Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved]nstalling gentoo through arch got... interesting.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
z3r0phr34k
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2015
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2015 6:50 pm    Post subject: [solved]nstalling gentoo through arch got... interesting. Reply with quote

So i've been attempting to install gentoo through an existing arch linux installation. I have successfully installed Gentoo on a different computer, but never through a pre-existing linux installation. Currently, I have an x86_64 UEFI laptop. My partition setup is like so:
/dev/sda1 [boot]
/dev/sda2 [arch root]
/dev/sda3 [swap]
/dev/sda4 [arch home]
/dev/sda5 [Gentoo root]
/dev/sda6 [Gentoo home]

I've managed to install Gentoo and Grub on arch linux recognizes the kernel and it's initramfs. However, when i try to boot into Gentoo, something.... interesting happens.
It starts up booting into gentoo, but once it's done, i get an Arch login with the gentoo kernel name next to it. When i log in, i use 'uname -a' and it shows the Gentoo kernel labeled as an arch operating system. I figured this may just be a configuration error, so i ran emerge. It said the command was not found. It appears that it's booted the Gentoo kernel into my arch partitions. I have never encountered anything like this before.

How can i fix this?


Last edited by z3r0phr34k on Fri Jan 09, 2015 12:29 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keet
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Sep 2008
Posts: 529

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post your grub.cfg? My guess is that the Gentoo boot entry is configured to load the kernel that you made for Gentoo, but still points to the Arch partition for root.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
z3r0phr34k
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2015
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

keet wrote:
Can you post your grub.cfg?


Thanks for the quick reply!
My grub.cfg is:
Code:

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
insmod part_gpt
insmod part_msdos
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  load_env
fi
if [ "${next_entry}" ] ; then
   set default="${next_entry}"
   set next_entry=
   save_env next_entry
   set boot_once=true
else
   set default="0"
fi

if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
  menuentry_id_option="--id"
else
  menuentry_id_option=""
fi

export menuentry_id_option

if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}

function load_video {
  if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
    insmod all_video
  else
    insmod efi_gop
    insmod efi_uga
    insmod ieee1275_fb
    insmod vbe
    insmod vga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
  fi
}

if [ x$feature_default_font_path = xy ] ; then
   font=unicode
else
insmod part_gpt
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,gpt2'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt2  2046f374-b1a2-457f-a16e-f0980b580d6c
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 2046f374-b1a2-457f-a16e-f0980b580d6c
fi
    font="/usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2"
fi

if loadfont $font ; then
  set gfxmode=auto
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
  set locale_dir=$prefix/locale
  set lang=en_US
  insmod gettext
fi
terminal_input console
terminal_output gfxterm
if [ x$feature_timeout_style = xy ] ; then
  set timeout_style=menu
  set timeout=5
# Fallback normal timeout code in case the timeout_style feature is
# unavailable.
else
  set timeout=5
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Arch Linux' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-2046f374-b1a2-457f-a16e-f0980b580d6c' {
   load_video
   set gfxpayload=keep
   insmod gzio
   insmod part_gpt
   insmod fat
   set root='hd0,gpt1'
   if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt1 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt1  FF6B-9C6D
   else
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root FF6B-9C6D
   fi
   echo   'Loading Linux linux ...'
   linux   /vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=2046f374-b1a2-457f-a16e-f0980b580d6c rw  quiet
   echo   'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
   initrd    /initramfs-linux.img
}
submenu 'Advanced options for Arch Linux' $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-advanced-2046f374-b1a2-457f-a16e-f0980b580d6c' {
   menuentry 'Arch Linux, with Linux linux' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-linux-advanced-2046f374-b1a2-457f-a16e-f0980b580d6c' {
      load_video
      set gfxpayload=keep
      insmod gzio
      insmod part_gpt
      insmod fat
      set root='hd0,gpt1'
      if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt1 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt1  FF6B-9C6D
      else
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root FF6B-9C6D
      fi
      echo   'Loading Linux linux ...'
      linux   /vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=2046f374-b1a2-457f-a16e-f0980b580d6c rw  quiet
      echo   'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
      initrd    /initramfs-linux.img
   }
   menuentry 'Arch Linux, with Linux linux (fallback initramfs)' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-linux-fallback-2046f374-b1a2-457f-a16e-f0980b580d6c' {
      load_video
      set gfxpayload=keep
      insmod gzio
      insmod part_gpt
      insmod fat
      set root='hd0,gpt1'
      if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt1 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt1  FF6B-9C6D
      else
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root FF6B-9C6D
      fi
      echo   'Loading Linux linux ...'
      linux   /vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=2046f374-b1a2-457f-a16e-f0980b580d6c rw  quiet
      echo   'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
      initrd    /initramfs-linux-fallback.img
   }
   menuentry 'Arch Linux, with Linux 3.17.7-gentoo' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-3.17.7-gentoo-advanced-2046f374-b1a2-457f-a16e-f0980b580d6c' {
      load_video
      set gfxpayload=keep
      insmod gzio
      insmod part_gpt
      insmod fat
      set root='hd0,gpt1'
      if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt1 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt1  FF6B-9C6D
      else
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root FF6B-9C6D
      fi
      echo   'Loading Linux 3.17.7-gentoo ...'
      linux   /vmlinuz-3.17.7-gentoo root=UUID=2046f374-b1a2-457f-a16e-f0980b580d6c rw  quiet
      echo   'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
      initrd    /initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-3.17.7-gentoo
   }
}

### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  ${config_directory}/custom.cfg ]; then
  source ${config_directory}/custom.cfg
elif [ -z "${config_directory}" -a -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/60_memtest86+ ###
### END /etc/grub.d/60_memtest86+ ###
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonathan183
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Dec 2011
Posts: 309

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2015 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

keet was correct ... you need to change root
Code:
linux   /vmlinuz-3.17.7-gentoo root=UUID=2046f374-b1a2-457f-a16e-f0980b580d6c rw  quiet

to
Code:
linux   /vmlinuz-3.17.7-gentoo root=UUID=whatever_the_uuid_of_your_gentoo_root_is rw  quiet


check the output of
Code:
blkid | grep sda5


check on your gentoo partition you have /etc/fstab set to the correct partitions also ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulenrich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Oct 2010
Posts: 1374

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2015 11:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no need to split the home partition - You only scatter unused space.
Look at /etc/passwd file. You can edit that file and move directories accordingly. Having the SAME user name
1. line Arch
2. line Gentoo e.g.:
SAME:x:1000:100::/home/aSAME:/bin/bash
SAME:x:1000:100::/home/gSAME:/bin/bash
Change SAME to your user name!
_________________
fun2gen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum