Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Hanging at initramfs in VirtualBox...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1397
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:29 pm    Post subject: Hanging at initramfs in VirtualBox... Reply with quote

I have been working on a slight problem I have had since installing Gentoo in VBox under Debian Wheezy 64bit. Install went fine and I have a fairly simple layout, but now I cannot boot into the OS.

  • /dev/sda1 - BIOS
  • /dev/sda2 - /boot
  • /dev/sda3 - /var/log
  • /dev/sda4 - <swap>
  • /dev/sda5 - /usr
  • /dev/sda6 - /

I followed the x86_64 guide to the letter and did create the initramfs due to having a separate /usr partition. However, it gets to "Loading initramfs..." and hangs. I did search and tried several things (adapted to my situation) from other threads here, but cannot get booted. I used "-march=core2" since this system has a C2D in it. I also removed AMD settings from processor features in the kernel since I do not own an AMD processor. I have done that on my Debian OS as well, and have done so for years, so I doubt that is it.

So what should I look at first?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guitou
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 415
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, I guess fails mounting root part, most probably due to a missing required lib.
If you made a custom initramfs, see below, my files list (may contain useless files, but may also help you finding out what you missed, provided I guessed well)

Code:

# directory structure
dir /proc       755 0 0
dir /usr        755 0 0
dir /bin        755 0 0
dir /sys        755 0 0
dir /var        755 0 0
dir /lib        755 0 0
dir /lib64      755 0 0
dir /sbin       755 0 0
dir /mnt        755 0 0
dir /mnt/root   755 0 0
dir /etc        755 0 0
dir /root       700 0 0
dir /dev        755 0 0

# busybox
file /bin/busybox /bin/busybox 755 0 0

# libraries required by /sbin/fsck.ext4 and /sbin/fsck
file    /lib/ld-linux.so.2         /lib/ld-linux.so.2                  755 0 0
file    /lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2     /lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2         755 0 0
file    /lib64/libext2fs.so.2        /lib64/libext2fs.so.2               755 0 0
file    /lib64/libext2fs.so.2.4      /lib64/libext2fs.so.2.4             755 0 0
file    /lib64/libcom_err.so.2       /lib64/libcom_err.so.2              755 0 0
file    /lib64/libpthread.so.0       /lib64/libpthread.so.0              755 0 0
file    /lib64/libblkid.so.1         /lib64/libblkid.so.1                755 0 0
file    /lib64/libuuid.so.1          /lib64/libuuid.so.1                 755 0 0
file    /lib64/libe2p.so.2           /lib64/libe2p.so.2                  755 0 0
file    /lib64/libc.so.6             /lib64/libc.so.6                    755 0 0
file    /lib64/libmount.so.1         /lib64/libmount.so.1.1.0            755 0 0

file   /sbin/udevadm      /usr/bin/udevadm                    755 0 0
file    /sbin/fsck              /sbin/fsck                          755 0 0
file    /sbin/fsck.ext2         /sbin/fsck.ext2                     755 0 0
file    /sbin/fsck.ext3         /sbin/fsck.ext3                     755 0 0
file    /sbin/fsck.ext4         /sbin/fsck.ext4                     755 0 0
#file    /sbin/fsck.vfat        /usr/sbin/fsck.vfat                 755 0 0

# our init script
file    /init                   /usr/src/initramfs/init             755 0 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1397
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Everything looks right. I followed the x86_64 guide to the letter (used my own partitioning scheme) and no go. DO I need to edit something with the initramfs to make it mount my partitions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1397
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have done this several times over and I still cannot get past the initramfs. Is there something I have to configure to tell the initramfs what partitions to mount? I have never had to do this before and do not know how. It always just worked on Debian, RH (back in the day RH, not the current one), Slack, Ubuntu, or the others I played with. I must be missing something but I do not know what.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum