Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Identifying network driver
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
godsmack420
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2005
Posts: 155
Location: Wintersville, OH

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2014 10:43 pm    Post subject: Identifying network driver Reply with quote

I have installed Gentoo tons of times. On a "hobby" computer at home I'm having trouble getting network driver to work. I booted the minimal Cd and had a network connection then. The card in an Intel 82566DC-2 Gigabit controller.

I have installed EVERY Intel driver into the kernel but my system does not detect it. How can I tell from the install CD which driver it was using?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7094
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2014 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lspci -k
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
godsmack420
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2005
Posts: 155
Location: Wintersville, OH

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2014 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks that worked. It says e1000e which I already have enabled. So more digging as to why it's not working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7094
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2014 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have a separate /boot partition, if you do, did you mount it before installing the new kernel. Just guessing.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5630
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2014 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

enabled as a module or enabled built-in

is your device being listed with "ifconfig -a"
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
godsmack420
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2005
Posts: 155
Location: Wintersville, OH

PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2014 4:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After doing "ifconfig -a" I see the name of the network card is enp0s25 instead of eth0 how I set it up using quick start guide. Will try changing things and let you know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
godsmack420
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2005
Posts: 155
Location: Wintersville, OH

PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2014 6:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Changed network card name in config.d/net and renamed /etc/init.d/net.eth0 to the actual name of card and everything working right. Thanks for your help. I just relied to much on quick start guide which is obviously outdated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum