Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Cannot Update New Gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

when I reinstalled my system I chose the default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop profile to see if it would help fix my errors.
Although, my goal is to install KDE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7553
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 12:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge -C links
emerge wgetpaste
emerge portage

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge -C links
:
Quote:
--- Couldn't find 'links' to unmerge.

I still can't install anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just rebooted and noticed that "cronie" didn't start when the system was loading. Would that effect my system?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7553
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 12:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

not significantly
Code:
rc-update show
cronie in a level?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7553
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 12:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

taking it to an extreme, from the chroot
Code:
eselect profile set default/linux/amd64/13.0
emerge -1 portage tee /p
emerge -avuND world tee /w
if that works, great, if not, exit the chroot, run
Code:
wgetpaste -s gists /mnt/gentoo/var/lib/portage/world
wgetpaste -s gists /mnt/gentoo/p
wgetpaste -s gists /mnt/gentoo/w
post urls

IMHO, there is no reason for emerge world to want to emerge links.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
wgetpaste -s gists /etc/portage/make.conf

https://gist.github.com/d58774ea7d2b1c6cce82
Code:
emerge -1 portage tee /p

Quote:
!!! '/p' is not claimed by any package.
... done!

Code:
emerge -avuND world tee /w

Quote:
!!! '/w' is not claimed by any package.
... done!


Code:
emerge --info | wgetpaste -s gists

https://gist.github.com/7b5a90b792d6cd41e5d4

Code:
eselect profile list | wgetpaste -s gists

https://gist.github.com/8eff5b8ea2712b2e9f8f

Code:
emerge -pvuND world | wgetpaste -s gists

https://gist.github.com/09b70d770712fb2a2b7f
Code:
rc-update

http://dpaste.com/04ZMAWZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7553
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 2:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
env-update && source /etc/profile
emerge -1 portage
emerge -uND world
still problems?

sorry shudda been:
emerge -1 portage | tee /p
emerge -avuND world | tee /w
don't bother now.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7553
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BTW: typo in /etc/portage/make.conf: should be INPUT_DEVICES="evdev" not INPUT_DEVICES="endev"
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for catching that type-o. I fixed it. It now reads
Quote:
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev"

While being chrooted.
Code:
env-update && source /etc/profile

Quote:
(chroot) livecd / # env-update && source /etc/profile
>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
livecd / #

Code:
emerge -1 portage

Quote:
>>> Installing (1 of 1) sys-apps/portage-2.2.8-r1
* Running preinst sanity tests...
testBashSyntax (portage.tests.lint.test_bash_syntax.BashSyntaxTestCase) ... ok
testCompileModules (portage.tests.lint.test_compile_modules.CompileModulesTestCase) ... ok
testImportModules (portage.tests.lint.test_import_modules.ImportModulesTestCase) ... ok

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Ran 3 tests in 1.179s

OK
>>> Auto-cleaning packages...

>>> No outdated packages were found on your system.

* GNU info directory index is up-to-date.

* IMPORTANT: 5 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
* Use eselect news to read news items.

Code:
emerge -uND world

Quote:
livecd / # emerge -uND world

* IMPORTANT: 5 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
* Use eselect news to read news items.

Calculating dependencies... done!
>>> Auto-cleaning packages...

>>> No outdated packages were found on your system.


Should I try to reboot into my system now and see if that fixed it?


Last edited by Tefrem34 on Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:16 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7553
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge -1 ncurses

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge -1 ncurses

end results
Quote:
* QA Notice: Package triggers severe warnings which indicate that it
* may exhibit random runtime failures.
* /var/tmp/portage/sys-libs/ncurses-5.9-r3/work/ncurses-5.9/ncurses/base/lib_getch.c:177:19: warning: array subscript is below array bounds [-Warray-bounds]
* /var/tmp/portage/sys-libs/ncurses-5.9-r3/work/ncurses-5.9/ncurses/base/lib_getch.c:177:19: warning: array subscript is below array bounds [-Warray-bounds]
* /var/tmp/portage/sys-libs/ncurses-5.9-r3/work/ncurses-5.9/ncurses/base/lib_getch.c:177:19: warning: array subscript is below array bounds [-Warray-bounds]
* /var/tmp/portage/sys-libs/ncurses-5.9-r3/work/ncurses-5.9/ncurses/base/lib_getch.c:177:19: warning: array subscript is below array bounds [-Warray-bounds]

* Please do not file a Gentoo bug and instead report the above QA
* issues directly to the upstream developers of this software.
* Homepage: http://www.gnu.org/software/ncurses/ http://dickey.his.com/ncurses/

>>> Installing (1 of 1) sys-libs/ncurses-5.9-r3
>>> Auto-cleaning packages...

>>> No outdated packages were found on your system.

* GNU info directory index is up-to-date.

* IMPORTANT: 5 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
* Use eselect news to read news items.

livecd / #
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7553
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

remove gpm entry from /etc/portage/package.mask and
Code:
emerge gpm

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is what is in
Code:
/etc/portage/package.mask

Quote:
sys-libs/gpm

Do I need to delete the gpm at the end, or the whole line?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7553
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

whole line
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok
Code:
(chroot) livecd /# emerge gpm

Quote:
>>> Installing (1 of 1) sys-libs/gpm-1.20.7-r2

>>> Recording sys-libs/gpm in "world" favorites file...
>>> Auto-cleaning packages...

>>> No outdated packages were found on your system.

* Regenerating GNU info directory index...
* Processed 83 info files.

* IMPORTANT: 5 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
* Use eselect news to read news items.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7553
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge gentoolkit
eselect profile set default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop
env-update && source /etc/profile
emerge -pvuND world | wgetpaste



:oops: profile not kernel
_________________
Defund the FCC.


Last edited by DONAHUE on Thu Sep 18, 2014 4:43 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
eselect kernel set default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop

Quote:
(chroot) livecd / # eselect kernel set default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop
!!! Error: Target "default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop" doesn't appear to be valid!
exiting


for my
Code:
 eselect profile list
I have
Quote:
default/linux/amd64/13.0
. Do I need to change that to
Quote:
default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop
?

Because when I
Code:
eselect kernel list
I got
Quote:
Available kernel symlink targets:
[1] linux-3.14.14-gentoo


So did you meen to do
Code:
eselect profile set default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge -pvuND world | wgetpaste -s gists

https://gist.github.com/c87c33223374286f8ed3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7553
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 4:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge -uND world
go for it
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am running the
Code:
emerge -uND world
will it apply to my installed system with me being chrooted into it?

I am just curious, is this a broken portage issue?
I was looking at this link:http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/portage/doc/manually-fixing-portage.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7553
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 4:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

running in the chroot is the same as running in the system itself - except you are using the kernel and devices of the parent (livemedia) system to make changes in the chroot system
nice find! http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/portage/doc/manually-fixing-portage.xml
I'm still baffled -- hoping we blunder through
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7553
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 4:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

next
Code:
eselect profile set default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/kde
env-update && source /etc/profile
emerge -avuND world | wgetpaste
if no problems go for it
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

More than likely, once I get this fixed and running I will be doing other Gentoo installations, and I would like to have it figure out so it won't be that much trouble next time round.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7553
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 5:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if the kde profile also updates a path becomes known, but why you could not start with the kde profile at the point where the handbook tells you to select a profile and proceed without problems will remain unknown at least to me (more a plumber than a theorist).
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 3 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum