Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Booting without initramfs
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
WoldemarShiPa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2014
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2014 6:32 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Booting without initramfs Reply with quote

I'm trying to boot gentoo without initramfs at all. I have separate /boot only. Recompiling kernel (make, make install) and grub.cfg generation seems to be OK. I use default 10_linux grub.d file. So, there is no initramfs file in /boot after all. Reboot then uname shows me kernel I used before recompilation. Why? If I use genkernel with initramfs generation, new kernel boots properly. But I don't want to use genkernel

Last edited by WoldemarShiPa on Fri Sep 26, 2014 7:43 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2587

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2014 6:50 am    Post subject: Re: Booting without initramfs Reply with quote

Is your newly compiled kernel on top of the list?
You can check on Grub boot prompt, the third line ... that place where you select which kernel to boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WoldemarShiPa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2014
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2014 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I removed old kernel. New kernel have the same name, I just removed *.old files. After rebooting I see that modify time of vmlinuz file the is time of new kernel compilation. But uname -a shows compilation time of previous kernel. There is only one kernel in /boot (latest).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WoldemarShiPa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2014
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2014 7:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. It's grub-related issue. I changed new kernel's name to gentoo2 (last one is gentoo1). Generated grub.cfg (grub2-mkconfig), saw gentoo2 in /boot/grub/grub.cfg. But after reboot when press 'e' during grub entry selection I see gentoo1! Still looking for ways to fix it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WoldemarShiPa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2014
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2014 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My bad, just running grub2-install /dev/sda fixed problem. Thanks for cooperation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum