Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
bumblebeed --daemon & Do I still need bumblebee?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Xywa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 1579
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/Europe

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2014 7:48 am    Post subject: bumblebeed --daemon & Do I still need bumblebee? Reply with quote

Hi,

For last ltime I used my laptop with Gentoo + Nvidia Optimus with bumblebee.

Before anything with nvidia I had to put a commnd as a root:
Code:
bumblebeed --daemon


1) My first question is, how to add this command, to run it automatically during the start?

2) I could not find this old wiki page (question above), but I found this:
http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/NVIDIA_Driver_with_Optimus_Laptops
Is it possible now to use optimus without bumlbebee? If yes, which option got better performance (I use primusrun for gaming).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 2273
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2014 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd advise this:
  • Install layman
  • add bumblebee overlay
  • install bumblebee and primus
  • add bumblebee to your default runlevel
  • start applications using primusrun or optirun
  • Take a look at the Arch Linux Bumblebee Guide
Works great for me. ;-)
_________________
Important German:
  1. "Aha" - German reaction to pretend that you are really interested while giving no f*ck.
  2. "Tja" - German reaction to the apocalypse, nuclear war, an alien invasion or no bread in the house.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 1579
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/Europe

PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2014 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yamakuzure wrote:
I'd advise this:
  • Install layman
  • add bumblebee overlay
  • install bumblebee and primus
  • add bumblebee to your default runlevel
  • start applications using primusrun or optirun
  • Take a look at the Arch Linux Bumblebee Guide
Works great for me. ;-)


I know that. I am asking about this point:
Quote:
add bumblebee to your default runlevel

so I don't have to put manualy:
Code:
bumblebeed --daemon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 2273
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xywa wrote:
I am asking about this point:
Quote:
add bumblebee to your default runlevel

so I don't have to put manualy:
Code:
bumblebeed --daemon
Exactly.
_________________
Important German:
  1. "Aha" - German reaction to pretend that you are really interested while giving no f*ck.
  2. "Tja" - German reaction to the apocalypse, nuclear war, an alien invasion or no bread in the house.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 1579
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/Europe

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yamakuzure wrote:
Xywa wrote:
I am asking about this point:
Quote:
add bumblebee to your default runlevel

so I don't have to put manualy:
Code:
bumblebeed --daemon
Exactly.


So how to add bumblebee (with --daemon option) to my default runlevel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 2273
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xywa wrote:
Yamakuzure wrote:
Xywa wrote:
I am asking about this point:
Quote:
add bumblebee to your default runlevel

so I don't have to put manualy:
Code:
bumblebeed --daemon
Exactly.


So how to add bumblebee (with --daemon option) to my default runlevel?
It is just a service in /etc/init.d :
Code:
 # rc-update add bumblebee default
It is always a daemon this way.
Code:
 ~ $ sudo rc-update show | grep bumb
            bumblebee | battery      default                         
sed@sed-notebook ~ $ ps -efa | grep bumb
root      6677     1  0 Dez05 ?        00:00:00 /usr/sbin/bumblebeed -D --use-syslog --pidfile /var/run/bumblebee.pid

_________________
Important German:
  1. "Aha" - German reaction to pretend that you are really interested while giving no f*ck.
  2. "Tja" - German reaction to the apocalypse, nuclear war, an alien invasion or no bread in the house.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 1579
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/Europe

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2014 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yamakuzure wrote:
It is just a service in /etc/init.d :
Code:
 # rc-update add bumblebee default
It is always a daemon this way.
Code:
 ~ $ sudo rc-update show | grep bumb
            bumblebee | battery      default                         
sed@sed-notebook ~ $ ps -efa | grep bumb
root      6677     1  0 Dez05 ?        00:00:00 /usr/sbin/bumblebeed -D --use-syslog --pidfile /var/run/bumblebee.pid


I knew it was something about this in wiki. Unfortunatley after
Code:
 # rc-update add bumblebee default

and after reboting the system doesn't start. I have to download rescue disc.

What I have during kernel start:
Quote:
* start-stop-daemon: /usr/bin/xdm does not exist
* ERROR: could not start the Dispaly Manager
* Starting VirtualIGL
xauth: file list do not exist
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 2273
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2014 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="Xywa"]What I have during kernel start:
Quote:
* start-stop-daemon: /usr/bin/xdm does not exist
* ERROR: could not start the Dispaly Manager
* Starting VirtualIGL
xauth: file list do not exist
/usr/bin/xdm is its own service and not bumblebee.

But you have /etc/init.d/vgl (from x11-misc/virtualgl) activated. This must be removed. Only let bumblebee start, not vgl.
_________________
Important German:
  1. "Aha" - German reaction to pretend that you are really interested while giving no f*ck.
  2. "Tja" - German reaction to the apocalypse, nuclear war, an alien invasion or no bread in the house.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum