Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[partially resolved] Kernel Unable to Change Framebuffer
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jwacalex
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Apr 2014
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 9:03 pm    Post subject: [partially resolved] Kernel Unable to Change Framebuffer Reply with quote

Hi,
i'm using the 3.14.14-gentoo with an i7-4790K. the bios is configured to use all possible graphiccards (cpu internal and PCIe). so there is one GeForce GTX 760 (where the screen is connected to) and one GeForce GTX 280. You can find my kernel configuration here.

Problem description:
If i boot the System, the framebuffer/whatever doesn't sync the screen.

it is plain black or there is the defaultz "linux is loading" message from grub. i can connect to my system via ssh or login by keyboard. using the "i915.modeset=0" or "nofb" boot option doesn't change the behaviour.

you can find the dmesg here

thank you for your answer :)


Last edited by jwacalex on Thu Oct 23, 2014 2:15 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 2613

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 6:56 am    Post subject: Re: Kernel Unable to Change Framebuffer Reply with quote

Not sure, but that problem sounds similar to mine https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1000108-highlight-.html which seems to be specific for the 3.14 kernel.
Have you tested with 3.12 or 3.16 / 3.17?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roman_Gruber
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 3806
Location: Austro Bavaria

PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well i recommend you use the latest gentoo-sources in the tree, the unstable ones, with latest nvidia-drivers.

if it is some mixture of internal and external graphic board you may check the gentoo wiki about it, there hsould be an explanation on how to set it up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwacalex
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Apr 2014
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for your answers. i've updated to 3.17.1-gentoo-r1 but the problem exists.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43182
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jwacalex,

Code:
CONFIG_DRM_I915=y
CONFIG_DRM_I915_KMS=y
CONFIG_DRM_I915_FBDEV=y
is correct for the Intel on board framebuffer. It will do nothiny for the nVidia cards.

You also have
Code:
CONFIG_VGA_CONSOLE=y
which will provide a VGA console (not framebuffer) console on any of your graphics cards.
However, the kernel prefers a framebuffer over VGA, so with the kernel settings above, you mill only get console output from your built in Intel graphics.

For testing, its good to have # CONFIG_LOGO is not set on and to choose a colour logo.
The logo will only be drawn in a framebuffer.

As you can ssh in, you dmesg output woruld be useful.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwacalex
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Apr 2014
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
thanks for your answer. dmesg is uploaded.

i'll deactivate the intelframebuffer in kernel, but the problem still exists
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43182
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jwacalex,

dmesg:
[    0.361540] Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 128x48
[    0.362428] i915 0000:00:02.0: fb0: inteldrmfb frame buffer device


That shows that the Intel Framebuffer is being used. If there is no display connected there, you won't see anything on the console.

Which Xorg driver you you want to use?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwacalex
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Apr 2014
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,
here is the new dmesg without the intelfb but on the stable kernel. the problem still exists.

*update* i've conencted the screen to the intel card, but there is also no console

i'm planing to use the x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43182
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jwacalex,

It looks like the kernel starts off correctly, with the console on tty0.
Code:
[    0.000000] Console: colour dummy device 80x25
[    0.000000] console [tty0] enabled


then 300ms later, switches to the console over the network.
Code:
[    0.326573] console [netcon0] enabled
[    0.326574] netconsole: network logging started

Thats only useful if its set up any you have something listening for the console too.

Turn off
Code:
CONFIG_NETCONSOLE=y
with make.conf and rebuild your kernel.

You may be able to use vesafb with nvidia-drivers, for a framebuffer on one of the nVida cards but nvidia-drivers will tell you not to and the intel framebuffer wor't work then either.
When you turn off NETCONSOLE, you will only have VGA on tty0 left.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwacalex
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Apr 2014
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi NeddySeagoon,
thank you for your help so far.

NeddySeagoon wrote:
You may be able to use vesafb with nvidia-drivers, for a framebuffer on one of the nVida cards but nvidia-drivers will tell you not to and the intel framebuffer wor't work then either.

So you would suggest not to use the framebuffer so the vga console is duplicated on all screens?

I've deactivated the CONFIG_NETCONSOLE-option from the kernel and booted into it, but the problem still exists. I've uploaded the current config of the kernel and the corresponding dmesg log
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43182
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jwacalex,

That looks good. You will only get a cosole on a single display. It should be there somewhere.
Did you try connecting a display to all of your display outputs?

You may need to reboot to tes each time.

The console should appear on the graphics card selected as primary in the BIOS.
Thats normally the same screen as the BIOS display.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwacalex
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Apr 2014
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
yes, i've tried all outs of the cards.
the default card shows bios/grub and the "kernel is loading" message (see initial problem).
the other outputs are not activated (black screen / no signal).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43182
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jwacalex,

OK, lets reduce the problem space. Remove the two nvidia cards so you only have the built in Intel.
Your VGA console driver on tty0 should work like that. Does it?
If not, you have another problem.

-- edit --
The "kernel is loading" message is special - its written directly to the VGA graphics memory by the kernel.
Its output before console driver is started by the kernel.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwacalex
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Apr 2014
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
i've debugged the cards itself and in combination to the gentoo-minimal cd: each card itself and/or the the combination works. so i think the issue is my kernel configuration.

--update--
using genkernel (with "genkernel --clean --mrproper all") confirmed that it's an issue of the kernel configuration: the generated kernel works.

thank you all for your help. i'll post an update if i've found the issue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum