Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] cant login as any user to fedora
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
e3k
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Oct 2007
Posts: 355
Location: Inner Space

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 7:22 pm    Post subject: [solved] cant login as any user to fedora Reply with quote

i have one old machine here that was not maintained for long time. first i thought that i forgot the passwords but now i think that is more complicated than that.
i have root when i start it with rw init=/bin/bash in grub. but when i change the password with pwd i still cant login as root or as the normal desktop user.

i also set the root account with no password (manualy in /etc/shadow or with the passwd -d command) still no success when hitting enter during the log in.

what else should i check?
_________________
((O.o))


Last edited by e3k on Sun Oct 05, 2014 8:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creaker
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2012
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just shot in the dark: do you have enough free space at your partition? It may cause such a problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
e3k
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Oct 2007
Posts: 355
Location: Inner Space

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have just deleted a folder with one music album. nothing changed. i suppose an album is enough to get the login run in that case...
---
it was a selinux issue this did the trick:
Code:
touch /.autorelabel

_________________
((O.o))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7059

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you should check the "omg keyboard layout" effect :D

as entering it in azerty and when in real env keyboard is set as qwerty.
the most easier way to check is entering the password instead of the user to make sure what you type is what will be sent. (of course you need to kill anyone next to your screen when doing that).
or use a stupid password that couldn't be alter by layout (like ttttttttt)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
e3k
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Oct 2007
Posts: 355
Location: Inner Space

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

krinn wrote:
you should check the "omg keyboard layout" effect :D

as entering it in azerty and when in real env keyboard is set as qwerty.
the most easier way to check is entering the password instead of the user to make sure what you type is what will be sent. (of course you need to kill anyone next to your screen when doing that).
or use a stupid password that couldn't be alter by layout (like ttttttttt)

i tried 12345678. and the type pwd into username is well known to me ;) i work on a multilingual env always therefore i know of all the obstacles.
this issue is fixed now. thank you all for your help.
_________________
((O.o))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 1742

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and what that issue/solution actually was?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
e3k
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Oct 2007
Posts: 355
Location: Inner Space

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

e3k wrote:

it was a selinux issue this did the trick:
Code:
touch /.autorelabel

and /sbin/reboot -f
_________________
((O.o))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum