Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
emerge xorg failed [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2014 4:04 pm    Post subject: emerge xorg failed [SOLVED] Reply with quote

When trying to install xorg I followed the instruction at: http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Xorg/Configuration
This included the "Pretend" option.
I put the missing flags in as instructed and then did the
Quote:
emerge --ask xorg-server


It seemed to be working OK at first but then after a while the terminal hung.
I typed in the last bit of data:
Quote:
DHAVE_LLVM=0x0303 -fvisibility=hidden =02 -march=i686 -pipe -wall -std=c99 - Werror=implicit-function-declaration -Werror=missing-prototypes -fno-strict-aliasing -fno-builtin-memcmp -c sp_tex_sample.c -fPIC -DPIC -o .libs/sp_tex_dample.0

And also taken a photo of the screen.
I've done some searching but can't find a solution.

After doing "ctrl +c" I got a "Traceback" screen (Photographed)
Perhaps I stopped it too early. Should I re-try the emerge again?

Can anyone help?
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB


Last edited by catchpole on Thu Jan 01, 2015 1:33 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7134
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2014 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It sounds like you may have killed it (with ctrl-c) too early (Traceback is part of Python which is likely just killing portage/emerge).
You could go into another virtual terminal and run 'top' and see if the compiler is still running when it looks like it got stuck.

Though granted I've not seen any long compiling files in a while, but this could be new. Do you have enough memory? Fast CPU? Was the disk thrashing in swap?
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mreff555
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Mar 2011
Posts: 231
Location: Philadelphia

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2014 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Where is this photo? Are you talking about a kernel trace back? There aren't any visible error messages in the code you have posted.
Install "wgetpaste" if you haven't already done so, and post your "/etc/portage/make.conf".

Also what are your computers specifications?

Generally when emerge fails it is due to a compilation error. Not a kernel panic. If that is actually what happened it may be due to some of your make flags.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2014 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi eccerr0r,

When it started the emerge there was a lot of screen activity. Then the screen activity stopped for perhaps an hour before I pressed ctrl +c.

I was logged in as root and I don't know if I can start a terminal at this point in the installation.
How can I start a terminal?
I've just finished the kernel installation and was starting to install xorg and then a desktop.
I was under the impression that I needed a desktop in order to start a terminal window.


Hi mreff555,

I don't know where to send the photo so that it can be seen by the forum so at the moment it's still in the camera.
The main reason for the photo was to record the information so that I could type in in if necessary.

I tried "/etc/portage/make.conf| wgetpaste" whilst logged in as root user and got:
Quote:
/etc/portage/make.conf| wgetpaste
-bash: /etc/portage/make.conf: Permission denied
No input read. Nothing to paste. Aborting.

I've used wgetpaste before without any problems!
How do I get my "permissions" back?

I had to create the "/etc/portage/package.use" file to input the three lines that were recommended by the "Pretend emerge".

The computer specifications are at the bottom of my posts.
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43213
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2014 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

catchpole,

Code:
/etc/portage/make.conf| wgetpaste

Close but no cigar. You have asked bash to execule /etc/portage/make.conf and pipe the output to wgetpaste.
Not even root can do that as /etc/portage/make.conf is not an executeable file.

Try
Code:
wgetpaste /etc/portage/make.conf
to pastebin a file
command | wgetpaste runs command and pastebins the output.

-- edit --
If you set the root password in the install environmet (before the chroot step) you have five Virtual Terminals called VT-1 .. VT-5
They are there anyway but you need to know the password to use them You will be on VT-1 if you are in a consol or VT-7 if you are in a GUI..

To switch to VT-2 press Alt-F2 or Clt-Alt-F2 if you are in a GUI.
Log is as root with the password you set before you did the chroot.
Switch backwards and forwards, use gpm to copy/past text as you like.

If you did not set the root password, you can press Ctrl-z to suspend the foreground task and get your prompt back.
This is useful if you just need to execute a quick command.
fg will resume the suspended task in the foreground, as it was before the Ctlr-z
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2014 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Neddy,


The results of wgetpaste /etc/portage/make.conf:
Quote:

# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /usr/share/portage/config/make.conf.example for a more
# detailed example.
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=i686 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
# WARNING: Changing your CHOST is not something that should be done lightly.
# Please consult http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/change-chost.xml before changing.
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
# These are the USE flags that were used in addition to what is provided by the
# profile used for building.
USE="bindist"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
DISTDIR="${PORTDIR}/distfiles"
PKGDIR="${PORTDIR}/packages"
#MAKEOPTS="-j2"
#Input devices - Put in by richard for the installation of Xorg Dec29th2014
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev"


MAKEOPTS="j2" was commented out because someone suggested that I should put it in the emerge command. However I forgot to do this!
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mreff555
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Mar 2011
Posts: 231
Location: Philadelphia

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2014 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How big is your swap? Two GB of ram is on the small side for gentoo. All that compiling uses up a lot of memory.
If your install was hanging, this could have been the reason.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2014 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi mreff555,

I'm glad you asked that question because when I checked I found it is zero.
total = 0
used = 0
free = 0

My system already has Mint 13 xfce and lubuntu
The hdd has three partitions:
sda1 = Lubuntu
sda3 = Mint (Default option)
sda4 = New install of Gentoo

It seems that its not sharing the swap!

Another problem to solve. At least I'm learning but I've got a very long way to go.
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ct85711
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Posts: 1696

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2014 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can share the swaps from other linux distributions as long as you mount the swap partition. All you need to do (as long as you know the drive the swap partition is), run
Code:
swapon /dev/swap_partition


Note: It is also possible to use a external hd as a swap partition (assuming it has a partition setup for swap). Performance may not be the best, but it may give you a emergency swap just in case. (I did test and use this on my system, before I upgraded the system's memory.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43213
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2014 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

catchpole,

Not mounting smap suggests that you /etc/fstab is not correct.

Commenting out
Code:
#MAKEOPTS="-j2"
does nothing as the default is MAKEOPTS="-j2". Look in emerge --info.
There are two different jobs settings. Its unroctunate that they have the same name but they are easy to tell apart.

MAKEOPTS="-j2", in make.config tells the build system how many builds it is allowed to run in each package buing built. In this example, two.
emerge --jobs=2 tells portage that it can build two packages at the same time if dependencies permit.

With both emerge --jobs=2 and MAKEOPTS="-j2" in effect, you could be running four instances of gcc at the same time because eacd package buing emerged is allowed MAKEOPTS="-j2".
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2014 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi mreff555, ct85711,

I've inserted a line in the fstab file and now have 2GB of swap from a shared swap on sda5.
(I might get some more RAM)

Hi NeddySeagoon,

The emerge of "Xorg" with "--jobs=2" has now been completed.

Thanks again to all.
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mreff555
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Mar 2011
Posts: 231
Location: Philadelphia

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2014 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great. Hope that helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum