Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Kernel mode-setting (KMS) won't load
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2015 11:44 am    Post subject: Kernel mode-setting (KMS) won't load Reply with quote

On startup, my system will not load Kernel mode-setting (KMS) therefore I can't get the screen resolution that I want.
KMS will not load if there is another driver loaded.
I had tried two window managers previously ("openbox" and "slim") and have "unmerged them both and now use xfce.

When I unmerged openbox I was left with a message to:
"emerge @preserved-rebuild"
Having run this, it re-emerged openbox.
So I un-emerged it again.

When I look for instances of openbox and slim I get these results:

Quote:
find / -iname 'openbox'
/home/my-user/.config/openbox
/home/my-user/.cache/openbox
/root/.cache/openbox
/usr/portage/x11-wm/openbox


Quote:
find / -iname 'slim'
/usr/portage/dev-ruby/slim
/usr/portage/x11-misc/slim


Will these files stop KMS from loading?

I've looked at:
http://nouveau.freedesktop.org/wiki/KernelModeSetting/
There is nothing in the "/proc/fb" file so KMS in not loading. (according to the link above)

This link: http://nouveau.freedesktop.org/wiki/TroubleShooting/
Suggests looking in the "/var/log/Xorg.0.log".

cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep -i 'nvidia' gives:
Quote:
cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep -i 'nvidia'
[ 16.781] (II) NOUVEAU driver for NVIDIA chipset families :
[ 16.813] (II) VESA(0): VESA VBE OEM: NVidia
[ 16.813] (II) VESA(0): VESA VBE OEM Vendor: NVidia Corporation
[ 17.038] (II) VESA(0): VESA VBE OEM: NVidia
[ 17.038] (II) VESA(0): VESA VBE OEM Vendor: NVidia Corporation


Another suggestion is to re-install Xorg (libglx.so) and Mesa (GL Libraries).

I can take drastic steps if its easier because the computer is a spare used just to learn more by installing gentoo.
It doesn't matter if I loose everything.

can anyone help?
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2015 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Verify that your kernel command line does not contain any option to disable kernel modesetting.
Also check that CONFIG_DRM_NOUVEAU is enabled in your kernel.

If these two are set correctly and it still does not work, post your dmesg here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2015 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi chithanh,

As a noob I don't know how to check either of the two things that you suggested.

I've followed the guide:
http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Xorg/Configuration#Kernel_modesetting

Following the above guide.
I've gone through the "make menuconfig" again and checked that these were enabled:
Quote:
KERNEL Configuring framebuffers
Device Drivers --->
Graphics support --->
Support for frame buffer devices --->
## (Disable all drivers, including VGA, Intel, nVidia, and ATI)

## (Further down, enable basic console support. KMS uses this.)
Console display driver support --->
<*> Framebuffer Console Support



And these enabled:
Quote:
KERNEL nVidia settings
Device Drivers --->
Graphics support --->
Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support) --->
<*> Nouveau (nVidia) cards



And these disabled:
Quote:
KERNEL Intel settings
Device Drivers --->
Graphics support --->
/dev/agpgart (AGP Support) --->
<*> Intel 440LX/BX/GX, I8xx and E7x05 chipset support
Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support) --->
<*> Intel 8xx/9xx/G3x/G4x/HD Graphics
[*] Enable modesetting on intel by default





In the web page is suggests doing:
emerge --ask --verbose --pretend x11-base/xorg-drivers
The output of this is:

Quote:
* Last emerge --sync was 33d 5h 38m 37s ago.

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies .... done!
[ebuild R ] x11-base/xorg-drivers-1.15 INPUT_DEVICES="evdev -acecad -aiptek -elographics -fpit -hyperpen -joystick -keyboard -mouse -mutouch -penmount -synaptics -tslib -vmmouse -void -wacom" VIDEO_CARDS="nouveau vesa -apm -ast -chips -cirrus -dummy -epson -fbdev -fglrx (-freedreno) -geode -glint -i128 -i740 -intel -mach64 -mga -modesetting -neomagic -nv -nvidia (-omap) (-omapfb) -qxl -r128 -radeon -radeonsi -rendition -s3virge -savage -siliconmotion -sisusb (-sunbw2) (-suncg14) (-suncg3) (-suncg6) (-sunffb) (-sunleo) (-suntcx) -tdfx -tga -trident -tseng -v4l -via -virtualbox -vmware (-voodoo)" 0 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB

* IMPORTANT: 3 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
* Use eselect news to read news items.


If you can guide me through checking your two suggestion, I can then post the dmesg.
The present dmesg is at:
https://bpaste.net/show/69df7c9c9cc4
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7094
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2015 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are running kernel which was compiled on Sun Nov 16 12:39:58 GMT 2014, did you forget to mount /boot when you installed the new kernel? Or maybe you need to re-configure your bootloader? To see actual kernel command line
Code:
cat /proc/cmdline

_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2015 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
[    0.000000] Linux version 3.14.14-gentoo (root@richard-MS-7211) (gcc version 4.7.3 (Gentoo 4.7.3-r1 p1.4, pie-0.5.5) ) #2 SMP Sun Nov 16 12:39:58 GMT 2014

That kernel is quite old, it was compiled in November 2014. Are you sure that you are booting the correct one?

Also enable kernel .config support (CONFIG_IKCONFIG_PROC) and give us the output of
Code:
$ zgrep NOUVEAU /proc/config.gz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi guys,

I've been trying to get the grub to see the new kernel (3.17.8).
My grub is on sda1 (Lubuntu) and Gentoo is on sda4.
It boots OK to the old 3.14.14

I've gone through all the steps in the Gentoo wiki at:
http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Kernel/Upgrade
Under the heading "Manually updating the symbolic link" it creates a link to "/usr/src/linux"
but grub looks at (sda4) "/boot" which is where all the old kernels are.

Do I:
1. Move the new kernel to "/boot"
2. Create a link in "/boot" pointing to "/usr/src/linux-3.18.8-gentoo-r1"
3. Change the place that grub (on sda1) looks to (sda4) "/usr/src/linux"
4. Some other method that I'm unaware of

I need the correct solution to fix this before I move on.
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you run "make install" after building the kernel, the vmlinuz image will be copied to /boot for you.

Then create a grub boot menu entry for your new kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7094
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

catchpole wrote:
1. Move the new kernel to "/boot"

How dou you do that?
catchpole wrote:
2. Create a link in "/boot" pointing to "/usr/src/linux-3.18.8-gentoo-r1"
3. Change the place that grub (on sda1) looks to (sda4) "/usr/src/linux"

You are confusing kernel sources install with kernel install.

As chithanh pointed out make install will do it for you.

You can also manually copy it
Code:
cp /usr/src/linux/arch/x86/boot/bzImage /boot/bzImage

_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2015 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your pointers. I've got the new kernel booting and working .

I went "make menuconfig" to enable kernel .config support (CONFIG_IKCONFIG_PROC)
Quote:
File systems —> Pseudo filesystems —> [*] /proc file system support

General setup ---> [*] Kernel .config support [*] Enable access to .config through /proc/config.gz

Then did the command "make".


The command: "zgrep NOUVEAU /proc/config.gz" gives the error.
Quote:
gzip: /proc/config.gz: No such file or directory


I've searched around but can't find an explanation.
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7094
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2015 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

make will build the kernel and modules (if any), but it will not install anything. Next you need to run make modules_install (if you have modules) and install kernel. After this you could technically remove sources because they are not needed to run kernel.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2015 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi chithanh,

I got there in the end thanks to you and jaglover.

The output of "zgrep NOUVEAU /proc/config.gz" is:
Quote:
zgrep NOUVEAU /proc/config.gz
#CONFIG_DRM_NOUVEAU is not set


EDIT
I set the CONFIG_DRM_NOUVEAU in "make menuconfig"
Executed a "make" and "make modules-install"

Unfortunately the screen is now blocky, patchy and unsuable!

What have I done????

PS.
I need to pay a tribute:
Quote:
As a noob I have a dilemma.

The experts who give advice on the forum very kindly give their time to us noobies and we very much appreciate it.
I don't want to waste any of their time by letting them fix my problem without any effort from me.
Therefore I try to fix things myself and can get into a mess by doing so.
This creates extra work for them and I don't want to create that extra work.

As I get guidance on a problem there comes a time when I think I can carry on from there and arrive at a solution.
Sometime this works, sometimes not.

Do I try to fix things for myself when I'm halfway through a solution which can end up giving extra work to the experts?
Or do I follow the instructions precisely and await the outcome?

We learn more by trying and learning from our mistakes but can create the extra work for others by following this path.
Its not a nice feeling having to ask someone to clear up a mess that I've created.

Our path to "Competent user" is a long drag and our knowledge is gained in areas where we have problems but lacking in other areas.
As we get more patches of knowledge and the patches get bigger, they will eventually begin to join up.

This process could not happen without the freely given help of the experts.

I think I can safely say to all the experts from all noobies:

THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR ALL YOUR TIME, EFFORT, AND PATIENCE.
I want to post this tribute where everyone can see it.
Where can I put it?
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catchpole
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Sep 2014
Posts: 103
Location: Leeds UK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2015 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi chithanh,

The output of dmesg is:
https://bpaste.net/show/9fa23ff0eb56
_________________
Noob
With experience of Mint and trying to learn more by intalling Gentoo
Motherboard = MS-7211- MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
CPU = Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz version: 15.4.9
Memory = 2GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7094
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2015 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd recommend booting with some good liveCD (SystemRescue on USB is my favorite) and see if it works, it should load all correct drivers and settings automatically. Then, investigate the configuration. It should give you ideas how to set up Gentoo.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum