Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
could not mount specified root try again
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Denas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 8:39 am    Post subject: could not mount specified root try again Reply with quote

Hello!

Have some problems with installing gentoo on my acer s7 laptop with "fake" bios raid0 onboard.
Followed handbook on installation+guide for dualboot with ReFind, last kernel version used.
On live cd boot all is ok and partitons on my disks are showed like /dev/md126p*,but After reboot on actual installed os i have an error,that it cant find dev with specified partuuid and that it

"could not mount specified root, try again"
and there are no /dev/md* devices

my lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor DRAM Controller (rev 09)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family USB xHCI Host Controller (rev 04)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 (rev 04)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev c4)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 4 (rev c4)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #1 (rev 04)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation HM77 Express Chipset LPC Controller (rev 04)
00:1f.2 RAID bus controller: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile SATA Controller [RAID mode] (rev 04)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family SMBus Controller (rev 04)
02:00.0 Network controller: Qualcomm Atheros AR9462 Wireless Network Adapter (rev 01)

Dunno how to enable support of this raid([/post]
Pls,i need some help)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Denas,

Welcome to Gentoo.

Please tell us how you made your kernel and initrd.
As you are using fakeraid, you need an initrd to make your raid visible to the kernel.

As you don't have any /dev/md* devices, eiher the kernel has no raid support or the initrd cannot assemble your raid set.

Fakeraid is in general, a bad thing. You should only use it if Windows and Linux must share the same raid set.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Denas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tnx for welcome and for fast answer,but not my 1st gentoo installation. first time notebook with raid.

About fake-raid, im agree,but i want to keep Win working.

initramfs builded after kernel with genkernel without compression (tryed --mdadm,or without, no difference)


Last edited by Denas on Thu Jan 22, 2015 10:49 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Denas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2014 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And for installation im booting usb in legacy mode,not on uefi...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Denas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2014 5:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tryed to rebuild kernel and initrd with configuration of kernel from livedvd or minimal-cd. Only changed kernel command line(initrd=/boot/initramfs.cpio)

And this gives me no result :(


Where I am wrong?(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2014 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Denas,

Get into your chroot and post the answers to the following.

Exactly how did you build the kernel and initrd and subsequently install them to /boot?
The commands you used should still be in /root/.bash_history. Please copy/paste them.

Please post your bootloader configuration file and the output of
Code:
ls -l /boot

Until we know exactly what you did, we can't tell what the problem is.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Denas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2014 7:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My last try with
genkernel --dmraid --disklabel --mdadm --firmware --no-compress-initramfs --install --kernel-config=/etc/kernels/new.config all
mv initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-3.17.7-gentoo initramfs.cpio
mv kernel-genkernel-x86_64-3.17.7-gentoo vmlinuz


ls -l boot/
total 125908
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 17131008 Dec 29 15:20 1_initramfs.cpio_bak_dvd_conf
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 7017384 Dec 30 11:31 1_initramfs.cpio_bak_fromdvd
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 3668240 Dec 29 14:43 dvd_conf_vmlinuz_bak
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 95631360 Dec 30 13:44 initramfs.cpio
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 2404103 Dec 30 13:23 System.map-genkernel-x86_64-3.17.7-gentoo
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 3076304 Dec 30 13:23 vmlinuz

kernel config file here
https://yadi.sk/d/Xpetp8xAdipVT

ReFind is looking for vmlinuz files in disk partitions to add em into boot menu for loading without additional params. So I renamed kernel and added way to initrd in my build-in kernel command line.
Tryed to boot with dodmraid param,but it gave me no help too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Denas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

any ideas?(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Denas,

I must have missed your Dec 31 post, sorry about that.

Can you take a photo of the kernel panic and post it somewhere please?
Just before the panic, the kernel should list all the block devices it can see. I'm interested in that list.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Denas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2015 8:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problem)

Panic will happen if I wont specify path to initramfs, for now i have this
https://yadi.sk/i/ltYix_t-e8WT8

last messages from dmesg
https://yadi.sk/i/2_6h5JLAe8WaH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2015 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Denas,

https://yadi.sk/i/ltYix_t-e8WT8 tells
Quote:
!! Could not find root block device in .

That is significant for what it does not say. Before the full stop, the kernel should have listed every block device it can see.
There are none listed here. This is to be expected if you need an initrd and do not list it as the modules te reach your HDD are not available.
Thats odd as the rest of the page shows lots of HDD drivers loading, under Loading Modules.

That suggests your system is still finding an initrd and loading modules but not the one(s) you need.

https://yadi.sk/i/2_6h5JLAe8WaH appears to show that you are in a recovery shell.
The kernel has also found three SCSI devices as the line above the # prompt says
Quote:
... [sdc1 Attached SCSI removable disk


Going back to your lspci you have
Code:
00:1f.2 RAID bus controller: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile SATA Controller [RAID mode] (rev 04)

Which is a fakeraid device. However, you can use it either with dmraid, which is the tradional way to drive fakeraid, or with mdadm raid.
Which you need depends on what you used when you created your raid sets.

You won't want to hear this now but fakeraid in any form is a bad idea - the only use case is if you need windows and linux to share the raid.
You should switch the device bacd to it AHCI mode and use mdadm raid from the outset. Thats a reinstall though.

Anyway, boot back to your rescue shell and find out what you have in /dev/mapper which is where fakeraid devices will appear and what /dev/md* devices you have, which is how mdadm devices will appear.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Denas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 5:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, i need to share raid with w8(

A lot of modules are loading, coz i excluded nothing from default kernel conf. Only tryed to find whats not enough,after that ill delete all what's not needed.

gentoo@livecd ~ $ ls /dev/mapper/
control
gentoo@livecd ~ $ ls -la /dev/md*
brw-rw---- 1 root disk 9, 126 Jan 22 08:46 /dev/md126
brw-rw---- 1 root disk 259, 0 Jan 22 08:46 /dev/md126p1
brw-rw---- 1 root disk 259, 1 Jan 22 08:46 /dev/md126p2
brw-rw---- 1 root disk 259, 2 Jan 22 08:46 /dev/md126p3
brw-rw---- 1 root disk 259, 3 Jan 22 08:46 /dev/md126p4
brw-rw---- 1 root disk 259, 4 Jan 22 08:46 /dev/md126p5
brw-rw---- 1 root disk 259, 5 Jan 22 08:46 /dev/md126p6
brw-rw---- 1 root disk 259, 6 Jan 22 08:46 /dev/md126p7
brw-rw---- 1 root disk 9, 127 Jan 22 08:46 /dev/md127
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4 Jan 22 08:46 /dev/mdev.seq

/dev/md:
total 0
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 220 Jan 22 08:46 .
drwxr-xr-x 18 root root 4500 Jan 22 08:46 ..
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 8 Jan 22 08:46 HDD0_0 -> ../md126
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 10 Jan 22 08:46 HDD0_0p1 -> ../md126p1
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 10 Jan 22 08:46 HDD0_0p2 -> ../md126p2
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 10 Jan 22 08:46 HDD0_0p3 -> ../md126p3
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 10 Jan 22 08:46 HDD0_0p4 -> ../md126p4
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 10 Jan 22 08:46 HDD0_0p5 -> ../md126p5
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 10 Jan 22 08:46 HDD0_0p6 -> ../md126p6
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 10 Jan 22 08:46 HDD0_0p7 -> ../md126p7
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 8 Jan 22 08:46 imsm0 -> ../md127
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Denas,

As /dev/mapper is empty and your raid devices are all /dev/md... it looks like you are using mdadm raid.

You have two raid sets /dev/md126 which is partioned and /dev/md127 whicn is not, at least, not yet.
To have root on raid, your initrd must assemble the raid set before root can be mounted.

Your image https://yadi.sk/i/2_6h5JLAe8WaH shows the kernel parts of both mdadm and device mapper raid loading, so it looks like you hove everything you need.

Your last post was made from gentoo@livecd which is only a part of the picture.
Boot into your own system (no CD until you get to the state you show in https://yadi.sk/i/2_6h5JLAe8WaH
At the # promt, try
Code:
ls /dev/mapper
ls /dev/md*
hopefully you get the same as your post above. If not, the initrd is not assembling your raid set, so your root filesystem does not exist, therefore it can't be mounted.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Denas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 5:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep,sry I readed your question incorrect.

https://yadi.sk/i/0Q-eXGPVeBGkC
here is from rescue shell. If there were some md* devices like in livecd, i probably woldn't ask for help)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43194
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Denas,
Code:
!! Could not find root block device in .
Hints that you have the kernel driver for the
Code:
00:1f.2 RAID bus controller: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile SATA Controller [RAID mode] (rev 04)
missing from your kernel.
The kernel should be able to see the underlying /dev/sd.. and your optical drive.

You need
Code:
CONFIG_SATA_AHCI=y
and you may need
Code:
CONFIG_SATA_AHCI_PLATFORM=y
too.

As you have an initrd modules will work for you too. You will need to rebuild both the kernel and the initrd if you have to make changes.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Denas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 6:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had
CONFIG_SATA_AHCI=y
CONFIG_SATA_AHCI_PLATFORM=m
in my last .conf, that i posted. Now I rebuilded it with both "y", after loaded with kernel param "domdadm", anyway, it didnt help(
Additionaly,tryed to use
mdadm --detail --scan >> /etc/mdadm.conf

While im on my installed os, i can use
mdadm --auto-detect, then it will add /dev/md0, but it's not usefull
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 5153
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 8:13 am    Post subject: Re: could not mount specified root try again Reply with quote

Denas wrote:
On live cd boot all is ok and partitons on my disks are showed like /dev/md126p*,but
After reboot on actual installed os i have an error,that it cant find dev with specified partuuid and that it "could not mount specified root, try again" and there are no /dev/md* devices

Besides the fakeraid thing, what does lspci -k run from the live-disk show? Check the modules it's using to drive your motherboard hardware and disk-controller, then build those in to the kernel (Y not M.) You should be able to run with the other types of controller not even compiled-in (N), which makes for a leaner build.

We usually build-in SCSI disk support as well (for sda and USB drives) but not USB itself (modular is nicer there, unless you need USB to boot.) Some boards use PATA too, but that's fallen off in the last couple of years. Also build-in ACPI support.

You also need your rootfs driver, but I'll leave you in Neddy's capable hands, since I don't know mdadm or fakeraid, and that requires an initr(d,amfs) if the rootfs is on a mapped device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Denas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gentoo@livecd ~ $ sudo su -
Code:
livecd ~ # lspci -k
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor DRAM Controller (rev 09)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0747
        Kernel driver in use: ivb_uncore
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0747
        Kernel driver in use: i915
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family USB xHCI Host Controller (rev 04)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0747
        Kernel driver in use: xhci_hcd
        Kernel modules: xhci_hcd
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 (rev 04)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0747
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0747
        Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
        Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev c4)
        Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 4 (rev c4)
        Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #1 (rev 04)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0747
        Kernel driver in use: ehci-pci
        Kernel modules: ehci_pci
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation HM77 Express Chipset LPC Controller (rev 04)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0747
00:1f.2 RAID bus controller: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile SATA Controller [RAID mode] (rev 04)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0747
        Kernel driver in use: ahci
        Kernel modules: ahci
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family SMBus Controller (rev 04)
        Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0747
        Kernel modules: i2c_i801
02:00.0 Network controller: Qualcomm Atheros AR9462 Wireless Network Adapter (rev 01)
        Subsystem: Foxconn International, Inc. Device e058
        Kernel driver in use: ath9k
        Kernel modules: ath9k


added i2c_i801 in kernel, need a moment to try


Last edited by Denas on Mon Jan 26, 2015 10:15 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Denas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nothing changed,and, for some reason, this module is not using,while loading on installed os.

https://yadi.sk/d/l7gui_YaeEsZ9
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 5153
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 3:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SMBus is a type of embedded bus, similar to I2C; it's not surprising you have no attached devices, though sometimes you get embedded sensors and the like using that type of bus.

I'd build-in: ivb_uncore pcieport ahci (Y) (i realise you have ahci already)
and modularise: xhci_hcd ehci_pci (M) unless you need to boot from USB

Also build-in whatever Neddy tells you to, eg you'll need device-mapper, which is under "Device Drivers" ->
"Multiple devices driver support (RAID and LVM)", as well as file-system support like ext4.

I have stuff modularised under there, with Device-Mapper itself built-in, since that covers lvm.

Excuse me if you've addressed all these already. Whatever happens, listen to Neddy. :-)

BTW I wouldn't use snd_hda_intel if I were you; just disable it altogether and use a decent soundcard or USB headset instead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Denas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Device mapper and fs is already done. All unnecesary things ill exclude later,when ill get working kernel.
This machine is not for music=D
btw,i cant find ivb_uncore(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Denas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 7:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

up)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum