Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Connecting other HD to sata causing root problems.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Zelt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jul 2014
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 12:15 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Connecting other HD to sata causing root problems. Reply with quote

Before installing on a SSD I disconnected all HD from the sata port.
Installation was successful.

I decided to plug in all(2) hd back to their SATA ports.

Boot order is #1 SSD

Upon boot I get the following message

Code:
>> Determining root device...
!! Block device /dev/sda4 is not a valid root device...
!! Could not find the root block device in .
!! Please specify another value or:
!! - press Enter for the same
!! - type "shell" for a shell
!! - type "q" to skip...
root block device() ::


Trying q returns

Code:
** Skipping step, this will likely cause a boot failure
>> Mounting as root...
BusyBox v1.20.2 ...
Useage: readlink FILE
Display the value of a symlink

>> Using mount -t auto -o ro
mount: can't find /newroot in /etc/fstab
...


Trying Enter returns the same message over and over with "type "q" for... type "shell" for..."
_________________
k.


Last edited by Zelt on Sun Sep 21, 2014 4:29 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eborg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Sep 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Help me understand what you have. You have SSD as your #1, and #2 and #3 are your previous two HDD's? If you remove your 2 HDD's, then #1 SSD still boots fine? But adding the other 2 drives as #2 and #3 give you that error?

Those messages appear to be from your initramfs. So your #1 SSD is booting (though you have 2 attached HDD's?), and yet your SSD's initramfs is unable to pivot to a valid root partition? Or does it work fine when only that SSD is attached by itself?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the sata ports should be marked on the motherboard and in the motherboard manual. sata1 usually gets named /dev/sda , sata2 usually gets named /dev/sdb, sata3 usually gets named /dev/sdc, et cetera if all sockets are connected. more accurately the drives are named as they are discovered; the search is conducted, usually, from sata1 to sata6.
at
Quote:
root block device() ::
(prompt in your post) try entering /dev/sd<b,c,d,e, or f>4

if that fails
usually if the sdd is plugged into sata port 1 it will be identified as /dev/sda, as you are having problems now after plugging two other drives it is likely that the kernel has assigned a different drive name to the sdd and one of the hdd has assumed the name /dev/sda.I believe you have windows on the hard drive that used to be plugged into sata1. That is the best situation if you wish to have windows. when you get the grub menu you can type e to enter edit mode. then down arrow to the kernel line where you can change root=/dev/sda4 to root=/dev/sdb4 or root=/dev/sdc4 or root=/dev/sdd4 or root=/dev/sde4 or root=/dev/sdf4. the sata ports should be marked on the motherboard and in the motherboard manual. sata1 usually gets named /dev/sda , sata2 usually gets named /dev/sdb, sata3 usually gets named /dev/sdc, et cetera
at grub menu:
press e to edit
note an index of available commands at bottom of screen
down arrow to kernel line
press e to edit kernel line
change /dev/sda4 to /dev/sd<b,c,d,e, or f>4
enter to save the change
press b to boot
if necessary repeat using another choice at root block device() :: prompt, try /dev/sd<b,c,d,e, or f>4

when you discover the new name of your root partition change /boot/grub/grub.conf to match
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creaker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have initramfs in use you might specify root partition by UUID or by LABEL. In this case does not matter which port your root device is connected. Grub will search for your root by unique UUID or LABLE.

Added:
You can boot into LiveCD, chroot into your Gentoo installation and reconfigure Grub with taking your hard drives in account.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zelt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jul 2014
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

root block device() :: /dev/sdc

worked.

then editing fstab and grub.conf file accordingly.

In future I might try the uuid, seems more stable, although it seems it may not be possible with ext4

Thanks for the help guys.
_________________
k.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43198
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zelt,

Use the PARTUUID. Its independent of filesystem and no initrd is needed.
PARTUUID has been a feature of GPT for a long time and was added to the MSDOS kernel code around 3.8.
blkid will tell you your PARTUUIDs

The filesystem UUIDs work with ext4 too but you need an initrd to use the filesystem UUID to mount root as you need the userspace mount tool.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zelt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jul 2014
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 1:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Zelt,

Use the PARTUUID. Its independent of filesystem and no initrd is needed.
PARTUUID has been a feature of GPT for a long time and was added to the MSDOS kernel code around 3.8.
blkid will tell you your PARTUUIDs

The filesystem UUIDs work with ext4 too but you need an initrd to use the filesystem UUID to mount root as you need the userspace mount tool.


Excellent, this seems a much better fix, tomoI will try it.

Thanks alot
_________________
k.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum