Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No internet connection at install
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2014 7:04 am    Post subject: No internet connection at install Reply with quote

I am trying to install Gentoo from the Install-x86-minimal-iso.
The hdd has three partitions:
sda1 = Lubuntu
sda3 = Mint
sda4 = Empty and waiting to install Gentoo

I fail at the first hurdle with the error message:

start-stop-daemon: /sbin/dhcpcd is already running
Failed to start dhcpcd
ERROR: dhcpcd failed to start
ERROR: cannot start netmount as dhcpcd would not start
Starting local

I tried:

net-setup eth0
(Selected from GUI - "Use DHCP to auto-detect my network settings")
dhcpcd[11700]: sending commands to master dhcpcd process
(Nothing happens, it hangs at this point. There is no flashing cursor)
(If I type ifconfig, I get a report that suggests that the network card is working)
ping -c 3 www.gentoo.org
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2000ms

The process seems to have added 13 extra options to my bootup screen for "Mint Recovery".
So I guess its trying to install something on sda3.

How can I install from where I am now to sda4 and give an option in the boot menu for Gentoo?

description: Motherboard
product: MS-7211
vendor: MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
physical id: 0
version: 4.1
*-firmware
description: BIOS
vendor: Phoenix Technologies, LTD
physical id: 0
version: 6.00 PG
date: 07/24/2006
size: 128KiB
capacity: 448KiB

description: CPU
product: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz
vendor: Intel Corp.
physical id: 4
bus info: cpu@0
version: 15.4.9
slot: Socket 775
size: 2800MHz
width: 64 bits
clock: 133MHz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2613

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2014 8:38 am    Post subject: Re: No internet connection at install Reply with quote

catchpole wrote:
I am trying to install Gentoo from the Install-x86-minimal-iso.
The hdd has three partitions:
sda1 = Lubuntu
sda3 = Mint
sda4 = Empty and waiting to install Gentoo
In case Lubuntu / Mint were fully functional Linux installations including functional netwark access, there's no need using an Install-something.
Just boot either of Lubuntu or Mint, create the mount points /mnt/gentoo and /mnt/gentoo/boot and startover from section 4.f. of Gentoo Handbook.
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=4#doc_chap6
Then the new installation will go to sda4.

Regarding the items in your boot menu, this depends on which boot manager you have. It's the same boot manager for all your sda1, sda3, sda4 partitions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roman_Gruber
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 3806
Location: Austro Bavaria

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Basically correct but bear in mind when you have a 32 mint installed you wont be able to install 64 bit gentoo (i had some issues in the past).
So I would check that.

if you have a working gnu linux installation you can chroot from there and beginn the installation if both are 32 bit or both are 64 bit. you can also edit the bootloader of the other gnu linux so you dont need to bother with installing grub. just add another line.

the commands for chroot and mounting proc ... and so on are a bit different but you will sure figure it out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2014 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi charles17

I forgot to mention that I'm a newbie to the command line and that's why I'm installing Gentoo to learn more.

The extra items in the boot menu were nothing to do with Gentoo and are just kernel upgrades.

When I tried
Code:
sudo /mnt/gentoo
and
Code:
sudo /mnt/gentoo/boot

I get an error "command not found"

I don't know how to create a mount point or where to put it. Do I put it in the fstab? if so how do I do that.
I've been reading around but I can't figure it out yet.

Hi tw04l124,

My other Linux distro's are 32 bit so I will want to install Gentoo as 32 bit if a 64 bit will cause a problem.
How can I ensure that it will be a 32 bit system that's installed?

How do I chroot from an installed distro to the sda4 partition where I want to install Gentoo?

Thanks to both of you.
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB


Last edited by catchpole on Sun Sep 28, 2014 2:18 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43192
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2014 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

catchpole,

Welcome to Gentoo.

/mnt/gentoo is a mount point and must exist.
Code:
sudo mkdir -p /mnt/gentoo
will create it, if you don't already have it.
Ignore the error message if you do.

You will not need /mnt/gentoo/boot at this stage as you are doing a single partition install.

The next step is
Code:
sudo mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/gentoo
provided you have already made a filesystem on /dev/sda4
Continue by fetching a stage3 to /mnt/gentoo and untaring it there.
The handbook covers fetching the stage3
For a 32 bit install, you need the tarball wint i686 it its name. For a 64 bit install, you need the amd64 stage3 tarball - even for an Intel CPU.

If your existing installs are 32 bit, you cannot use them to install 64 bit Gentoo because their kernels cannot support the 64 bit code in you budding Gentoo install.
For a 64 bit install, start with System Rescue CD and choose a 64 bit kernel when it boots.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2014 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks NeddySeagoon,

I've done those steps.
Now I'll try and untar stage3.

Before I go ahead, I need to know weather I can ensure that I install a 32 bit system as mentioned by tw04l124.

EDIT:
I've just read the last bit again on how to get the 64bit system.
I missed it first time round!!
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am trying to install Gentoo from the Install-x86-minimal-iso.
The hdd has three partitions:
sda1 = Lubuntu
sda3 = Mint
sda4 = Empty and waiting to install Gentoo
sda2 = Extended, containing sda5 swap

The computer normally starts in sda3 Linux Mint. I can't find a way to install stage 3 from Mint to sda4.
I've got /mnt/gentoo on sda3 but I want to be in sda4.
I managed to get a directory "mychroot" on sda4 somehow but when I try to chroot to it, it says its not a directory! (I used mkdir and it showed up with a D prefix when I did an ls -al)

When I boot from the live CD, I get an error - dhcpcd failed to start. It says that its already running.
I managed to get to some mirrors with links but I couldn't get it to download anything and I can't remember what I did.

how can be sure that the install will go to sda4.
I don't seem to be able to find a way to know where I am from the live CD. I think I'll download stage 3 to sda3 and see if I can install it from there.


I've done all the things mentioned by previous advisers.

I'm not giving up yet but I'm getting close.
I knew it wouldn't be easy for a newbie with the extra problem of wanting it on sda4.
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43192
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

catchpole,

When you boot Mint, it will use /dev/sda3 as its root.
Making /mnt/gentoo there and subseqently doing mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/gentoo tells Mint that /mnt/gentoo is actually /dev/sda4, which is where you want to install your Gentoo,
When you dowload the stage3 to /mnt/gentoo it actually goes into /dev/sda4.

You can check this. Do tho above steps then do
Code:
cd
ls /mnt/gentoo
df
umount /mnt/gentoo
ls /mnt/gentoo
df


The first ls will show the stage3 file, the second will show an empty /mnt/gentoo because /dev/sda4 is no longer attached there.
mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/gentoo will bring it back again and allow you to continue with the Gentoo install.
The first df will show /dev/sda4 mounted at /mnt/gentoo, the second one will not.

*NIX puts everything into a single filesystem tree. Different partitions on the same drive, different partitions on different drives, even different partitions on different drives on different machines. This is what the mount command does. umount undoes it.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for that NeddySeagoon,

I got the stage 3 to /mnt/gentoo but when I tried to untar it (tar xvjpf stage3-i686-20140902.tar.bz2) I got "Permission denied".

Do I need to change the permissions of the stage 3 file, or the permissions of /mnt/gentoo, or something else?

I am very frustrated by my lack of knowledge but its the only way to learn. Sorry for being such a pain.
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43192
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

catchpole,

/mnt/gentoo belongs to root so you need to be root to run
Code:
tar xvjpf stage3-i686-20140902.tar.bz2
inside /mnt/gentoo
If you are not root, you need to prefix the command with sudo.

All the commands you will execute to install Gentoo need to be run as the root user.

If you are an IRC user, join #gentoo at irc.freenode.net, you will be amoung friends there.
Just ask - if someone can answer they will, if they need more information, they will tell you what to do to provide it.

-- edit --

The p in tar xvjpf means to preserve permissions. Many of the files that you will extract belong to root. Without the p your stage3 won't work later, when yur chroot into it and have Gentoo running on top of the services and kernel provided by Mint.
When you eventually reboot into Gentoo, this will be your Gentoo root filesystem.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry I made such a stupid mistake, I should have known better.
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum