Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
stuck at 'loading initial ramdisk'
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
newman555
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Dec 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 6:54 am    Post subject: stuck at 'loading initial ramdisk' Reply with quote

Hi,

I tried to install gentoo in a VMware player, following instructions provided in a amd64 handbook. Everything went fine during the installation, but after reboot, vm is stuck at 'loading initial ramdisk'.

This is the basic info about the installation:
- kernel version: 3.16.5
- grub2
- partitioning the same as the one described in the handbook
- release: stage3-amd64-20141127

Installing using the same steps on my laptop results in a fully functional system.

I would gladly try to troubleshoot this myself, but I don't have any idea where to start, so if someone can point me in the right direction, I'd be really grateful. If I missed some basic info that I need to provide, please tell me and I will.

Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 1747

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Initramfs is being loaded after kernel. So, your kernel loads fine, right?
Some typo in bootloader config? Maybe try it without initramfs or embed initramfs in kernel image?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newman555
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Dec 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

szatox wrote:
Initramfs is being loaded after kernel. So, your kernel loads fine, right?

Well I'm not really sure. How can I check? I tried adding some params to kernel line while booting, but all I get printed out is:
"Loading linux gentoo 3.16.5 ..."
"Loading initial ramdisk ..."

szatox wrote:
Some typo in bootloader config? Maybe try it without initramfs or embed initramfs in kernel image?

I generated grub.cfg with grub2-mkconfig, didn't edit anything. I did the whole installation twice in a vm and once(successfully) on my laptop. I tried removing initrd from the grub.cfg but I'm still stuck. Does this mean that actually kernel loading fails?

How can I get any debug output in this boot process?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43213
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

newman555,

The next line should be Decompressing Linux ....

That implies that grub in loading the kernel and initrd then it goes wrong.
Wild guesses
- the kernel load address in incorrect in the kernel.
- the kernel is made for the wrong CPU, so it gets an illegal instruction error before it can tell you about it. Then it just halts.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newman555
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Dec 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had to uncomment 'GRUB_TERMINAL=console' in order to see the boot process, I completely forgot about that. After doing that and generating new grub.cfg, I can see the problem: 'could not find the root block device'. Any ideas why this happens? I added 'rootfstype=ext4' to kernel line in grub.cfg, but that didn't help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43213
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

newman555,

It should have said unknown block(X,Y) too.
The numbers X and Y are useful.

Also boot your VMware player with a live distro. I have a fading memory that VMware player wants a strange SCSI device that is not in the Kernel SCSI menu.
Its there but in a menu on its own. MPT Fusion ... thats little mole that a guess.

Post the output from lspci, so we can see the hardware that VMware player shows to guest operating systems.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newman555
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Dec 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You pointed me in the right direction, so I looked and found this post: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-961502.html

After adding those configuration options, I no longer have a problem with missing root device, but my boot is now stuck at:
Code:
'Scanning for tg3 ... Switched to clocksource tsc'


lspci output:
Code:

livecd ~ # lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX Host bridge (rev 01)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX AGP bridge (rev 01)
00:07.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ISA (rev 08)
00:07.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE (rev 01)
00:07.3 Bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI (rev 08)
00:07.7 System peripheral: VMware Virtual Machine Communication Interface (rev 10)
00:0f.0 VGA compatible controller: VMware SVGA II Adapter
00:10.0 SCSI storage controller: LSI Logic / Symbios Logic 53c1030 PCI-X Fusion-MPT Dual Ultra320 SCSI (rev 01)
00:11.0 PCI bridge: VMware PCI bridge (rev 02)
00:15.0 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:15.1 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:15.2 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:15.3 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:15.4 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:15.5 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:15.6 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:15.7 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:16.0 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:16.1 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:16.2 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:16.3 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:16.4 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:16.5 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:16.6 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:16.7 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:17.0 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:17.1 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:17.2 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:17.3 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:17.4 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:17.5 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:17.6 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:17.7 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:18.0 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:18.1 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:18.2 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:18.3 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:18.4 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:18.5 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:18.6 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
00:18.7 PCI bridge: VMware PCI Express Root Port (rev 01)
02:00.0 USB controller: VMware USB1.1 UHCI Controller
02:01.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82545EM Gigabit Ethernet Controller (Copper) (rev 01)
02:02.0 Multimedia audio controller: Ensoniq ES1371 / Creative Labs CT2518 [AudioPCI-97] (rev 02)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum