Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
bootsplash with progress bar from LiveCD script
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ericfether
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 17
Location: Atlanta, GA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2003 3:56 pm    Post subject: bootsplash with progress bar from LiveCD script Reply with quote

Okay, there are several messages posted on how to get 'bootsplash' working with Gentoo....so I won't go into that here. What I will go into is a script I wrote that will (read "should") install bootsplash on your system and setup the splash screen from the LiveCD as well as setup the ever elusive Progress Bar.

Now, before the script...here's what's in it.

1. It will emerge 'bootsplash' version 0.6-r2. Now, be aware that this is a [Masked] application, and may cause problems with your system (read...it's unstable). I did run into problems updating 'transcode' after installing this app, and had to disable 'sandbox' in make.conf to get 'transcode' to install. So...use at your own risk.

2. It will insert 'bootsplash' in the rc script so the service will start automatically.

3. It will mount your cdrom drive (with the LiveCD in it) to a temporary directory in '/mnt', then copy the 'initd.1024' out of the '/linuxiso' directory to your '/boot' directory. This is the Ram Disk Image with the bootsplash image on it. The temp directory is then unmounted and deleted.

4. Instructions are then added to both '/etc/lilo.conf' and '/boot/grub/grub.conf' files. Edit the config file for whichever bootloader you use and follow the directions added to the end of those files. I've tested the 'lilo.conf' file, but not the 'grub.conf' file...so you may need to edit as necessary.

5. Now, 'bootsplash' needs to know how the boot progresses. In otherwords...a progress bar need to know the progress. This is done by echoing a value between 0 and 65534 into the '/proc/splash' file. I do this by adding values to some of the boot scripts found in '/etc/conf.d' directory. Edit as you will if you don't like what I did here.

6. Lastly, it tells you how to edit it your kernel so bootsplash works.

Hope this helps all those who've been struggling to get the progress bar working. Feel free to comment. I know it's a simple script...but it's easier than jumping all over the internet trying to find out how to get that stuborn progress bar working :)

Later,
Eric

Code:

#!/bin/bash
# bootsplash installer for gentoo
#
echo "First, we have to emerge bootplash"
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" emerge bootsplash
rc-update add bootsplash default

echo "Now we copy the graphic from the boot CD, which now"
echo "resides on my web site, and move it to '/boot'"
mkdir /mnt/bootsplash
mount `cat /etc/fstab | grep cdrom | awk '{print $1}'` /mnt/bootsplash
cp /mnt/bootsplash/isolinux/initrd.1024 /boot
umount /mnt/bootsplash
rmdir /mnt/bootsplash

echo "Now we're adding lines to /etc/lilo.conf and"
echo "/boot/grub/grub.conf  You must edit the file for"
echo "whichever bootloader you're using"

echo "#Move the vga line to the global settings and the rest" >> /etc/lilo.conf
echo "#to the kernel section of choice." >> /etc/lilo.conf
echo "#vga = 791" >> /etc/lilo.conf
echo "#append = video=vesa:ywrap,mttr splash=silent" >> /etc/lilo.conf
echo "#initrd=/boot/initrd.1024" >> /etc/lilo.conf

echo "# append the kernel line with the following --" >> /boot/grub/grub.conf
echo "# vga=791 video=vesa:ywrap,mttr splash=silent" >> /boot/grub/grub.conf
echo "#initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd.1024" >> /boot/grub/grub.conf

echo "Okay, on to the progress bar.  Basically, we have to"
echo "tell /proc/splash how the progress is going.  SO...."
echo "we tell it by setting a value in the /etc/conf.d/ files."

`echo 'echo "show 30000" > /proc/splash' >> /etc/conf.d/rc`
`echo 'echo "show 60000" > /proc/splash' >> /etc/conf.d/local.start`
`echo 'echo "show 35000" > /proc/splash' >> /etc/conf.d/metalog`
`echo 'echo "show 40000" > /proc/splash' >> /etc/conf.d/hdparm`
`echo 'echo "show 50000" > /proc/splash' >> /etc/conf.d/net`
`echo 'echo "show 55000" > /proc/splash' >> /etc/conf.d/xfs`

echo "Lastly, and most important...make sure you set the"
echo "following parameters in the kernel build --"
echo "Boot Devices -> RAM disk support = Y **NOT as a Module**"
echo "             -> (4096) Default RAM disk size"
echo "             -> Initial RAM disk initrd support = Y"
echo "Console Drivers -> Frame-buffer support --->"
echo "Support for frame buffer devices (EXPERIMENTAL) = Y"
echo "VESA VGA graphcs console = Y"
echo "User splash screen instead of boot logo = Y"
echo
echo "If Splash screen option not available, edit the"
echo ".config file and manually set this line --"
echo "CONFIG_FBCON_SPLASHSCREEN=y"
echo
echo "recompile and reboot.  It should work if you followed"
echo "directions."


Last edited by ericfether on Sun Nov 02, 2003 6:52 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hbmartin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Sep 2003
Posts: 386
Location: Home is where the boxen are

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2003 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't suppose this works with 2.6 now, does it?

Harold
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viperlin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 1317
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2003 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeh i've done that

font still looks crap and messy (over the top of the progress bar)


not much point though my comp asks for the password for a second harddrive (encrypted) so i only get to see it for a second )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pregopresto
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 May 2003
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2003 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!

I think there is an error in the script you posted here.

In the line where you wrote the

Code:
echo "#initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd.1024


you forgot the

Code:
 >> /boot/grub/grub.conf


at the end. You might want to correct that because if not it will give you error messages ;)

Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Whifflebat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 41
Location: Texas!

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2003 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm...ever since i did this, I have been getting

Code:
--------------------------- ACCESS VIOLATION SUMMARY ---------------------------
LOG FILE = "/tmp/sandbox-libexif-0.5.12-14706.log"

open_wr:   /proc/splash
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------



whenever i try to emerge something.


Contents of /proc/splash
Code:


Splash screen v3.0.7-2003/03/10 (0x07, 1024x768): on




What did i do wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dub.wav
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Apr 2003
Posts: 149
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2003 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A quick suggestion...If you put all the echo lines within a code block, you only need one >> line. :)
Code:

{
echo "#Move the vga line to the global settings and the rest"
echo "#to the kernel section of choice."
echo "#vga = 791"
echo "#append = video=vesa:ywrap,mttr splash=silent"
echo "#initrd=/boot/initrd.1024"
} >> /etc/lilo.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Loke
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2002
Posts: 274
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2003 3:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whifflebat wrote:
Hmm...ever since i did this, I have been getting

Code:
--------------------------- ACCESS VIOLATION SUMMARY ---------------------------
LOG FILE = "/tmp/sandbox-libexif-0.5.12-14706.log"

open_wr:   /proc/splash
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------



whenever i try to emerge something.


Contents of /proc/splash
Code:


Splash screen v3.0.7-2003/03/10 (0x07, 1024x768): on




What did i do wrong?



Remove the echo-lines for the rc-scripts. That isnt correct...
_________________
I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, I'm saying why don't we take the warning labels off of everything, and let the problem take care of itself?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atreillou
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Oct 2002
Posts: 257

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2003 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hbmartin wrote:
Don't suppose this works with 2.6 now, does it?

Harold
yes or no ????
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
janlaur
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jun 2003
Posts: 57
Location: Denmark, Århus

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2003 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As said in many other posts in this forum.
NO bootsplash does not work with 2.6.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GentooBox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 1168
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

janlaur wrote:
As said in many other posts in this forum.
NO bootsplash does not work with 2.6.


there is a patch somewhere that suppose to make bootsplash work in 2.6 kernel. - just google for it :)
_________________
Encrypt, lock up everything and duct tape the rest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crs
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Apr 2003
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2003 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, i have one problem with bootsplash.

I patch my 2.6.0-test9-gentoo sources (for 2.6.0-test9-bootsplash patch of course) ang when i boot/reboot/poweroff my computer get error. Hmm, this dont are errors, but is very frustated.

After few rc scripts i have info:

Code:

Usage: /sbin/splash logstring
       /sbin/splash -s [-u unit] -n [cfgfile]


In mode=silent dont work progress bar. It dont move...

What maybe wrong?

PS. Sorry for my English, im learning now. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kKDu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Aug 2003
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2003 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
copy the 'initd.1024' out of the '/linuxiso' directory to your '/boot' directory


The Live-CD is big and initd.1024 very small, so it would be nice, if someone put initd.1024 at the net to download it direct.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hbmartin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Sep 2003
Posts: 386
Location: Home is where the boxen are

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2003 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone have instructiosn for patching, getting scripts set up, etc. against 2.6?

Thanks,
Harold
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viperlin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 1317
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2003 1:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kKDu wrote:
Quote:
copy the 'initd.1024' out of the '/linuxiso' directory to your '/boot' directory


The Live-CD is big and initd.1024 very small, so it would be nice, if someone put initd.1024 at the net to download it direct.


i'm assuming the initrd is GPL :-)
my ISP has been very crap recently, went down for 4 hours today, hopefully nothing like that will effect it's download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2003 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe the sandbox problems are related to the blind echo in /etc/conf.d/rc. Perhaps something like the following might be warranted:
Code:
if [ -z "{$SANDBOX_ACTIVE}" ]
then
  echo "show 30000" > /proc/splash
fi

_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Beholders_Eye
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 116
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2003 6:12 pm    Post subject: problem with liveCD initrd Reply with quote

I've got hands on this pretty silent bootsplash image. But when I use it, it complains that it needs the LiveCD at the drive... :x

Does anyone run into this?

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ed1984
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jan 2004
Posts: 17
Location: Adelaide, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2004 3:31 am    Post subject: Re: problem with liveCD initrd Reply with quote

Beholders_Eye wrote:
I've got hands on this pretty silent bootsplash image. But when I use it, it complains that it needs the LiveCD at the drive... :x

Does anyone run into this?

cheers


yep.. I can't boot without the livecd in now.. :D ..works fine once booted though.. <sigh>

Problem 34 on my list of 1,000.. :D If I get around to fixing it I'll post.

.ed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redeeman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 957
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2004 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

isnt the image from the livecd available in a bigger resolution, like 1280x1024? i can make my own initrd, if just i get the image
_________________
Sandberg Enterprises
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gonzalo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 104
Location: CL

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2004 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, i'm wondering that too, i don't want to download the entire LiveCD just for that :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DottorFalken
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Nov 2003
Posts: 132
Location: Chiesina Uzzanese, Italy

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 11:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now my system have the 2.6.1 kernel with bootsplash and works correctly. :)
_________________
Pierluigi #315529
Proud of 3940.35 bogomips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viperlin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 1317
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 12:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

my bootsplash from the liveCD has the font messed up at the front still, it covers the top half of the progress bar, 1024x768 image and resolution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SiBBoR
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DottorFalken wrote:
Now my system have the 2.6.1 kernel with bootsplash and works correctly. :)
and you followed the step in this "guide" :)?
_________________
Gentoo @ Compaq Evo N1015v
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DottorFalken
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Nov 2003
Posts: 132
Location: Chiesina Uzzanese, Italy

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SiBBoR wrote:
DottorFalken wrote:
Now my system have the 2.6.1 kernel with bootsplash and works correctly. :)
and you followed the step in this "guide" :)?

No. I've followed the bootsplash site guide. :)
http://www.bootsplash.org/
_________________
Pierluigi #315529
Proud of 3940.35 bogomips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snekiepete
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 May 2003
Posts: 306
Location: WISCONSIN

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2004 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RAC

you little change was right on the money , thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sgeorg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2003
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2004 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!

is there a initrd.1280 out there!

so for vga=794 or 1280x1024, would like that!

Thanks
Georg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum