Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] grub2 does not detect win7?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 9:05 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] grub2 does not detect win7? Reply with quote

After re-installing Gentoo and working with fdisk only on linux's partitions,
grub2 does not detect win7.
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”


Last edited by pmam on Fri Mar 27, 2015 6:04 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I once read somewhere that grub2 can use ntfs3g to probe for windows partitions, but I haven't tested personally since I own no Windows machines, so you will have to check that yourself.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
py-ro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Sep 2002
Posts: 1733
Location: St. Wendel

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
* sys-boot/os-prober
     Available versions:  1.53 (~)1.56 (~)1.57 (~)1.57-r1 (~)1.62
     Homepage:            http://packages.debian.org/source/sid/os-prober
     Description:         Utility to detect other OSs on a set of drives


Is all you need.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

py-ro,

I installed sys-boot/os-prober but when I hit os-prober I get no output...
At the moment, I am installing X server - so can not put here the partitions output -
but fdisk -l shows all partitions including windows - so I do not know why grub2 does not detect...
May be need to do something with EFI? At the moment my Linux boot partition is of type 83 - Is it ok?
Need to do something else in case of windows multiboot? Can you please explain when need to use EFI?

Thanks
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
py-ro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Sep 2002
Posts: 1733
Location: St. Wendel

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

grub2.mkconfig make use of os-prober, if it is installed, just run it again. ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
grub2.mkconfig make use of os-prober, if it is installed, just run it again. ;)

You can assume I have done it before asking again :)
grub2 still does not detect
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1655
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What have you assigned GRUB_PLATFORMS to be in make.conf?
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64 OpenRC elogind nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64 OpenRC elogind xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hieronymus Bosch
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jan 2015
Posts: 75
Location: 31°45′33.14″N 106°29′24.63″W

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have to install these packages:

* sys-boot/os-prober

* sys-fs/ntfs3g
_________________
Details fueled any investigation ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2015 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which, A) makes perfect sense and B) reminds us that we really should read elog and ewarn messages at the end of the emerge output :lol:

Code:

$ grep ntfs /usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/*.ebuild
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.53.ebuild:  elog "NTFS filesystem. One way to do this is by installing sys-fs/ntfs3g"
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.56.ebuild:  elog "NTFS filesystem. One way to do this is by installing sys-fs/ntfs3g"
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.57.ebuild:  elog "NTFS filesystem. One way to do this is by installing sys-fs/ntfs3g"
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.57-r1.ebuild:       elog "NTFS filesystem. One way to do this is by installing sys-fs/ntfs3g"
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.62.ebuild:  elog "NTFS filesystem. One way to do this is by installing sys-fs/ntfs3g"
[pitufolandia] i92guboj@pitufolandia:~
[pitufolandia] 14:28:08 $ nano /usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.62.ebuild
[pitufolandia] i92guboj@pitufolandia:~
[pitufolandia] 14:29:19 $ grep -n3 ntfs /usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/*.ebuild
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.53.ebuild-64-pkg_postinst() {
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.53.ebuild-65-       elog "If you intend for os-prober to detect versions of Windows installed on"
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.53.ebuild-66-       elog "NTFS-formatted partitions, your system must be capable of reading the"
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.53.ebuild:67:       elog "NTFS filesystem. One way to do this is by installing sys-fs/ntfs3g"
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.53.ebuild-68-}
--
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.56.ebuild-64-pkg_postinst() {
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.56.ebuild-65-       elog "If you intend for os-prober to detect versions of Windows installed on"
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.56.ebuild-66-       elog "NTFS-formatted partitions, your system must be capable of reading the"
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.56.ebuild:67:       elog "NTFS filesystem. One way to do this is by installing sys-fs/ntfs3g"
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.56.ebuild-68-}
--
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.57.ebuild-64-pkg_postinst() {
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.57.ebuild-65-       elog "If you intend for os-prober to detect versions of Windows installed on"
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.57.ebuild-66-       elog "NTFS-formatted partitions, your system must be capable of reading the"
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.57.ebuild:67:       elog "NTFS filesystem. One way to do this is by installing sys-fs/ntfs3g"
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.57.ebuild-68-}
--
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.57-r1.ebuild-69-pkg_postinst() {
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.57-r1.ebuild-70-    elog "If you intend for os-prober to detect versions of Windows installed on"
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.57-r1.ebuild-71-    elog "NTFS-formatted partitions, your system must be capable of reading the"
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.57-r1.ebuild:72:    elog "NTFS filesystem. One way to do this is by installing sys-fs/ntfs3g"
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.57-r1.ebuild-73-}
--
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.62.ebuild-73-pkg_postinst() {
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.62.ebuild-74-       elog "If you intend for os-prober to detect versions of Windows installed on"
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.62.ebuild-75-       elog "NTFS-formatted partitions, your system must be capable of reading the"
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.62.ebuild:76:       elog "NTFS filesystem. One way to do this is by installing sys-fs/ntfs3g"
/usr/portage/sys-boot/os-prober/os-prober-1.62.ebuild-77-}

_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2015 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After installing os-prober and ntfs3g, and running grub2.mkconfig, stiil grub2 does not detect win7?
Quote:
What have you assigned GRUB_PLATFORMS to be in make.conf?

Do I need to do it? I had not done it before and without os-prober and ntfs3g -
and grub2 detected win7 automatically - do not know what has changed after the new installation? - I did not touch win's partitions...
Now I have X server so I can put here the partitions layout -
Code:
fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 465.8 GiB, 500106780160 bytes, 976771055 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disklabel type: dos
Disk identifier: 0x63aa0b54

Device     Boot     Start       End   Sectors   Size Id Type
/dev/sda1  *         2048    206847    204800   100M  7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda2          206848 102402047 102195200  48.7G  7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda3       102402048 307202047 204800000  97.7G  7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda4       307202048 976771054 669569007 319.3G  5 Extended
/dev/sda5       307204096 307208191      4096     2M 83 Linux
/dev/sda6  *    307210240 307472383    262144   128M 83 Linux
/dev/sda7       307474432 311668735   4194304     2G 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda8       311670784 353613823  41943040    20G 83 Linux
/dev/sda9       353615872 976771054 623155183 297.1G 83 Linux

_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nobody13
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jan 2006
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, I had the same problem a few weeks ago. Unmask the latest version of os-prober then reinstall it. It worked after that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1012824-highlight-.html
Try and see if grub can detect Windows from the LiveCD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nobody13 Hi,

I am trying to unmask os-prober but I do not know how -
I added to package.umask this line:
Code:
=sys-boot/os-prober-1.62

Then tried to emerge and get this message:
Code:
emerge -av =sys-boot/os-prober-1.62

 * IMPORTANT: 11 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news to read news items.


These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild     U ~] sys-boot/os-prober-1.62 [1.53] 28 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 upgrade), Size of downloads: 28 KiB

The following keyword changes are necessary to proceed:
 (see "package.accept_keywords" in the portage(5) man page for more details)
# required by =sys-boot/os-prober-1.62 (argument)
=sys-boot/os-prober-1.62 ~amd64

Would you like to add these changes to your config files? [Yes/No] yes

Autounmask changes successfully written.

 * IMPORTANT: config file '/etc/portage/package.keywords/cross-i686-pc-linux-gnu' needs updating.
 * See the CONFIGURATION FILES section of the emerge
 * man page to learn how to update config files.

When I choose 'yes' nothing happens and get the same message -
Please advise how to unmask os-prober-1.62?

ShanaXXII Hi,

I did not find any note regarding LiveCD in your link -
Please explain you do you mean by LiveCD?

Thanks
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 281
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmam wrote:
ShanaXXII Hi,

I did not find any note regarding LiveCD in your link -
Please explain you do you mean by LiveCD?

Thanks

Sorry, my bad. I meant the Installation CD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7552
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

add to /etc/portage/package.unmask this line:
=sys-boot/os-prober-1.62
and to /etc/portage/package.keywords
=sys-boot/os-prober-1.62 ~amd64
then emerge os-prober ntfs3g
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nobody13
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jan 2006
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmam wrote:

Autounmask changes successfully written.

* IMPORTANT: config file '/etc/portage/package.keywords/cross-i686-pc-linux-gnu' needs updating.
* See the CONFIGURATION FILES section of the emerge
* man page to learn how to update config files.[/code]
When I choose 'yes' nothing happens and get the same message -
Please advise how to unmask os-prober-1.62?


Your all most there. You just need to run etc-update to update the configuration files. Then emerge again and it should update.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Automask and etc-update did not work, may be due to package.keywords is a directory instead of a file...
Anyway, I did it manually, and then emerge os-prober ntfs3g -
Still grub2 and os-prober does not detect win7.
May be it is due to the following error message of ntfs3g, regarding CONFIG_FUSE_FS - do not know what to do with it?
Code:
 * Messages for package sys-boot/os-prober-1.62:

 * If you intend for os-prober to detect versions of Windows installed on
 * NTFS-formatted partitions, your system must be capable of reading the
 * NTFS filesystem. One way to do this is by installing sys-fs/ntfs3g

 * Messages for package sys-fs/ntfs3g-2014.2.15:

 *   CONFIG_FUSE_FS:    is not set when it should be.
 * Please check to make sure these options are set correctly.
 * Failure to do so may cause unexpected problems.
>>> Auto-cleaning packages...

>>> No outdated packages were found on your system.

 * GNU info directory index is up-to-date.

_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nobody13
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jan 2006
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

look in /usr/src/linux/.config. You should have fuse selected as a module (CONFIG_FUSE_FS=m). If you didn't select this:
Code:


File systems  --->
       <M> FUSE (Filesystem in Userspace) support


and rerun make && make modules_install (if you did manual configuration when you built your kernel)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nobody13,

Quote:
You should have fuse selected as a module (CONFIG_FUSE_FS=m).

You are great! I added it to kernel and now It detects win7 :)
I do not know why now it detects it as Vista, instead of win7, but it is not important, and it works ok

Thanks
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nobody13
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jan 2006
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2015 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your welcome. Don't forget to add [solved] to the title
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum