Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Move gentoo on new hardware.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
netoperek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Feb 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 9:32 am    Post subject: Move gentoo on new hardware. Reply with quote

Hi,

I've got only first drive(Soft RAID 1) of damaged server. I need to boot gentoo from that drive and convert it to ESXi. Right now booting stops on kernel load. I'm newbie in gentoo, thats why I asking for help.

Any instructions will be helpful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43059
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

netoperek,

Welcome to Gentoo.
Please don't cross post.

You will need to make a copy of the Gentoo install then move the copy to ESXi.
As you cannot copy a running install, due to all the open files, you either need a snapshot, as provided by LVM or a few filesystems or you need to boot somehow else, so that Gentoo is not running.

You mentioned Soft RAID 1. There is another way to create a snapshot.
Replace the faulty drive in the raid and allow it to sync.
Shutdown and remove one drive. There is your snapshot.

There is another minor complication if the server uses legacy BIOS to boot. A part of the boot loader is installed outside of any filesystem so must be copied separately.

Do you have physical access to this broken server or do we have to do everything remotely?
Remote working on a broken server adds to the challenge.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
netoperek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Feb 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon thanks for replay.

Boot mode is UEFI.
I've got access to the same hardware to run server back on the same components. When It's done, I think the simply way is to use vmware Converter Standalone to do P2V migration.

In next week I'll have physical access to the same hardware.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43059
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

netoperek,

UEFI means that everything you need is in the filesystem. That makes it easier.

What error do you get on boot?
Probably a Kernel Painic ... What is the English text after that?

If it used to boot and doesn't now, something changed, that usually a bad sign.
Your raid should work in degraded mode. Maybe it has been and nobody noticed, now the last drive has failed too?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
netoperek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Feb 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2019 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On the same hardware system boot up with degraded Raid1 state.
I cloned(sector_by_sector) this drive to new one. On old HDD system booting on cloned doesn't. In fstab and grub.cfg UUID and mduuid are used. Maby this is the reason?
Boot stops on RAM disk loading.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43059
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2019 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

netoperek,

Provided you cloned the entire drive and not the partitions, the two are effectively identical.
If the new drive in bigger that the original driver, thats OK. You will have some space at the end that cannot be used.

If its smaller, that's a problem.

Ah ... UEFI.
That means you have a GPT disklable. GPT keeps two copies of the partition table, one at the start and one at the end of the drive.
Unless your new drive is an identical size to the old one, the partition table copy at the end of the drive won't be there.
That should not stop booting but the kernel won't be happy.

Are you sure the copy is complete and it didn't stop for a read error?

The message about RAM disk loading comes from the boot loader, before Linux starts.

Are you attempting to boot the clone drive in the original server using the same SATA port as the original drive?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
netoperek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Feb 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2019 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cloned drive is bigger. 1TB to 2TB. Copy was made by Acronis TruImage 2017. I'll try to do that witch DD next time. Unfortunately I don't have second exactly the same HDD. I'm booting on the same port and bios configuration. I need add in BIOS UEFI boot /EFI/boot/grubx64.efi.
I think I'll try clone again with dd/clonezilla.

Update:

clonezilla did the job. Now on new Hard disks system starts without problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
netoperek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Feb 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2019 9:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello again,

after succesful copy of disk I was trying to convert P2V. Unsuccessful, Vmware converter stops on error "Destination does not support EFI firmware"
So I've made VM witch to similar size disks, and restore on them images made from working hard drives. Right now I've stop on booting. I think the problem is SATA mode. On phisycal machine SATA mode was set to "IDE" not "AHCI". Booting stops on Loading RAM drive. I can boot from rescueCD. What should I do to make this machine bootable?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum