Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No soundcard on Thinkpad X250
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
liquidvel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:52 pm    Post subject: No soundcard on Thinkpad X250 Reply with quote

Hello,
im new to gentoo, but all is running so far besides the sound.
I'm running a Thinkpad X250 and have no audio.
I even cannot find a soundcard. All I did so far was installing media-sound/alsa-utils.

Code:
> lscpi -v | grep -A4 -i "audio"
00:03.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Broadwell-U Audio Controller (rev 09)
   Subsystem: Lenovo Broadwell-U Audio Controller
   Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 45
   Memory at f1230000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
   Capabilities: <access denied>
   Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
--
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP High Definition Audio Controller (rev 03)
   Subsystem: Lenovo Wildcat Point-LP High Definition Audio Controller
   Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 32, IRQ 44
   Memory at f1234000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
   Capabilities: <access denied>
   Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel

> sudo aplay -L
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)

> sudo aplay -l
aplay: device_list:272: no soundcards found...

> find /lib/modules -iname *snd*
zsh: no matches found: *snd*


I did not configure the kernel like here, because I dont know which driver too choose in

Code:

<*> Advanced Linux Sound Architecture --->
            [*] PCI sound devices  --->
                Select the driver for your audio controller.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43563
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2018 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

liquidvel,

Welcome to Gentoo.

You have two sound cards. Both need snd_hda_intel for the PCI end but we don't know which codecs you need.
Building them all is harmless.

Code:
Thats   │ │    [*]   PCI sound devices  --->                                    │ │ 
  │ │          HD-Audio  --->
and in the HD-Audio ---> menu
Code:
  │ │    <M> HD Audio PCI                                                 │ │ 
  │ │    [*] Build hwdep interface for HD-audio driver                    │ │ 
  │ │    [ ] Allow dynamic codec reconfiguration                          │ │ 
  │ │    [ ] Support digital beep via input layer                         │ │ 
  │ │    [ ] Support initialization patch loading for HD-audio            │ │ 
  │ │    <M> Build Realtek HD-audio codec support                         │ │ 
  │ │    <M> Build Analog Device HD-audio codec support                   │ │ 
  │ │    <M> Build IDT/Sigmatel HD-audio codec support                    │ │ 
  │ │    <M> Build VIA HD-audio codec support                             │ │ 
  │ │    <M> Build HDMI/DisplayPort HD-audio codec support                │ │ 
  │ │    < > Build Cirrus Logic codec support                             │ │ 
  │ │    <M> Build Conexant HD-audio codec support                        │ │ 
  │ │    < > Build Creative CA0110-IBG codec support                      │ │ 
  │ │    < > Build Creative CA0132 codec support                          │ │ 
  │ │    <M> Build C-Media HD-audio codec support                         │ │ 
  │ │    < > Build Silicon Labs 3054 HD-modem codec support               │ │ 
  │ │    -M- Enable generic HD-audio codec parser               


Once you rebuild your kernel and reboot, you should find that /dev/snd is populated.

That's only the start. As you have two sound cards, the system will default to using the one discovered first. That will be the one at PCI address 00:03.0.
That may not be what you want, but after
Code:
alsamixer -c0
and
Code:
alsamixer -c1
shows you the controls on each card, we can sort out which is which.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liquidvel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
but "PCI sound devices" has also an asterisk. I dont have any devices selected in its list yet because I dont know which one. What do I have to select here? The codecs refer to "HD Audio" and not to "PCI sound devices", don't they.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7201
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

liquidvel,

HD-Audio is enabled when you enable PCI sound devices, you do not need anything selected there. Selecting correct HD-Audio module is easyest if you have a live CD which can handle your sound. Example:
Code:
 $ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC892 Analog [ALC892 Analog]
...

Now I can select correct module for my codec.
Code:
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK:
Say Y or M here to include Realtek HD-audio codec support in
snd-hda-intel driver, such as ALC880.   

Or you can just enable all of them as modules and see which one works.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43563
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

liquidvel,

Until recently, HD-Audio was inside the PCI sound devices menu.
It still has to be selected or HD-Audio is hidden but you do not need anything inside the PCI sound devices menu.

This is just an example of the kernel configuration menu system being rearranged.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liquidvel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@NeddySeagoon: So i rebuild the kernel with all the modules in you post marked as <M>.
Code:
sudo make && sudo modules_install
sudo make install
reboot

If I go to the menuconfig again all codecs are unselected again? Where the modules installed anyway?
Also aplay -l still gives me no result.

I then booted with USB, here the alsamixer command works.
Code:
cat /proc/asound/card1/codec* | grep Codec
Codec: Realtek ALC3232


Can I just compile the Realtek module into the kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7201
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes you can. (Sometimes it is beneficial to have it as a module, when debugging for instance.)
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liquidvel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So this time I've saved the kernel config correctly and rebuild the kernel.

Code:

 ~ find /lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/ -type f
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/modules.alias.bin
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/modules.symbols
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/modules.order
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/modules.builtin.bin
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/modules.softdep
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/modules.devname
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/modules.dep.bin
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/fs/efivarfs/efivarfs.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-codec-via.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-codec-generic.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-codec-analog.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-codec-idt.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-codec-hdmi.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-codec-conexant.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-codec-realtek.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-codec-cmedia.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/net/netfilter/xt_nat.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/net/netfilter/xt_addrtype.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/net/netfilter/nf_nat_sip.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/net/netfilter/xt_LOG.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/net/netfilter/nf_nat_ftp.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/net/netfilter/nf_nat_irc.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/net/netfilter/nf_log_common.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/net/netfilter/nf_nat.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/net/netfilter/xt_mark.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/nf_log_arp.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/ipt_MASQUERADE.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/nf_nat_masquerade_ipv4.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/nf_log_ipv4.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/iptable_nat.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/nf_nat_ipv4.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/net/ipv6/netfilter/nf_log_ipv6.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/intel/iwlwifi/iwlwifi.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/intel/iwlwifi/mvm/iwlmvm.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/kernel/drivers/thermal/x86_pkg_temp_thermal.ko
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/modules.dep
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/modules.alias
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/modules.builtin
/lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo/modules.symbols.bin


When I enter modprobe and press TAB to auto-complete I can only select the snd-hda-codec-generic or -realtek.
Code:

 ~ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
snd_hda_codec_realtek    81920  0
snd_hda_codec_generic    73728  1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
iwlmvm                311296  0
iwlwifi               258048  1 iwlmvm
x86_pkg_temp_thermal    16384  0
efivarfs               16384  1

 ~ ls -l /dev/snd
total 0
crw-rw---- 1 root audio 116,  1 Dec 10 22:07 seq
crw-rw---- 1 root audio 116, 33 Dec 10 22:07 timer

 ~ aplay -l
aplay: device_list:272: no soundcards found...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43563
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

liquidvel,

Make friends with wgetpaste and use it to put your dmesg onto a pastebin site.
Tell us the URL so we can find it.
Its far to big to fit into a post.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liquidvel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
this is a nice tool btw. Here you go: http://bpaste.net/show/5c67ae0cc908
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43563
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

liquidvel,

It says
Code:
[    2.097030] ALSA device list:
[    2.099602]   No soundcards found.
but I was hoping for some hints as to why not. There are none.

Lets try some analysis.
Can you pastebin your kernel .config file please?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liquidvel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure, here: http://bpaste.net/show/2ab7cfa9ab3d
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4209
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does "lspci -nnk" show?

You can just pull out the piece that shows audio
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43563
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

liquidvel,

You will probably need
Code:
# CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS is not set
if you want HDMI sound ever.

These warnings are new to me
Code:
#
# Set to Y if you want auto-loading the codec driver
#
but we know you want Realtek from an earlier post.

Going back to dmesg
Code:
[    0.894283] hdaudio hdaudioC1D0: Unable to bind the codec
Thats Card 1, Device 0,
Code:
[    2.035296] hdaudio hdaudioC0D0: Unable to bind the codec
so both your sound cards are seen and it is a codec problem.

Build CONFIG_SND_HDA as a module, so we can play with modprobe.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liquidvel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
What does "lspci -nnk" show?

Code:

00:03.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation Broadwell-U Audio Controller [8086:160c] (rev 09)
        Subsystem: Lenovo Broadwell-U Audio Controller [17aa:2226]
        Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
00:14.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP USB xHCI Controller [8086:9cb1] (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Lenovo Wildcat Point-LP USB xHCI Controller [17aa:2226]
--
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP High Definition Audio Controller [8086:9ca0] (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Lenovo Wildcat Point-LP High Definition Audio Controller [17aa:2226]
        Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP PCI Express Root Port #6 [8086:9c9a] (rev e3)
        Kernel driver in use: pcieport


Quote:
Build CONFIG_SND_HDA as a module, so we can play with modprobe.

How can i do this. Editing the .config directly with vim has no effect?
sudo make config starts the command line assistent and I have to go through each step.
I did it with menuconfig and "HELP' and / but I cannot find the related menu item.
Only found this?

Quote:

Symbol: SND_HDA [=y] │
│ Type : tristate │
│ Defined at sound/pci/hda/Kconfig:3 │
│ Depends on: SOUND [=y] && !UML && SND [=y] │
│ Selects: SND_PCM [=y] && SND_VMASTER [=y] && SND_JACK [=y] && SND_HDA_CORE [=y] │
│ Selected by: SND_HDA_INTEL [=y] && SOUND [=y] && !UML && SND [=y] && SND_PCI [=y] || SND_HDA_TEGRA [=n] && SOUND [=y] && !UML && SND [=y] && ARCH_TEGRA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7201
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't edit .config directly, it has complicated internal dependencies which need to be handled. What NeddySeagoon meant is build the realtek driver as module.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4209
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1035972-start-0.html -- No sound with Broadwell-U Audio Controller
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liquidvel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So i set CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS to yes.
This is all I've tried, still no result.
Code:
 /usr/src/linux grep HDMI .config
CONFIG_HDMI=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=m
# CONFIG_HDMI_LPE_AUDIO is not set
 /usr/src/linux alsactl init
alsactl: init:1757: No soundcards found...
 /usr/src/linux 19 cd
 ~ cat /proc/asound/cards
--- no soundcards ---
 ~ sudo modprobe snd-hda-codec-realtek
 ~ sudo modprobe snd-hda-codec-hdmi
 ~ aplay -l
aplay: device_list:272: no soundcards found...
 ~ cat /proc/asound/cards
--- no soundcards ---
 ~ alsactl init
alsactl: init:1757: No soundcards found...
 ~ 19 lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
snd_hda_codec_realtek    81920  0
snd_hda_codec_generic    73728  1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     57344  0
iwlmvm                311296  0
x86_pkg_temp_thermal    16384  0
iwlwifi               258048  1 iwlmvm
efivarfs               16384  1


Here is my dmesg: http://bpaste.net/show/ef52e042e1eb
Here is my .config: http://bpaste.net/show/bebd1c9c9950
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4209
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm seeing unable to bind codec messages in dmesg and alsa isn't seeing a soundcard.

Code:
[    2.031416] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:03.0: bound 0000:00:02.0 (ops 0xffffffff9fab6500)
[    2.034353] hdaudio hdaudioC0D0: Unable to bind the codec



Actually it wouldn't hurt to set all your snd* stuff to compile as modules, once you figure out which it is (it'll load automatically) you can disable the rest.
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7201
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You mentioned some other Linux (CD?) had drivers loaded. Check out with lsmod what was loaded.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liquidvel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I've booted with the LiveCD again. Here it seems to work, but why.
snd_hda_codec and snd_hda_core do not appear in my lsmod but this is because I've compiled it into the kernel I guess..
What I noticed: There is no snd_hda_codec in my .config?

Code:
 /usr/src/linux grep -i snd_hda_codec .config
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132=m
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132_DSP is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054=m


When booted from LiveCD:
All available modules: https://bpaste.net/show/d0d7bee27df6
lsmod: https://bpaste.net/show/59aac4307c25
dmesg: https://bpaste.net/show/5d8c6d7c83fa

Here is my .config: http://bpaste.net/show/bebd1c9c9950
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4209
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

change all of your sound stuff to be modules, hard to diagnose when they are part and part.

I select everything under sound as modules (except for the ones that make me select y/n only)
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau, oss4, rx550 for qemu passthrough
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liquidvel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2018 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did as you said, my .config looks like this now: http://bpaste.net/show/713ed50d1085
The dmesg message with not finding the codec is the same.

What else can I do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7201
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2018 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use latest kernel.

Tip: make sure you are running the kernel you think you are, uname -a.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liquidvel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Dec 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2018 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is this really necessary? What would this change? I really just want some audio :(
It's working with the LiveCD. Also how can I upgrade the kernel?
I'm running 4.14.83
Code:

 [S] ~ uname -a
Linux thinkpad-x250 4.14.83-gentoo #6 SMP Fri Dec 14 17:50:49 CET 2018 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-5600U CPU @ 2.60GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux


I'm reading this. I'm running both commands but it does not download a new kernel.
Code:

 [S] ~ sudo emerge --ask --update --deep --with-bdeps=y --newuse sys-kernel/gentoo-sources

 * IMPORTANT: 14 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news read to view new items.


These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!

 [S] ~ 130 sudo emerge --ask --update --deep --with-bdeps=y --newuse @world

 * IMPORTANT: 14 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news read to view new items.


These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!

WARNING: One or more updates/rebuilds have been skipped due to a dependency conflict:

x11-libs/cairo:0

  (x11-libs/cairo-1.14.12:0/0::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) conflicts with
    x11-libs/cairo[X,xcb] required by (x11-wm/i3-gaps-4.15.0.1:0/0::gentoo, installed)
                   ^
    >=x11-libs/cairo-1.12.14-r4:0/0=[X,abi_x86_64(-)] required by (x11-libs/pango-1.42.4:0/0::gentoo, installed)
                                     ^
    >=x11-libs/cairo-1.12.14-r4:=[X,abi_x86_64(-)] required by (x11-libs/pango-1.42.4:0/0::gentoo, installed)
                                  ^
    >=x11-libs/cairo-1.14[glib,svg,X,abi_x86_64(-)] required by (x11-libs/gtk+-3.22.30:3/3::gentoo, installed)
                                   ^

x11-libs/pango:0

  (x11-libs/pango-1.42.4:0/0::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) conflicts with
    x11-libs/pango[X] required by (x11-wm/i3-gaps-4.15.0.1:0/0::gentoo, installed)
                   ^
    x11-libs/pango[X] required by (x11-misc/rofi-1.5.1:0/0::gentoo, installed)
                   ^


Nothing to merge; quitting.



EDIT: I did all codec as modules, but some modules i can load without an error but the dont appear within lsmod.
This is the lsmod from the LiveCD again
Code:

[/tmp/test, 1]: cat lsmod.txt | grep -E 'snd*'
snd_hda_codec_realtek    77824  1
snd_hda_codec_generic    61440  1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     49152  1
snd_hda_intel          32768  0
snd_hda_codec          90112  4 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_core           57344  5 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_pcm                81920  4 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_core
snd_timer              28672  1 snd_pcm
snd                    69632  8 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_timer,thinkpad_acpi,snd_pcm
soundcore              16384  1 snd
dm_snapshot            40960  0
dm_bufio               24576  1 dm_snapshot
dm_mod                106496  7 dm_raid,dm_crypt,dm_zero,dm_log,dm_snapshot,dm_mirror,dm_bufio


but I can only load this ones. I can load the others via modprobe but they dont appear in lsmod. Also dmesg does not say anything about it.
Code:
 [S] ~ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
snd_hda_codec_realtek    81920  0
snd_hda_codec_generic    73728  1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     57344  0
iwlmvm                311296  0
x86_pkg_temp_thermal    16384  0
iwlwifi               258048  1 iwlmvm
efivarfs               16384  1


Last edited by liquidvel on Fri Dec 14, 2018 6:40 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum