Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Boot process hangs on Soekris NET4801 [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mamac
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 890

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:03 pm    Post subject: Boot process hangs on Soekris NET4801 [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hi,

Re-installing Gentoo on this platform because I haven't upgraded it for more than two years... :-/

Grub boots and loads the kernel but hangs after this line:

Code:

Loading Linux 3.16.5-gentoo ...


I uncommented serial console in inittab so I can follow boot via console.

Any idea how I can get more debug information?

Thank you
_________________
Powered by Gentoo Linux since 2003


Last edited by mamac on Thu Nov 20, 2014 10:21 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7133
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 12:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not sure if I was seeing a similar problem but recently had issues booting an AMD SC520 in a router board on recent kernels, hanging in a similar spot - bootloader gets kernel and initramfs loaded and then hangs.

I ended up starting configuring a new kernel from scratch on a real x86 machine and it started working... I guess my initial cross compile attempts were bad?

Then again I also used an older kernel, I think 3.12.13, and it booted... Haven't done an in-depth look in to why it hangs on the initial boot code.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7092
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are using i486 tarball? My 2¢.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7133
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 6:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh and I assume that kernel console was also set to the serial port as well? Something like console=ttyS0,9600 or something to that extent in the bootloader kernel command line?

I've found that the embedded Geode GX1 can run most common i686 instructions just fine, but the Elan SC520 cannot (486). But the SC520 appears to not like code from my x86_64 bit box alltogether even when set to produce x86. Not sure why yet...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mamac
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 890

PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I did the i486/i686 mistake once in 2011: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-902092-highlight-soekris.html ;-)

Now I downloaded the i486 release.

I forgot to append the tty settings to the kernel line, I will add them.

If the problem is still there I will make clean && make again to recompile the kernel and see if it works fine.

Thank you!
_________________
Powered by Gentoo Linux since 2003
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7133
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is weird, not sure what's going on here with my own system.

I have a Geode GX1 board with 256MB, and supposedly it's the same core as the SC1100 in the Net4801. But I'm able to use i686 binaries somehow. Not sure if it's SMM or something else that's translating i686 instructions - this machine is SLOW...

My glibc is using CHOST "i686-pc-linux-gnu" and CFLAGS is "-march=i686 -pipe -O2 -fno-strict-aliasing"

But the kernel does report as i586.

I likely will run into trouble down the road but for now it seems to work for some reason.
Code:
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : CyrixInstead
cpu family      : 5
model           : 9
model name      : Unknown
stepping        : 1
cpu MHz         : 266.660
fdiv_bug        : no
hlt_bug         : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 2
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu tsc msr cx8 cmov mmx cxmmx
bogomips        : 533.54
clflush size    : 32
cache_alignment : 32
address sizes   : 32 bits physical, 32 bits virtual
power management:


My Elan SC520 however, clearly will not do i686 binaries and have to use i486. Unless I specially prepare the kernel it tends to not even want to get past the Linux initialization code and prints nothing to the serial console.
Code:
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : AuthenticAMD
cpu family      : 4
model           : 9
model name      : 486 DX/4-WB
stepping        : 4
fdiv_bug        : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 1
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu
bogomips        : 59.64
clflush size    : 32
cache_alignment : 32
address sizes   : 32 bits physical, 32 bits virtual
power management:


Yes this machine is *so* slow that it's faster to unplug the CF card out and stick it in a reader, and run a i486 virtual machine on my i7 to emerge --update world, and yes it has a full Gentoo install on it! (I should look into a smaller libc... With 64MB RAM, every bit counts..)
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mamac
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 890

PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It has always been very slow to compile on my 4801, I always took the HD off and connect it to my computer for big updates.

I managed to go a bit further by add tty parameters in grub2.

edit /etc/default/grub
Code:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="console=tty0 console=ttyS0,38400n8"
GRUB_TERMINAL=serial
GRUB_SERIAL_COMMAND="serial --speed=38400 --unit=0 --word=8 --parity=no --stop=1"

Rebuild the grub.cfg file with following command:
Code:

# grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg


I have now a kernel panic because grub2 installation was done on /dev/sdb when the disk was mounted on my computer, I need to change to sda...
_________________
Powered by Gentoo Linux since 2003
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mamac
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 890

PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Having problem to find the correct kernel setup for the disk controller.
The driver is located in the ATA (deprecated) part and creates hda disk, which I assume is wrong.

Not sure how to set SC1200 ide driver with this new kernel...
_________________
Powered by Gentoo Linux since 2003
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7092
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Enable PATA_SC1200 in your kernel. Make sure all IDE stuff is turned off.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mamac
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 890

PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why wasn't I able to find the correct driver by myself ? ;-)

Thanks a lot, problem [SOLVED] :-)
_________________
Powered by Gentoo Linux since 2003
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7092
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 3:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are welcome!
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum