Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Grub2 GPT T420
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kpolucas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2014 1:34 am    Post subject: [Solved] Grub2 GPT T420 Reply with quote

Hi everyone

I have followed this guide
https://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-amd64.xml

With GPT
With this partition table
(only 1 disk, only 1 OS)
/dev/sda1 BIOS boot partition
/dev/sda2 Boot partition
/dev/sda3 Swap partition
/dev/sda4 Root partition
With grub2

This instalation process goes smoothly. But when i exit the chroot enviroment and reboot (removing the livecd), dont see the grub.
The system only restarts and restarts and restarts, so i dont know how to debug it

The notebook is a thinkpad t420

Sorry my poor english
thanks in advance
Lucas


Last edited by kpolucas on Wed Nov 26, 2014 3:17 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2014 6:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

UEFI is not involved?
check the bios boot priority - hard drive is enabled as first
boot the install media then run
Code:
parted -l | wgetpaste
and post the url returned
Code:
mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/sda2 /mnt/gentoo/boot
mount | wgetpaste
ls -l  /mnt/gentoo/boot | wgetpaste
ls -l  /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub | wgetpaste
wgetpaste /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/grub.cfg
and post the url's
_________________
Defund the FCC.


Last edited by DONAHUE on Tue Nov 25, 2014 3:18 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kpolucas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2014 2:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks DONAHUE

The boot priority from bios was fine

Here the files
parted
https://bpaste.net/show/6a44d4844345
mount
https://bpaste.net/show/42e2914730d0
boot and grub
https://bpaste.net/show/b8866ca22492
https://bpaste.net/show/b8a46e5d4e37

The grub was in /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub not in /mnt/gentoo/grub. Maybe this be the problem?
https://bpaste.net/show/f8efe6772bff

thanks again.
Lucas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2014 3:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
The grub was in /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub not in /mnt/gentoo/grub. Maybe this be the problem?
No. My typo. Corrected by edit above.
I see nothing wrong with what you have presented.
Check BIOS that neither Trusted Platform Module nor Secure Boot are enabled. I'd not expect secure boot if your BIOS does not have legacy mbr/uefi/both uefi and legacy mbr options.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kpolucas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2014 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I couldnt find nothing wrong in the bios configuration. So i reinstall with MBR instead of GPT.
Now works like a charm!

Thank you so much DONAHUE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum