Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
can bios fastboot lead to memory-errors?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
boerns
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2015 6:51 pm    Post subject: can bios fastboot lead to memory-errors? Reply with quote

Hi,

for some details see my other thread: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1009804.html

I have a new system with

- Intel Core i5-4460 3.2GHz (Haswell)
- Asus Z97-Deluxe Mainboard
- 32GB DDR3-1600 Ram
- haswell onbaord-graphic (cpu-graphic)
with connected Display-Port-24" Monitor
via displayport
- PCI-E Asus E210 Nvidia graphics
with connected 19" Monitor
via VGA
- 2 x 3TB WD-Red drives HDD
- 1 x 512GB Samsung 850-Pro SSD

I had some segfaults and found out that i sometomes get also
memory errors with memtester running in linux, where running
memtest86 and memtest86+ does not lead to memory errors.

Now the suspecious behaviour:

If I do ha hard-reset of the mainboard with reset-switch, see bios messages
about cpu, ram found mices, keyboards and usb-hubs, then boot to my system
everything is ok, no memoery errors with memtester. Same with own kernel
and with kernel from gentoo-install-cd.

If I then do a reboot, the system doesn not show the bios-messages and
goes directly to grub2-boot-menue.

When I then boot and to memtester, I directly ger memory-errors.

Can that be? Is mainbaord-fastboot not compatible with newst linux?

Greetings

Alexander
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2288
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe a bios update helps.

You may have look at this post: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1009620-highlight-.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boerns
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 5:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No sorry Bios is updtodate.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2288
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a X99 based mainboard with the newest bios installed.
I have worked for a computer company. There I had to test computers with windows and passmark and other testing software.
If a memory error occured, often the mainbaord was defective.
Second step: mainboard replaced and error occurs, then I had to replace the ram modules.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7006

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

asus has nearly always a list of support module, it doesn't mean any random module would not be fine, but it mean supported module were test and should work.
now to reach the maximum limit of ram a m/b support, you better read that list, as even some module that are inside the list of supported module are no more eligible to reach the limit (it mean if 8mb module branded Z is support it doesn't mean adding 4x8mb of those Z module is valid). You will also be surprise that number of module combination able to reach the max limit is low, impressively very low (as low as only 1 or 2 sometimes).
Check your module against the list (i know it sucks, it is something you should had done before buying them), and cross fingers yours are in it, else you get the reason why it doesn't work fully as it should.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2288
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The PSU can be defective, too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boerns
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

the RAM-Modules are out of the compatibility-List of my moanboard.

Tomorrow box goes back and the manufacturer has to check. Perhaps its really the Mainbaord.

Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlueFusion
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 371

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you ove clocking? Under volting? Try reseating the RAM.

I recently installed 24GB (up from 6) on my X58 desktop. I had a heck of a time with getting it all working. Certain modules would not work in certain slots. Also make sure you're using correct timings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2288
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should test and replace your computer parts methodically.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum