you'll have to use a livecd and mount up all your partitions, chroot and make the corrections there.

Cheers
_________________
Neddyseagoon wrote:
The problem with leaving is that you can only do it once and it reduces your influence.

banned from #gentoo since sept 2017
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wakame
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jun 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2018 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bunder wrote:
If I had to wager a guess, your kernel doesn't have the correct framebuffer selected. If you can log into it remotely after it boots up, you should be able to recompile the kernel, install it, and reboot. If not, you'll have to use a livecd and mount up all your partitions, chroot and make the corrections there.

Cheers


Thank you for your reply.


I think I've located the problem.

I choose to compile i915 as module. The initramfs generated by genkernel doesn't have a correct framebuffer driver. This is why outputs are showing up later because kernel loads up i915 module.

I need to either build i915 driver into kernel or manually modify initramfs.


BTW the built-in approach is not good enough. All intel firmwares have to be integrated into kernel as well. Because kernel loads video driver earlier than mounting up root partition, no external firmwares is available to load at boot time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 5873

PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2018 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can stash firmware into the kernel... eg:

Code:
CONFIG_FIRMWARE_IN_KERNEL=y
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="intel-ucode/06-9e-0b intel-ucode/06-9e-0a intel-ucode/06-9e-09 i915/kbl_dmc_ver1.bin i915/kbl_dmc_ver1_01.bin i915/kbl_dmc_ver1_04.bin i915/kbl_guc_ver9_14.bin i915/kbl_guc_ver9_39.bin i915/kbl_huc_ver02_00_1810.bin intel/dsp_fw_kbl.bin intel/dsp_fw_kbl_v2042.bin intel/dsp_fw_kbl_v2630.bin intel/dsp_fw_kbl_v3266.bin intel/dsp_fw_kbl_v3420.bin intel/ibt-hw-37.8.bseq intel/ibt-hw-37.8.10-fw-22.50.19.14.f.bseq iwlwifi-3168-21.ucode iwlwifi-3168-22.ucode iwlwifi-3168-27.ucode iwlwifi-3168-29.ucode rtl_nic/rtl8411-1.fw rtl_nic/rtl8411-2.fw"
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="/lib/firmware"

_________________
Neddyseagoon wrote:
The problem with leaving is that you can only do it once and it reduces your influence.

banned from #gentoo since sept 2017
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
glacies
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jun 2018
Posts: 29
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 5:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you generate the initramfs with:
Code:
# genkernel --lvm --luks --install initramfs

Did you try the vesafb in kernel, it works with framebuffer on nvidia gtx 970.
Make sure in grub.conf to set the display resolution that your graphic device can handle. You can find values with "vbeinfo" on grub command line. Then you can set GRUB_GFXPAYLOAD_LINUX=keep
To force the tty resolution. You should see a logo (if the logo is set on kernel)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum