Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] skype + apulse + USB-cam: which .asoundrc
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mv
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 6296

PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2014 6:01 pm    Post subject: [solved] skype + apulse + USB-cam: which .asoundrc Reply with quote

Hello,

previously skype + apulse worked for me just fine without any ~/.asoundrc:
For some reason the sound was "by accident" not read from my soundcard but from my USB-webcam - which is what I want.

Now suddenly the USB micro stopped working in skype, although the device numbers are still the same:

0: HDA Intel PCH [My main sound card; I cannot connect a micro to test]
2: pcsp [this is a beep emulation of the kernel]
3: USB device [this is my webcam where I want the sound to come from]
4: HDA Intel HDMI [No idea what is this]

I have no idea how to tell apulse which input device to use. Perhaps it is possible to write some ~/.asoundrc such that things work again?

Thanks in advance.

Edit: Just after posting this I found that apulse is bumped from 1.2 to 1.4: With 1.4 nothing works, not even sound output.


Last edited by mv on Wed Dec 03, 2014 1:12 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
v_andal
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 527
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, in my case it didn't work from the very beginning. If I run arecord -l I get following output

Quote:

**** List of CAPTURE Hardware Devices ****
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC662 rev3 Analog [ALC662 rev3 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 2: ALC662 rev3 Alt Analog [ALC662 rev3 Alt Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: U0x46d0x9a4 [USB Device 0x46d:0x9a4], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


So, the USB device is card 2. By default ALSA takes input from first element in the list, which is card 1. So I've created following /etc/asound.conf

Quote:

pcm.!default {
type asym
playback.pcm {
type plug
slave.pcm "dmix:CARD=1,RATE=48000"
}
capture.pcm {
type plug
slave.pcm "hw:2,0"
}
}


The playback part is configured this way to allow simultaneous use of sound device. My aplay -l provides following output

Quote:

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC662 rev3 Analog [ALC662 rev3 Analog]
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


So, the first card is HDMI output (it is used when PC is connected to TV). In my case I don't have TV, so I have to use card 1 for output.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mv
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 6296

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot: I modified your .asoundrc in the "capture" part to "hw:3,0" which seems to be the correct number due to my device display with alsactl.

With apulse-0.1.2-r2 it works now as desired.

With apulse-0.1.4 the sound output is broken (perhaps the input, too, but I cannot judge), no matter whether I use in playback.pcm CARD=1 or CARD=0 (both works for me with apulse-0.1.2-r2; I have no idea why).
It seems to me that apulse-0.1.4 is just broken for me...

If nobody has a suggestion concerning apulse-0.1.4, I will file a bug.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
v_andal
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 527
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've upgraded my apulse to version 0.1.4. Everything works fine. Well, I run it in 32-bit chroot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mv
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 6296

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

v_andal wrote:
I run it in 32-bit chroot.

Thanks. That was the crucial hint: apulse-0.1.4 changed the library paths, so skype does not find it automatically anymore, and running "apulse skype" uses the 64 bit libraries.

Solution: If you have a 64 bit system, either run
Code:
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib32/apulse skype
or run
Code:
i686-pc-linux-gnu-apulse skype
Only running "apulse skype" (or even omitting apulse) will not work on 64 bit with apulse-0.1.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum