Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Kernel options for BCM4312?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1364
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2014 5:53 pm    Post subject: Kernel options for BCM4312? Reply with quote

I have a laptop I am working on installing Gentoo on, but have a strange case. I can see the wireless NIC in lspci, but not in the interfaces list. I built the options for it into my kernel and installed "linux-firmware", but it is not coming up. I assumed I only needed the firmware and the kernel options. The live CD uses b43-pci-bridge according to lspci -nnk outside the chroot. What am I missing?
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7090
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2014 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need firmware in kernel, too, if you built the driver into kernel.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43186
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2014 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth,

Or to expand on what Jaglover said ...

With the module built into the kernel, it cannot load fimware from /lib/firmware as root is not mounted when it tries. That fails.
With the module as a module and fimware in the kernel, the firmware has already been discarded when the module loads. That fails too.
Both the module and firmware in the same place work.
However, WiFi often needs fine tuninig winh module parameters, so until you know if you need module parameters and what they are, the module and /lib/firmware approach is advised.
You can pass parameters to built in modules on the kernel command line but its a reboot to change them. modprobe - r followed by modprobe <modname> <p1=x> <p2=y> etc, is much faster.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7090
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2014 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should get into habit checking dmesg. Answers are usually there.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1364
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2014 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did not realize that firmware had to be in-kernel if the driver was. I know how to do that since I had to do it for my bosses laptop, which he absolutely loves again! I'll rebuild on the live CD and try again. Thank you so much! Merry Christmas to you both, you have both been a great help since I started tinkering with Gentoo. I hope you both have a good one!
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7090
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2014 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are welcome and Merry Christmas to you!
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1364
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2014 11:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there a way in the future to prevent a thousand builds for firmware? It said it needed b43/ucode15.fw, so I rebuilt and added it. Booted in and this time it moaned about lp0initvals15.fw! What next? Is there a way to get a listing of what it needs so I can fix it right the first time?
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2014 5:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth wrote:
Is there a way in the future to prevent a thousand builds for firmware? It said it needed b43/ucode15.fw, so I rebuilt and added it. Booted in and this time it moaned about lp0initvals15.fw! What next? Is there a way to get a listing of what it needs so I can fix it right the first time?


If you are talking about the linux-firmware package,
You can compile it with the savedconfig flag.
Then go into /etc/portage/savedconfig/<package category>/<package>/ and edit its config file. Then recompile it and it will only compile the uncommented firmware
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43186
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2014 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Great_Sephiroth,

Happy Christmas to you too.

You could read the driver sources to see what firmware int tries to load. That may be non trivial, as its probably device dependent and one kernel module my drive many different devices.
Google may know.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1364
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I finally got it. It loads four firmware files. One of the MANY reasons I don't buy cheap laptops. Most cheap ones have Broadcom in them. My Latitudes all have Atheros or Intel in them.

Anyway, thanks for the tips. I will put them to use the next time I have a stupid Broadcom card in a system. The system is almost done building now and I am happy with it, so I know my buddy will be too.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum