Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
New KDE install fails to world update [Resolved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 5:39 am    Post subject: New KDE install fails to world update [Resolved] Reply with quote

Hello to the Gentoo forums. :)

I have been having issues with getting Gentoo to update after initial installation. Every time I "emerge -avuND world" it gives me
Code:
"=dev-db/mariadb-10.0*[embedded=,minimal=,static=,static-libs=,abi_x86_32(-)?,abi_x86_64(-)?,abi_x86_x32(-)?,abi_mips_n32(-)?,abi_mips_n64(-)?,abi_mips_o33(-)?,abi_ppc_32(-)?,abi_ppc_64(-)?,abi_s390_32(-)?,abi_s390_64(-)?]" has umet requirments.
Then it fallows with the list of USE flags for "dev-db/mariadb-10.0.15-r1::gentoo" and under that it has
Code:
The fallowning REQUIRED_USE flag constraints are unstatisfied: xml? ( extraengine )
And below that there is a list of subsets.

I am completely frustrated and stumped.
In hopes that I could figure it out, I added CPU_FLAGS_X86=" " to my make.conf file which includes the same use flags as does my USE=" " does; pulseaudio python bindist mmx sse sse2 qt4 kde alsa gtk icu.
I had also tried to mask mariadb, which allowed me to update till I got to the gtk+ and then it would fail because the rest of the packages that needed to be installed required gtk+ and I couldn't get any farther.

On a side note, I installed os-prober so grub would detect my other OS's. and when I ran the mkconfig it show my other linux distro and windows partition. But when I rebooted and grub loaded, it only showed gentoo and windows, not the other linux distro. Does anyone know how I can have it show?

I hope that some one can help. It has been a long and frustrating day.


Last edited by Tefrem34 on Wed Feb 11, 2015 5:39 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yngwin
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 4572
Location: Suzhou, China

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 7:10 am    Post subject: Re: New KDE install fails to world update Reply with quote

Tefrem34 wrote:
Hello to the Gentoo forums. :)

I have been having issues with getting Gentoo to update after initial installation. Every time I "emerge -avuND world" it gives me
Code:
"=dev-db/mariadb-10.0*[embedded=,minimal=,static=,static-libs=,abi_x86_32(-)?,abi_x86_64(-)?,abi_x86_x32(-)?,abi_mips_n32(-)?,abi_mips_n64(-)?,abi_mips_o33(-)?,abi_ppc_32(-)?,abi_ppc_64(-)?,abi_s390_32(-)?,abi_s390_64(-)?]" has umet requirments.
Then it fallows with the list of USE flags for "dev-db/mariadb-10.0.15-r1::gentoo" and under that it has
Code:
The fallowning REQUIRED_USE flag constraints are unstatisfied: xml? ( extraengine )
And below that there is a list of subsets.

I am completely frustrated and stumped.


You have enabled the xml useflag on mariadb. But this requires the extraengine useflag to also be enabled, which you haven't. So you either need to enable the extraengine useflag, or disable the xml useflag (preferably in /etc/portage/package.use).

Tefrem34 wrote:
In hopes that I could figure it out, I added CPU_FLAGS_X86=" " to my make.conf file which includes the same use flags as does my USE=" " does; pulseaudio python bindist mmx sse sse2 qt4 kde alsa gtk icu.

That is wrong. Do
Code:
eselect news list
and carefully read the news item dated 2015-01-28.
You should paste the output of cpuinfo2cpuflags-x86 into your make.conf.
_________________
"Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves." - Abraham Lincoln
Free Culture | Defective by Design | EFF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@yngwin Thank you for the response.

Quote:
You have enabled the xml useflag on mariadb
it was enabled by default, I didn't enable it by use flags.
Quote:
extraengine useflag
I don't know what this is. Can you explain?

I read it before and again, but without understanding what I a supposed to do. That is why I placed what I already had in my USE flags in the CPU_FLAGS_X86, because that is the the example that what given in the eselect news list.
Can you give me an example of what needs to be done?
So now what I did is ran "cpuinfo2cpuflags-x86" the output was
Code:
aes avx fma4 mmx mmxext popcnt sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 xop
which I added to the make.conf under the cpu flags. Then I tried to update again and am still getting the same message.
I also have use equery uses, but what it gave me, I have no idea what to do with.

Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 557
Location: US

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, please read the portion on USE flags in the handbook carefully:

http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64/Working/USE

Basically you should probably be able to add the 'extraengine' use flag for the dev-db/mariadb package. This should then resolve that particular error. The instructions for how to do this are in the link above but I will give you a small hint - /etc/portage/package.use. :)

Also so you know the 'xml' use flag may have been enabled by the profile you selected. This automatically enables or disables many use flags. USE flags by the way are wherein lies much of the power of Gentoo.

Hang in there. It gets a lot easier over time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I added "dev-db/mariadb -xml' to my package.use file and ran "emerge -avuND world" and it started to do the update. However, the "x11-libs/gtk+-2.24.25" fails and the installation stops, just like it did when I masked mariadb.

So it seems the gtk+ is broken?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@davidm thanks for the reply. :)

I added extraengine to the package.use file instead of -xml, and updated it again, which also eliminated the error. It added a few more things to install, but I am waiting to see if it will fail on the gtk+ again.... and it failed again!

Do I submit a bug report?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have done some more searching to find a solution. But each thing I try to get my system to update fails.
I removed icu from my USE flags to see if I could avoid the gtk+, but it didn't change anything. I rebooted and tried another update and now I have circular dependencies with "automake depends on perl (buildtime) zlibs (buildtime) automake (buildtime)" and when I try to install it individually it runs the whole list of updates and provides the same error again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 557
Location: US

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would probably be a little more verbose about what exactly you are trying to install and which error messages you are getting (post the output using code tags).

Are you just trying to get a basic KDE install working? With Chromium?

Here are my current USE flags in make.conf if it helps you any:

Code:

USE="mmx mmxext sse sse2 sse3 ssse3 dbus policykit consolekit udev semantic-desktop udisks vdpau ffmpeg lame threads upnp xattr icu lm_sensors imagemagick mplayer ffmpeg theora lzo gimp gstreamer java nsplugin mozilla extraengine -systemd -ipv6 -gnome -libav"


'mmx mmxext sse sse2 sse3 ssse3' are all CPU flags and are in the process of being moved over to CPU_FLAGS_X86 so I have these in both places at the moment. Mine are different than yours.

Also I see I just put 'extraengine' in make.conf instead of package.use so that it would be global.

My profile:

Quote:

$ eselect profile list
Available profile symlink targets:

[4] default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/gnome
[5] default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/gnome/systemd
[6] default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/kde *
[7] default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/kde/systemd
[8] default/linux/amd64/13.0/developer


Don't forget after changing USE flags it's often a good idea to do:

'emerge -uavDN @world'

u = update
a = ask confirmation
v = be verbose
D = deep including dependencies
N = new use flag changes made

I'm guessing you probably want to keep 'gtk' in there as well as 'icu'. (using a - means to NOT use the USE flag) 'icu' was needed for me to get around a problem emerging chromium. Gtk was probably added by your profile I am guessing? You can always change USE flags later after you get things working. Then it's easier to make changes one at a time so you know what went wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tefrem34
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Posts: 268
Location: USA, California

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2015 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@davidm thanks for the help.

I just had so many problems with it I gave up and installed gentoo a'fresh. What I did different, instead of using the /desktop/kde profile, I used the /desktop instead and had success. In my USE flags, I removed "icu" from the list. I added it after kde was installed. This time I had no errors or conflicting packages. I was able to update world and then set the profile symlink /desktop/kde and then updated. I think that my, -j8 and it should have been -j7, caused several issues. My computer shutdown randomly several times I was trying to install the updates. So I don't know if this was a reason why I was getting errors and conflicts.

Thanks again for the help on this.

Cheers! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum