Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Samsung Tools fails to start.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 683
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 4:33 am    Post subject: Samsung Tools fails to start. Reply with quote

I am getting the following errors on boot.

Quote:
185: * ERROR: samsung-tools failed to start

Quote:
270: * ERROR: samsung-tools failed to star


samsung-tools is in my rc as "boot".

rc.log can be found here:

Code:
$ cat /var/log/rc.log  |wgetpaste
Your paste can be seen here:[url] https://bpaste.net/show/ec13558e5164[/url]


Thanks.


Last edited by Budoka on Fri Oct 24, 2014 3:01 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What run level is dbus in? The usual location, if I have it right is default runlevel, samsung tools needs dbus, boot is before default. As all samsung-tools does is start/stop bluetooth and wireless suggest move samsung-tools to default runlevel. the /etc/init.d/samsung-tools script seems rudimentary and probably returns an error vice going to a wait.

niggling comments follow: putting a url inside code or quote tags turns it into plain text instead of a url in the display as shown below code vs quote vs no tags:
Code:
https://bpaste.net/show/ec13558e5164

Quote:
https://bpaste.net/show/ec13558e5164

https://bpaste.net/show/ec13558e5164

Putting the url inside url tags has no effect inside code tags; restores link ability (no underline displayed) inside quote tags; makes the url into a plaintext link to the url (no underline displayed) if not inside other tags.
Code:
[url]https://bpaste.net/show/ec13558e5164[/url]

Quote:
https://bpaste.net/show/ec13558e5164

https://bpaste.net/show/ec13558e5164
The url tag can be used to create meaningful plaintext that links to a gibberish url as in: my rc.log is posted here.
Which would look like
Code:
[url=https://bpaste.net/show/ec13558e5164]my rc.log is posted here.[/url]
when being typed in. Note the = replaces the ] and the ] moves to the end of the url and is followed by the plaintext.

Code:
cat /var/log/rc.log  |wgetpaste
can be replaced by
Code:
wgetpaste /var/log/rc.log

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 683
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2014 3:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
What run level is dbus in? The usual location, if I have it right is default runlevel, samsung tools needs dbus, boot is before default. As all samsung-tools does is start/stop bluetooth and wireless suggest move samsung-tools to default runlevel. the /etc/init.d/samsung-tools script seems rudimentary and probably returns an error vice going to a wait.

niggling comments follow: putting a url inside code or quote tags turns it into plain text instead of a url in the display as shown below code vs quote vs no tags:
Code:
https://bpaste.net/show/ec13558e5164

Quote:
https://bpaste.net/show/ec13558e5164

https://bpaste.net/show/ec13558e5164

Putting the url inside url tags has no effect inside code tags; restores link ability (no underline displayed) inside quote tags; makes the url into a plaintext link to the url (no underline displayed) if not inside other tags.
Code:
[url]https://bpaste.net/show/ec13558e5164[/url]

Quote:
https://bpaste.net/show/ec13558e5164

https://bpaste.net/show/ec13558e5164
The url tag can be used to create meaningful plaintext that links to a gibberish url as in: my rc.log is posted here.
Which would look like
Code:
[url=https://bpaste.net/show/ec13558e5164]my rc.log is posted here.[/url]
when being typed in. Note the = replaces the ] and the ] moves to the end of the url and is followed by the plaintext.

Code:
cat /var/log/rc.log  |wgetpaste
can be replaced by
Code:
wgetpaste /var/log/rc.log


dbus is in default. For some reason I can't change samsung-tools from boot to default. If I try to do it with eselect rc it just kicks back

Quote:
Adding samsung-tools to following runlevels
default [skipped]


It won't let me delete from runlevels either so I uninstalled Samsung-Tools, removed from runlevels, re-emerged and the behaviour is the same. Any idea what is going on?

I also can't launch the Samsung Tools preferences dialogue. It crashes.

If all samsung-tools does is start/stop Bluetooth and wireless do I really need it at all? I never had a problem with either of those without it. I was trying to use it because I thought it also handled some ACPI stuff and more importantly thought I could control Function keys and keyboard back-light etc with it as well. Currently neither work fully.

Comments about syntax in posts noted. Thanks. I wasn't ware of that. I was only doing it that way for readability...or so I thought.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2014 3:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used:
fx8150 ~ # rc-update del samsung-tools boot
* service samsung-tools removed from runlevel boot
fx8150 ~ # rc-update add samsung-tools default
* service samsung-tools added to runlevel default
But I do not have a samsung laptop

If rc-update also fails, what happens if after boot to cli and login as root you run
Code:
/etc/init.d/samsung-tools restart


further examination of /etc/samsung-tools/*.conf files and the ebuild and the distfile package shows it should do many of the things you were looking for
Quote:
I was trying to use it because I thought it also handled some ACPI stuff and more importantly thought I could control Function keys and keyboard back-light etc with it as well. Currently neither work fully.

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 683
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
I used:
fx8150 ~ # rc-update del samsung-tools boot
* service samsung-tools removed from runlevel boot
fx8150 ~ # rc-update add samsung-tools default
* service samsung-tools added to runlevel default
But I do not have a samsung laptop

If rc-update also fails, what happens if after boot to cli and login as root you run
Code:
/etc/init.d/samsung-tools restart


further examination of /etc/samsung-tools/*.conf files and the ebuild and the distfile package shows it should do many of the things you were looking for
Quote:
I was trying to use it because I thought it also handled some ACPI stuff and more importantly thought I could control Function keys and keyboard back-light etc with it as well. Currently neither work fully.


OK. rc-update did the trick adding it to the "default" runlevel. Not sure why eselect can't do it. Should I report it as a bug?

However, if I execute
Code:
/etc/init.d/samsung-tools restart
it kicks out the following error:

Quote:
# /etc/init.d/samsung-tools restart
* Setting up samsung-tools ...
Error org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.Spawn.ChildExited: Launch helper exited with unknown return code 1 [ !! ]
* ERROR: samsung-tools failed to start


This is the same error I was seeing in the rc.log from the get go. I've googled the error but can't really find anything specific. However, if I look for just
Quote:
launch helper exited with unknown return code 1
I see an occasional post but all related to systemd which makes me nervous as my box is systemd'less.

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try
Code:
eselect python set python2_7
PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python2_7" emerge samsung-tools
env-update
source /etc/profile
/etc/init.d/samsung-tools restart


There is a newer version of samsung-tools at https://launchpad.net/samsung-tools -> 2.31 released on 2014-05-07 -> however no gentoo maintainer/developer is currently assigned to samsung-tools. Want to volunteer?
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=484034
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=475798
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 12:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This appears (no samsung laptop here) to work to get the newest version installed:
Code:
emerge --deselect samsung-tools
cp /usr/portage/app-laptop/samsung-tools/samsung-tools-2.1.ebuild /usr/portage/app-laptop/samsung-tools/samsung-tools-2.3.1.ebuild
ebuild /usr/portage/app-laptop/samsung-tools/samsung-tools-2.3.1.ebuild manifest
eselect python set python2_7
PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python2_7" emerge -1 samsung-tools
/etc/init.d/samsung-tools restart
a reboot may be a better test than restart
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 683
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 3:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
This appears (no samsung laptop here) to work to get the newest version installed:
Code:
emerge --deselect samsung-tools
cp /usr/portage/app-laptop/samsung-tools/samsung-tools-2.1.ebuild /usr/portage/app-laptop/samsung-tools/samsung-tools-2.3.1.ebuild
ebuild /usr/portage/app-laptop/samsung-tools/samsung-tools-2.3.1.ebuild manifest
eselect python set python2_7
PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python2_7" emerge -1 samsung-tools
/etc/init.d/samsung-tools restart
a reboot may be a better test than restart


That did it! I love this forum.

I only have one question. Since I set python to 2.7 (It was 3.3), do I need to worry that it will create problems for other packages that may be looking for 3.3?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 683
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 3:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
Try
Code:
eselect python set python2_7
PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python2_7" emerge samsung-tools
env-update
source /etc/profile
/etc/init.d/samsung-tools restart


There is a newer version of samsung-tools at https://launchpad.net/samsung-tools -> 2.31 released on 2014-05-07 -> however no gentoo maintainer/developer is currently assigned to samsung-tools. Want to volunteer?
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=484034
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=475798


Actually I would be willing to do that if not much overhead involved. I actually run a Samsung box so have to deal with it anyway.

How do I "volunteer"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 5:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I only have one question. Since I set python to 2.7 (It was 3.3), do I need to worry that it will create problems for other packages that may be looking for 3.3? A package can specify a python single target, multiple targets, or just python. Now that it is known to work, you can invoke 2.7 by adding 'app-laptop/samsung-tools PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7" ' to /etc/portage/package.use and then eselect python set python3.3 . The problem may have resulted from the samsung-tools-2.1.ebuild that you had predating python-3.3. The original version of samsung-tools-2.1 apparently specified "python" with no version specified . The Randolph Maaßen 2013-11-01 18:37:14 UTC comment on Bug 484034 was probably incorporated into samsung-tools-2.1.ebuild without a version bump.

How to volunteer
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 683
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 5:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
I only have one question. Since I set python to 2.7 (It was 3.3), do I need to worry that it will create problems for other packages that may be looking for 3.3? A package can specify a python single target, multiple targets, or just python. Now that it is known to work, you can invoke 2.7 by adding 'app-laptop/samsung-tools PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7" ' to /etc/portage/package.use and then eselect python set python3.3 . The problem may have resulted from the samsung-tools-2.1.ebuild that you had predating python-3.3. The original version of samsung-tools-2.1 apparently specified "python" with no version specified . The Randolph Maaßen 2013-11-01 18:37:14 UTC comment on Bug 484034 was probably incorporated into samsung-tools-2.1.ebuild without a version bump.

How to volunteer


Excellent. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 683
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2014 3:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
This appears (no samsung laptop here) to work to get the newest version installed:
Code:
emerge --deselect samsung-tools
cp /usr/portage/app-laptop/samsung-tools/samsung-tools-2.1.ebuild /usr/portage/app-laptop/samsung-tools/samsung-tools-2.3.1.ebuild
ebuild /usr/portage/app-laptop/samsung-tools/samsung-tools-2.3.1.ebuild manifest
eselect python set python2_7
PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python2_7" emerge -1 samsung-tools
/etc/init.d/samsung-tools restart
a reboot may be a better test than restart


Quick question. How do I keep
Code:
emerge --depclean
from wanting to dump samsung-tools now that I bumped up a version? I added
Code:
=app-laptop/samsung-tools-2.3.1
to package.accept_keywords but it still wants to un-emerge it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2014 3:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try
Code:
emerge --noreplace =app-laptop/samsung-tools-2.3.1
for shortform, never tried it might work
or
Code:
echo <app-laptop/samsung-tools-2.3.1 >> /etc/portage/package.mask
never tried it might work for this purpose
or
persuade a gentoo dev to add your work to the sunrise overlay (you as maintainer) and then add sunrise to your overlays with layman
or
build your own local overlay
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum