Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Help with Wireless Printing - CUPS
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 9:44 pm    Post subject: Help with Wireless Printing - CUPS Reply with quote

I've installed CUPS and the first problem I ran into was that I couldn't connect to localhost (http://localhost:631/)
:cry: :?
I also have a Brother MFC-J435w printer, which isn't in the list of supported devices in CUPS.
How do I get it working?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roman_Gruber
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 3806
Location: Austro Bavaria

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Output of this please
Code:
localhost roman # rc-update show|grep cupsd
                cupsd |      default 


if not in the default runlevel add it there with rc-update add cupsd default, than /etc/init.d/cupsd start

have you checked the gentoo docs / gentoo wiki about cups?

have you checked the web if anyone got your printer to work in any gnu-linux?

have you checked brothers homepage for a linux pld file for cups?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 12:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tw04l124 wrote:
Output of this please
Code:
localhost roman # rc-update show|grep cupsd
                cupsd |      default 

if not in the default runlevel add it there with rc-update add cupsd default, than /etc/init.d/cupsd start
have you checked the gentoo docs / gentoo wiki about cups?
have you checked the web if anyone got your printer to work in any gnu-linux?
have you checked brothers homepage for a linux pld file for cups?

Code:
#rc-update show | grep cupsd
                cupsd |      default

I did look around on the linuxprinting website, gentoo wiki on printing and the gentoo forums.
But most of them seemed to have no problem getting onto localhost.
It was like that for me before. But now, it stopped working :/
I tried changing my kernel a little with no success.
I did see .rpm and .deb files available for my printer but
I'm not too familiar with installing programs/drivers from .rpm .deb .tar.gz .tar.bz2 :oops: as Gentoo is my first Linux distribution :oops:
-spoiled by portage :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, is your cups control panel working again? If so...

I have an mfc430w, and had a crappy ebuild for it. I have adapted it and it should work for the 435w, but it's untested.

First, make sure you have properly configured a local overlay. If you haven't done that yet (if you don't know, you probably haven't) all you need to do is this: mkdir /usr/local/portage, then edit /etc/portage/make.conf and add PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage" to the end.

If you have enabled layman make sure that it's "source" line stays the last one (if you have no idea about this just skip it).

After that, do this:

Edited: unless you are in the testing branch, you will probably need to add a line like this to your /etc/portage/package.keywords to be able to emerge the package:

Code:
net-print/brother-mfc-j435w-drivers ~amd64


//

Code:
$ cd /usr/local/portage
$ wget http://www.jesgue.es/downloads/brother-overlay-20141007.tar.bz2
$ tar xf brother-overlay-20141007.tar.bz2
$ emerge -va brother-mfc-j435w-drivers


The driver should install, and it should appear in the web frontend.

The package also contains ebuilds for brscan4 (which you probably also want) and brscan3 (for the dcp315 and older models).

These drivers allow for wifi scanning and printing, in case you are wondering.

Last but not least: I strongly advise setting a fixed IP for your printer, this will make things much simpler. Once that is done, you can add your printer from the cups frontend by simply using a path like: socket://192.168.1.129:9100 (adjust to your chosen IP). Network autodetection has never worked for me, probably because I just can't bother with stuff like Avahi and Zeroconf. Your mileage may vary.

I wrote this in a rush and the ebuild is, as said, untested. So if everything seems to fail just complain back and I'll try to do my best. :lol:
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i92guboj wrote:
So, is your cups control panel working again? If so...

I have an mfc430w, and had a crappy ebuild for it. I have adapted it and it should work for the 435w, but it's untested.

I'm sorry. I lost u at cups control panel :oops: :lol:
cups has a gui?
I always used the webui thingy :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's what I use as well.

Some distros offer crappy control panels in the traditional sense, but they all suck.

Sorry to have caused confussion.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i92guboj wrote:
That's what I use as well.

Some distros offer crappy control panels in the traditional sense, but they all suck.

Sorry to have caused confussion.

its alright. But I can't seem to be able to connect to the webui :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 6:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, then you need to fix that first.

So, you can't reach the web frontend by using this link, can you?

http://localhost:631

Is cupsd running at all?

Code:
$ ps aux|grep cupsd


If it is, did you change the port?

Code:
$ grep -i listen /etc/cups/cupsd.conf


Or maybe you disabled the web thing altogether:

Code:
$ grep -i webint /etc/cups/cupsd.conf


What's the output of

Code:
$ emerge -pv cups


Other things that could interfere are iptables or selinux.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
$ ps aux | grep cupsd
root      2581  0.0  0.1  37708  4092 ?        Ss   07:27   0:00 /usr/sbin/cupsd -C /etc/cups/cupsd.conf
shana    27361  0.0  0.0  10828  2196 pts/0    S+   07:29   0:00 grep --colour=auto cupsd

Code:
$ sudo grep -i listen /etc/cups/cupsd.conf
Password:
# Only listen for connections from the local machine
Listen localhost:631
Listen /run/cups/cups.sock

Code:
$ sudo grep -i webint /etc/cups/cupsd.conf
WebInterface Yes

Code:
$ emerge -pv cups

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies  ... ... done!
[ebuild   R    ] net-print/cups-1.7.5  USE="acl dbus threads -X -debug -gnutls -java -kerberos -lprng-compat -pam -python (-selinux) -ssl -static-libs -systemd -usb -xinetd -zeroconf" ABI_X86="(64) (-32) (-x32)" LINGUAS="ja -ca -es -fr -it -pt_BR -ru" PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python2_7" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7" 0 kB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 kB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, that seems ok.

So, what happens if you click this?

http://localhost:631

Any error? A blank page? :?:
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i92guboj wrote:
Ok, that seems ok.

So, what happens if you click this?

http://localhost:631

Any error? A blank page? :?:

On chromium, it says this webpage is not available.
[More] [Reload]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post the whole contents of /etc/cups/cupsd.conf and also the output of "ifconfig"?
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2014 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i92guboj wrote:
Can you post the whole contents of /etc/cups/cupsd.conf and also the output of "ifconfig"?

Code:
$ sudo nano -w /etc/cups/cupsd.conf
#
# "$Id: cupsd.conf.in 11025 2013-06-07 01:00:33Z msweet $"
#
# Sample configuration file for the CUPS scheduler.  See "man cupsd.conf" for a
# complete description of this file.
#

# Log general information in error_log - change "warn" to "debug"
# for troubleshooting...
LogLevel warn

# Only listen for connections from the local machine.
Listen localhost:631
Listen /run/cups/cups.sock

# Show shared printers on the local network.
Browsing On
BrowseLocalProtocols

# Default authentication type, when authentication is required...
DefaultAuthType Basic

# Web interface setting...
WebInterface Yes

# Restrict access to the server...
<Location />
  Order allow,deny
</Location>

# Restrict access to the admin pages...
<Location /admin>
  Order allow,deny
</Location>

# Restrict access to configuration files...
<Location /admin/conf>
  AuthType Default
  Require user @SYSTEM
  Order allow,deny
</Location>

# Set the default printer/job policies...
<Policy default>
  # Job/subscription privacy...
  JobPrivateAccess default
  JobPrivateValues default
  SubscriptionPrivateAccess default
  SubscriptionPrivateValues default

  # Job-related operations must be done by the owner or an administrator...
  <Limit Create-Job Print-Job Print-URI Validate-Job>
    Order deny,allow
  </Limit>

  <Limit Send-Document Send-URI Hold-Job Release-Job Restart-Job Purge-Jobs Set-Job-Attributes Create-Job-Subscription Renew-Subscription Cancel-Subscription Get-Notifications Reprocess-Job Cancel-Current-Job Suspend-Current-Job Resume-Job Cancel-My-Jobs Close-Job CUPS-Move-Job CUPS-Get-Document>
    Require user @OWNER @SYSTEM
    Order deny,allow
  </Limit>

  # All administration operations require an administrator to authenticate...
  <Limit CUPS-Add-Modify-Printer CUPS-Delete-Printer CUPS-Add-Modify-Class CUPS-Delete-Class CUPS-Set-Default CUPS-Get-Devices>
    AuthType Default
    Require user @SYSTEM
    Order deny,allow
  </Limit>

  # All printer operations require a printer operator to authenticate...
  <Limit Pause-Printer Resume-Printer Enable-Printer Disable-Printer Pause-Printer-After-Current-Job Hold-New-Jobs Release-Held-New-Jobs Deactivate-Printer Activate-Printer Restart-Printer Shutdown-Printer Startup-Printer Promote-Job Schedule-Job-After Cancel-Jobs CUPS-Accept-Jobs CUPS-Reject-Jobs>
    AuthType Default
    Require user @SYSTEM
    Order deny,allow
  </Limit>

  # Only the owner or an administrator can cancel or authenticate a job...
  <Limit Cancel-Job CUPS-Authenticate-Job>
    Require user @OWNER @SYSTEM
    Order deny,allow
  </Limit>

  <Limit All>
    Order deny,allow
  </Limit>
</Policy>

# Set the authenticated printer/job policies...
<Policy authenticated>
  # Job/subscription privacy...
  JobPrivateAccess default
  JobPrivateValues default
  SubscriptionPrivateAccess default
  SubscriptionPrivateValues default

  # Job-related operations must be done by the owner or an administrator...
  <Limit Create-Job Print-Job Print-URI Validate-Job>
    AuthType Default
    Order deny,allow
  </Limit>

  <Limit Send-Document Send-URI Hold-Job Release-Job Restart-Job Purge-Jobs Set-Job-Attributes Create-Job-Subscription Renew-Subscription Cancel-Subscription Get-Notifications Reprocess-Job Cancel-Current-Job Suspend-Current-Job Resume-Job Cancel-My-Jobs Close-Job CUPS-Move-Job CUPS-Get-Document>
    AuthType Default
    Require user @OWNER @SYSTEM
    Order deny,allow
  </Limit>

  # All administration operations require an administrator to authenticate...
  <Limit CUPS-Add-Modify-Printer CUPS-Delete-Printer CUPS-Add-Modify-Class CUPS-Delete-Class CUPS-Set-Default>
    AuthType Default
    Require user @SYSTEM
    Order deny,allow
  </Limit>

  # All printer operations require a printer operator to authenticate...
  <Limit Pause-Printer Resume-Printer Enable-Printer Disable-Printer Pause-Printer-After-Current-Job Hold-New-Jobs Release-Held-New-Jobs Deactivate-Printer Activate-Printer Restart-Printer Shutdown-Printer Startup-Printer Promote-Job Schedule-Job-After Cancel-Jobs CUPS-Accept-Jobs CUPS-Reject-Jobs>
    AuthType Default
    Require user @SYSTEM
    Order deny,allow
  </Limit>

  # Only the owner or an administrator can cancel or authenticate a job...
  <Limit Cancel-Job CUPS-Authenticate-Job>
    AuthType Default
    Require user @OWNER @SYSTEM
    Order deny,allow
  </Limit>

  <Limit All>
    Order deny,allow
  </Limit>
</Policy>

#
# End of "$Id: cupsd.conf.in 11025 2013-06-07 01:00:33Z msweet $".
#

Code:
lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        loop  txqueuelen 0  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

wlan0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.56.103  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.56.255
        ether 78:e4:00:43:d3:5e  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 199366  bytes 282938606 (269.8 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 409  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 130209  bytes 14201057 (13.5 MiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

I discovered that as a user, I couldn't read cupsd.conf.
So I changed the permissions so "others" can read it.
But still no luck ):
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2014 6:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does it work if you use this?

http://192.168.56.103:631

Also, does this command work?

Code:
$ ping 192.168.56.103


And this?

Code:
ls -l /run/cups/cups.sock

_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2014 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i92guboj wrote:
Does it work if you use this?

http://192.168.56.103:631

Also, does this command work?

Code:
$ ping 192.168.56.103


And this?

Code:
ls -l /run/cups/cups.sock

The Link does not work ):
Code:
$ ping 192.156.68.103
PING 192.168.56.103 (192.168.56.103) 56(84) bytes of data.
From 192.168.56.105: icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.56.105: icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.56.105: icmp_seq=3 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.56.105: icmp_seq=4 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.56.105: icmp_seq=5 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.56.105: icmp_seq=6 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.56.105: icmp_seq=7 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.56.105: icmp_seq=8 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.56.105: icmp_seq=9 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.56.105: icmp_seq=10 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.56.105: icmp_seq=11 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.56.105: icmp_seq=12 Destination Host Unreachable

--- 192.168.56.103 ping statistics ---
13 packets transmitted, 0 received, +12 errors, 100% packet loss, time 12002ms
pipe 4
Code:
ls -l /run/cups/cups.sock
srwxrwxrwx 1 root root 0 Oct 9 18:31 /run/cups/cups.sock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2014 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems your ip changes between sessions. Now it ends in 105 so what happens if you try to use that?
http://192.168.56.105:631
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i92guboj wrote:
It seems your ip changes between sessions. Now it ends in 105 so what happens if you try to use that?
http://192.168.56.105:631

This Webpage is not available
details [Reload]
:/
However. when i do a $ping 192.168.56.105
Code:
$ping 192.168.56.105
PING 192.168.56.105 (192.168.56.105) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.56.105: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.044 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.56.105: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.074 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.56.105: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.053 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.56.105: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.068 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.56.105: icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=0.080 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.56.105: icmp_seq=6 ttl=64 time=0.062 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.56.105: icmp_seq=7 ttl=64 time=0.060 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.56.105: icmp_seq=8 ttl=64 time=0.068 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.56.105: icmp_seq=9 ttl=64 time=0.070 ms

--- 192.168.56.105 ping statistics ---
9 packets transmitted, 9 received, 0% packet loss, time 8000ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.044/0.064/0.080/0.012 ms
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just wanted to discard name resolution issues.

So, the cups embedded web server is completely broken or something odd is happening here.

Just to make sure, did you set up any iptables script or some other firewall solution?

If you use some iptables based thing you can check the active rules with iptables -L
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i92guboj wrote:
I just wanted to discard name resolution issues.

So, the cups embedded web server is completely broken or something odd is happening here.

Just to make sure, did you set up any iptables script or some other firewall solution?

If you use some iptables based thing you can check the active rules with iptables -L

I have not set up any iptables or firewall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I guess it's time to look at the cups logs. They are under /var/log/cups I believe. I am not in front of my computer. Try to find them there. Maybe we can find a tip about what's going on here.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i92guboj wrote:
Well, I guess it's time to look at the cups logs. They are under /var/log/cups I believe. I am not in front of my computer. Try to find them there. Maybe we can find a tip about what's going on here.

Inside /var/log/cups/ are 3 files --> access_log error_log page_log
access_log and page_log have nothing inside it.
error_log has this:
Code:
E [28/Sep/2014:09:50:52 -0400] Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:631 - Address family not supported by protocol.
E [01/Oct/2014:22:25:22 -0400] Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:631 - Address family not supported by protocol.
E [02/Oct/2014:16:20:59 -0400] Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:631 - Address family not supported by protocol.
E [02/Oct/2014:18:29:38 -0400] Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:631 - Address family not supported by protocol.
E [02/Oct/2014:22:07:06 -0400] Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:631 - Address family not supported by protocol.
E [02/Oct/2014:22:49:42 -0400] Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:631 - Address family not supported by protocol.
E [04/Oct/2014:07:34:02 -0400] Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:631 - Address family not supported by protocol.
E [04/Oct/2014:07:36:06 -0400] Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:631 - Address family not supported by protocol.
E [06/Oct/2014:19:40:46 -0400] Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:631 - Address family not supported by protocol.
E [06/Oct/2014:19:55:09 -0400] Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:631 - Address family not supported by protocol.
E [07/Oct/2014:12:00:21 -0400] Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:631 - Address family not supported by protocol.
E [07/Oct/2014:15:14:29 -0400] Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:631 - Address family not supported by protocol.
E [07/Oct/2014:15:20:40 -0400] Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:631 - Address family not supported by protocol.
E [07/Oct/2014:15:35:52 -0400] Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:631 - Address family not supported by protocol.
E [07/Oct/2014:20:24:36 -0400] Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:631 - Address family not supported by protocol.
E [08/Oct/2014:07:27:19 -0400] Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:631 - Address family not supported by protocol.
E [08/Oct/2014:08:14:15 -0400] Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:631 - Address family not supported by protocol.
E [08/Oct/2014:15:19:22 -0400] Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:631 - Address family not supported by protocol.
E [08/Oct/2014:19:45:38 -0400] Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:631 - Address family not supported by protocol.
E [08/Oct/2014:20:51:37 -0400] Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:631 - Address family not supported by protocol.
E [09/Oct/2014:18:31:03 -0400] Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:631 - Address family not supported by protocol.
E [09/Oct/2014:19:19:35 -0400] Unable to open listen socket for address [v1.::1]:631 - Address family not supported by protocol.

I'm guessing I need to compile some option(s) into the kernel?
Not sure what though :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2014 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mmmm, now that's something, finally :lol:

I have never seen this before, but this:

Code:
::1


Is a local ipv6 IP, so I think this crap relates to ipv6. Maybe your ebuilds are compiled with the ipv6 USE flag on but you haven't ipv6 support in your kernel? It's under networkking support->networking options->the ipv6 support

One more thing, do you have that alias in your /etc/hosts files? It should look something like this:

Code:
127.0.0.1 localhost
::1 localhost


Not sure why it would interfere with accessing via IP though. But give it a try.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2014 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i92guboj wrote:
Mmmm, now that's something, finally :lol:

I have never seen this before, but this:

Code:
::1


Is a local ipv6 IP, so I think this crap relates to ipv6. Maybe your ebuilds are compiled with the ipv6 USE flag on but you haven't ipv6 support in your kernel? It's under networkking support->networking options->the ipv6 support

One more thing, do you have that alias in your /etc/hosts files? It should look something like this:

Code:
127.0.0.1 localhost
::1 localhost


Not sure why it would interfere with accessing via IP though. But give it a try.

Okay I changed my localhost to above^^^
Cups didn't have an ipv6 use flag :/
I enabled acl dbus threads ssl X pam and re-emerged it
I also compiled ipv6 into my kernel.
And the webui seems to be working now :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2014 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, that was hard :lol:

I am glad that it's working. I suspect that it was enabling ipv6 in the kernel which did it, since I have acl disabled in cups and it doesn't make any sense that it or X or ssl would cause it, but anyway... it doesn't really matter.

So, now, if you wish, rewind and go back to my first post in the thread. There I describe how to install the drivers for your printer and scanner. As said in that post, I don't have the same exact model so I can't test the modified ebuild, but I might be able to help on getting it to work if you want.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2014 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i92guboj wrote:
So, is your cups control panel working again? If so...

I have an mfc430w, and had a crappy ebuild for it. I have adapted it and it should work for the 435w, but it's untested.

First, make sure you have properly configured a local overlay. If you haven't done that yet (if you don't know, you probably haven't) all you need to do is this: mkdir /usr/local/portage, then edit /etc/portage/make.conf and add PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage" to the end.

If you have enabled layman make sure that it's "source" line stays the last one (if you have no idea about this just skip it).

After that, do this:

Edited: unless you are in the testing branch, you will probably need to add a line like this to your /etc/portage/package.keywords to be able to emerge the package:

Code:
net-print/brother-mfc-j435w-drivers ~amd64


//

Code:
$ cd /usr/local/portage
$ wget http://www.jesgue.es/downloads/brother-overlay-20141007.tar.bz2
$ tar xf brother-overlay-20141007.tar.bz2
$ emerge -va brother-mfc-j435w-drivers


The driver should install, and it should appear in the web frontend.

The package also contains ebuilds for brscan4 (which you probably also want) and brscan3 (for the dcp315 and older models).

These drivers allow for wifi scanning and printing, in case you are wondering.

Last but not least: I strongly advise setting a fixed IP for your printer, this will make things much simpler. Once that is done, you can add your printer from the cups frontend by simply using a path like: socket://192.168.1.129:9100 (adjust to your chosen IP). Network autodetection has never worked for me, probably because I just can't bother with stuff like Avahi and Zeroconf. Your mileage may vary.

I wrote this in a rush and the ebuild is, as said, untested. So if everything seems to fail just complain back and I'll try to do my best. :lol:

When I did # emerge -va brother-mfc-j435w-drivers it told me there are no ebuilds to satisfy it
Also I am using layman but not sure what you meant by the source line. :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum