Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved]Trouble setting up network
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
reikdas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 6:24 pm    Post subject: [Solved]Trouble setting up network Reply with quote

I have a fresh Gentoo installation.

I modified the USE flags,
VIDEO_CARDS="nouveau intel"
INPUT_DEVICES="libinput synaptics"

emerge --ask x11-base/xorg-server gives the following error-
Fetch failed for 'x11-mis/util-macros-1.19.2-r1'
Failed to emerge x11-misc/util-macros-1.19.2-r1

I also tried with xorg-x11 but I got the same error.


Last edited by reikdas on Sat Dec 22, 2018 11:13 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22058
Location: here

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What mirror you use? You can post full emerge output?
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reikdas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
What mirror you use? You can post full emerge output?


Mirrors -
https://mirrors.163.com/Gentoo/
https://mirrors.tuna.tsinghua.edu/cn/Gentoo
Http://gentoo.aditsu.net:8000/
Https://mirror.sjc02.svwh.net/Gentoo/

Not sure how to post the full emerge output since I do not have a GUI installed on Gentoo.
I don't know if it is possible to post the entire log using links.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43437
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

reikdas,

... and the output of
Code:
emerge --info
please.


Use wgetpaste. You will need to emerge it.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ali3nx
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 612
Location: Vancouver, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

reikdas wrote:
Not sure how to post the full emerge output since I do not have a GUI installed on Gentoo.
I don't know if it is possible to post the entire log using links.


Code:
emerge -pv xorg-x11 >xorg.log && wgetpaste xorg.log



copying the wgetpaste link may be a complication unless you can connect from another pc using ssh
_________________
Compiling Gentoo since version 1.4
Thousands of Gentoo Installs Completed
Emerged on every continent but Antarctica
Compile long and Prosper!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reikdas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ali3nx wrote:
reikdas wrote:
Not sure how to post the full emerge output since I do not have a GUI installed on Gentoo.
I don't know if it is possible to post the entire log using links.


Code:
emerge -pv xorg-x11 >xorg.log && wgetpaste xorg.log



copying the wgetpaste link may be a complication unless you can connect from another pc using ssh


emerge --ask wgetpaste gives a similar error-
Fetch failed for 'app-text/wgetpaste-2.28'
Failed to emerge app-text/wgetpaste-2.28
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ali3nx
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 612
Location: Vancouver, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

reikdas wrote:
emerge --ask wgetpaste gives a similar error-
Fetch failed for 'app-text/wgetpaste-2.28'
Failed to emerge app-text/wgetpaste-2.28


can you ping google or some other dns address? perhaps your network config could use a bit of motivation. One thing new gentoo installs do not add by default in the base install stages unless that's changed is a dhcp client.
_________________
Compiling Gentoo since version 1.4
Thousands of Gentoo Installs Completed
Emerged on every continent but Antarctica
Compile long and Prosper!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22058
Location: here

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

reikdas wrote:
Mirrors -
https://mirrors.163.com/Gentoo/
https://mirrors.tuna.tsinghua.edu/cn/Gentoo
Http://gentoo.aditsu.net:8000/
Https://mirror.sjc02.svwh.net/Gentoo/

Try to comment gentoo mirrors variable in make.conf

reikdas wrote:
Not sure how to post the full emerge output since I do not have a GUI installed on Gentoo.
I don't know if it is possible to post the entire log using links

wgetpaste is your friend
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7139
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Odds are high the network is not set up properly.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43437
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

reikdas,

Lets try some basic network tests.

Code:
ping -c4 216.58.206.46
Tests your network connectivity without using your nameserver.
If that works, try
Code:
ping -4 -c4 google.com

Which needs to discover that google.com is actually 216.58.206.46.

If both fail, what interfaces does
Code:
ifconfig
list?
Thats shows all interfaces that are configured.

What about
Code:
ifconfig -a

That shows all interfaces known to the kernel.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reikdas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 4:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:


try
Code:
ping -4 -c4 google.com

Which needs to discover that google.com is actually 216.58.206.46.


Ping -4 -c4 google.com does not work. It gives an error - temporary failure in name resolution.


Last edited by reikdas on Sat Dec 22, 2018 4:31 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7139
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 4:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does this mean pinging by IP address works? You have not told us what is your DNS setup solution. Whatever it is it is not working.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reikdas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
reikdas,

Lets try some basic network tests.

Code:
ping -c4 216.58.206.46
Tests your network connectivity without using your nameserver.


Gives error - Network is unreachable.

NeddySeagoon wrote:
If both fail, what interfaces does
Code:
ifconfig
list?
Thats shows all interfaces that are configured.


Shows the interface lo(is there something specific about this interface I should be posting?)

NeddySeagoon wrote:
What about
Code:
ifconfig -a

That shows all interfaces known to the kernel.


Shows -
bond0
enp60s0
lo
wlo1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7139
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

enp60s0 is your wired network card, did you set it up as described in Handbook?

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64/Installation/System#Automatically_start_networking_at_boot
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reikdas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 4:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
enp60s0 is your wired network card, did you set it up as described in Handbook?


I did not follow the instructions on this page - https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64/Installation/Networking as my wired connection was working on my live CD.
(I chose the 17.0/systemd profile - Not sure if relevant in this case)

Code:
/etc/conf.d/hostname
hostname="reik-msi"

Code:
/etc/conf.d/net
dns_domain_lo="homenetwork"


Installed net-misc/netifrc

Code:
/etc/conf.d/net
config_enp60s0="dhcp"


Jaglover wrote:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64/Installation/System#Automatically_start_networking_at_boot


I set it up like this -
Code:
root #cd /etc/init.d
root #ln -s net.lo net.enp60s0
root #rc-update add net.enp60s0 default



Code:
/etc/hosts
127.0.0.1     reik-msi.homenetwork reik-msi localhost
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7139
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 5:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, no systemd here, I have no clue how it works. Perhaps someone else can chime in.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reikdas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 5:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ping 0.0.0.0 works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7139
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can always bring up networking by hand as described here: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64/Installation/Networking#Using_ifconfig_and_route
It won't survive reboot, obviously.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reikdas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
You can always bring up networking by hand as described here: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64/Installation/Networking#Using_ifconfig_and_route
It won't survive reboot, obviously.


If it does not survive reboot, that is not a solution :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7139
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

None of this helped?
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reikdas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Turns out, I did not have dhcpcd installed. (Thanks wuseman and catpig !)

But emerging dhcpcd did not solve the issue completely. On each reboot, I have to first run dhcpcd enp60s0 to start the network. Also, dhcpcd enp60s0 gives an error in the logs - Failed to set DNS configuration: unit dbus-org.freedesktop.resolve1.service not found.
Should I ignore this error message?
Is there any other way to resolve this than running a script with that line at boot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reikdas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I started using networkmanager and now everything is good. (Thanks sheep)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43437
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

reikdas,

There is but its systemd specific. You need to read up on how systemd starts services and do that for your network service.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum