Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
lm-sensors not working?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 8:48 am    Post subject: lm-sensors not working? Reply with quote

I cleaned airways and replaced thermal paste of my laptop and now want to track temperature.
I followed this wiki: http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Lm_sensors and emerged lm-sensors but can not activate it -
followed recommended answers of sensors-detect but it is failed –
Should I answer yes instead of recommended NO? Can it cause any damage?
Is there another way to test temperature, rather than lm-sensors?
How could it be there is no sensor - How machine does know to turn on fan and shutdown when temp is high?
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvaterlaus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2010
Posts: 202
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 9:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,
you can say yes, it should not do any harm to your machine. All that is being done is, that a config file is written with the appropriate kernel modules in it.

if it does not work after 'sensors-detect', check with lsmod if the modules are loaded. If not, load them manually. Also, I never had any luck with lm-sensors when its components where built in to the kernel and not as modules.

If you still have problems, please post the error messages you get from lm_sensors and the dmesg output.
_________________
For calming down your eyes or clearing your mind: www.patrickwehli.ch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mvaterlaus Hi,

I answered yes on all questions and still sensors-detect still fail and here its output:
Code:
Sorry, no sensors were detected.
This is relatively common on laptops, where thermal management is
handled by ACPI rather than the OS.

Quote:
if it does not work after 'sensors-detect', check with lsmod if the modules are loaded. If not, load them manually.

Here is lsmod output - there is no mudules at all:
Code:
lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by

How can I know what is the needed module?
Here is lm-sensors output:
Code:
/etc/init.d/lm_sensors start
 * /etc/conf.d/lm_sensors does not exist, try running sensors-detect
 * ERROR: lm_sensors failed to start

Here dmesg: http://pastebin.com/Q79fDeCf
Quote:
Also, I never had any luck with lm-sensors when its components where built in to the kernel and not as modules.

I have 2 desktops with built in kernel drivers and lm-sensors working fine...
Actually, I had not ever loaded any module - Each one with his luck... :)

Please advise!
Thanks
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvaterlaus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2010
Posts: 202
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm,
maybe you have to review your kernel config. Please check the Hardware Monitoring support section and enable (as modue or built-in) "Intel core/core2/Atom temperature sensor", of course only, if you have an Intel CPU. If you built it as a module, load it first before executing "sensors". If you have another CPU, please use "lspci -n" check at [1] to check the components your board uses.


regards
_________________
For calming down your eyes or clearing your mind: www.patrickwehli.ch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mvaterlaus,

Quote:
Please check the Hardware Monitoring support section and enable (as modue or built-in) "Intel core/core2/Atom temperature sensor"

Yes - I have Intel cpu and already enabled built-in the kernel according wiki's instructions.

I am not familiar with modules - I want to add it manually but - How can I know the needed module's name,
and where can find the whole available list?
I tried to hit this command:
Code:
modprobe  i2c-core

but still same error massage when try to: /etc/init.d/lm_sensors start

Thanks
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvaterlaus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Oct 2010
Posts: 202
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmam,
you can only load the module, if you built it as a module in the kernel (M and not *). The name of the module I proposed is coretemp. So do:

Code:

# modprobe coretemp
# sensors



[edit]
you can find out what modules you have installed in the location
Code:
pcvat ~ # ls -l /lib64/modules/3.10.7-gentoo-r1/


if you do not have coretemp, you have not built it as module.

[/edit]
_________________
For calming down your eyes or clearing your mind: www.patrickwehli.ch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mvaterlaus,

I changed to M in the kernel of this driver:
Code:
<M>   Intel Core/Core2/Atom temperature sensor

and even of this:
Code:
<M>   I2C device interface

but still:
Code:
modprobe coretemp
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'coretemp': No such device

I have coretemp.ko file in this path:
Code:
/lib/modules/3.17.7-gentoo/kernel/drivers/hwmon/coretemp


Do not know what is missing...

Thanks
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sebB
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Mar 2011
Posts: 732
Location: S.O. France

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'coretemp': No such device

Seems like your cpu isn't supported
Can you post
Code:
cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep "model name"

or uname -a

EDIT: Found in your dmesg
Code:
Mobile Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.40GHz

Have a look in /usr/src/linux/Documentation/hwmon/coretemp, you will see the supported cpu by coretemp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sebB Hi,

Quote:
Have a look in /usr/src/linux/Documentation/hwmon/coretemp, you will see the supported cpu by coretemp

At the end of this file I found this data - do not know if my cpu support temp sensor?
Code:
65nm      Celeron Processors
      T1700/1600               100
      560/550/540/530               100


Thanks
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
v_andal
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 523
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2015 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as I understand, one does not need lm-sensors to monitor temperature of the CPU. At least I don't have it on any of my computers and still I monitor temperature on every single one.

Which CPU do you have (cat /proc/cpuinfo)? Do you have Thermal Zones enabled in ACPI?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2015 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

v_andal Hi,

Quote:
Do you have Thermal Zones enabled in ACPI?

Sorry but do not know what is it and how use it?

Code:
cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 15
model           : 2
model name      : Mobile Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.40GHz
stepping        : 9
microcode       : 0x10
cpu MHz         : 2397.868
cache size      : 256 KB
physical id     : 0
siblings        : 1
core id         : 0
cpu cores       : 1
apicid          : 0
initial apicid  : 0
fdiv_bug        : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 2
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe pebs bts cid xtpr
bugs            :
bogomips        : 4795.73
clflush size    : 64
cache_alignment : 128
address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 32 bits virtual
power management:


Thanks
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2015 9:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmam wrote:
Quote:
Do you have Thermal Zones enabled in ACPI?

Sorry but do not know what is it and how use it?

pmam ... what v_andal means is: "enabled" in the kernel ...

Code:
% zgrep ACPI_THERMAL /proc/config.gz
CONFIG_ACPI_THERMAL=y

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2015 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

khayyam,

Code:
zgrep ACPI_THERMAL /proc/config.gz
CONFIG_ACPI_THERMAL=y

Do not know you command but I guess you meant to this:
Code:
grep ACPI_THERMAL /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_ACPI_THERMAL=y
and
Code:
[*] ACPI (Advanced Configuration and Power Interface) Support  --->
<*>   Thermal Zone

I already have enabled acpi in the kernel as you can see,
but still - where is the data - Can you please let me know where or how to see the temperature?
I followed this: http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/ACPI , and emerge --ask acpid.
I emerged apcitool but still no temperature:
Code:
acpitool
  Battery #1     : Unknown, 100.0%
  AC adapter     : online
  Thermal info   : <not available>


v_andal,

I have two desktops (2 cores cpu) and I installed lm-sensors without any problem,
but with my old laptop it is not working -
lm-sensors probably depends on a particular feature of cpu or some thing else.

Please advise!

Thanks
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
v_andal
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 523
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, on my machine I can see temperature using command

cat /sys/bus/acpi/devices/LNXTHERM\:00/thermal_zone/temp

Normally I use conky for monitoring, I'm not sure from which file it reads the data, probably from the above one.

As far as I can see, the option
Quote:
Intel Core/Core2/Atom temperature sensor
creates module for "most of family 6 CPUs",
but you have older CPU with "family 15". So, I guess this module won't work for you. I'm not sure which one do you need, but once I've seen an advice to enable as module everything under "Hardware Monitoring support" and then see if something would be picked up by either the system or lm-sensors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum