Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
qemu CPU detection failing badly
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2868
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2015 12:06 am    Post subject: qemu CPU detection failing badly Reply with quote

I get this message when trying to boot with "Host settings" or kvm64 or even core2duo:
Code:

libvirt.py", line 1007, in create
    if ret == -1: raise libvirtError ('virDomainCreate() failed', dom=self)
libvirtError: unsupported configuration: guest and host CPU are not compatible: Host CPU does not provide required features: syscall


When I do

Code:
$ grep syscall /proc/cpuinfo
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm sse4_1 sse4_2 popcnt lahf_lm ida dtherm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid
So, the syscall is present in the cpu flags. This is an Core i7 920 with most of the features from 3 years ago.

What gives? Why can't I have it use all capabilities of the CPU? I can only boot it if the CPU is set to qemu64, which is not very optimal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13836

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2015 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is not a qemu problem. It is a libvirt problem. Does qemu work if you specify -cpu kvm64 on the command line?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2868
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2015 2:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow! Yeah, you are right. Its a libvirt bug. I ran qemu manually with -cpu Nehalem and it worked perfectly and the guest sees it as Nehalem.

Do you know of the exact command line switches I need to pass to qemu for bridged networking? It seems like libvirt creates some FDs which get used by qemu for the bridged network.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2868
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2015 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah...found it. I think I will resort to command line...:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2868
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2015 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Filed: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1184303
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum