Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Nvidia Discrete GPU [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vanjo9800
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Mar 2015
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2015 8:28 pm    Post subject: Nvidia Discrete GPU [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I am new in Gentoo, but I have used Arch Linux for a very long time.
I have a build-in Intel GPU and a discrete Nvidia GPU.
In Arch linux the Nvidia GPU was not working when it was no used.
However, now in Gentoo, I do not use my Nvidida GPU, but it still works.

Code:

01:00.0 3D controller: NVIDIA Corporation GK208M [GeForce GT 740M] (rev a1)
   Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device fa43
   Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 29
   Memory at d2000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16M]
   Memory at a0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
   Memory at b0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=32M]
   I/O ports at 3000 [size=128]
   Expansion ROM at b2000000 [disabled] [size=512K]
   Capabilities: [60] Power Management version 3
   Capabilities: [68] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
   Capabilities: [78] Express Endpoint, MSI 00
   Capabilities: [100] Virtual Channel
   Capabilities: [128] Power Budgeting <?>
   Capabilities: [600] Vendor Specific Information: ID=0001 Rev=1 Len=024 <?>
   Capabilities: [900] #19
   Kernel driver in use: nouveau
   Kernel modules: nouveau


Code:

nouveau              1213230  0
mxm_wmi                 1355  1 nouveau
ttm                    67834  1 nouveau
cfbfillrect             3794  2 i915,nouveau
cfbimgblt               2087  2 i915,nouveau
i2c_algo_bit            5183  2 i915,nouveau
cfbcopyarea             3238  2 i915,nouveau
video                  12350  2 i915,nouveau
drm_kms_helper         61677  2 i915,nouveau
drm                   240391  7 ttm,i915,drm_kms_helper,nouveau
fb                     32517  6 i915,fbcon,drm_kms_helper,nouveau,softcursor,bitblit
wmi                     7723  2 mxm_wmi,nouveau
i2c_core               33442  8 drm,i915,i2c_i801,drm_kms_helper,i2c_algo_bit,v4l2_common,nouveau,videodev
hwmon                   2834  3 coretemp,nouveau,thermal_sys


Code:

0:IGD:+:Pwr:0000:00:02.0
1:DIS: :DynPwr:0000:01:00.0


How this can be fixed because I am using a laptop and the Nvidia GPU takes too much from the battery capacity and makes the laptop hotter?

Thank you in advance![/code]


Last edited by vanjo9800 on Sun Apr 19, 2015 12:58 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kentnl
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Mar 2015
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2015 4:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you able tell how your GPU is wired?

ie: Is it a Nvidia "Optimus" ( Should have a sticker proclaiming as such ), which are usually arranged such that no physical display is attached to the discrete GPU, and all the displays are attached via the integrated Intel device, via which video is sloshed between the Discrete GPU and your display via ram.

Code:

   Typical Classical Structure:  Software → Nvidia → Display
   
   Optimus configuration:
      Standard Behaviour:       Software → Intel → Display
      "Accelerated" Behaviour:  Software → Nvidia → Ram → Intel → Display
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vanjo9800
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Mar 2015
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2015 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My Nvidia GPU is not connected to the display. My integrated Intel GPU is connected and the way I used the Nvidia GPU in Arch was that I set the output of the Nvidia to go to the Intel GPU. I suppose that my Nvidia GPU i snot Optimus on the sticker only Nvidia GeForce is written.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 2273
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2015 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vanjo9800 wrote:
My Nvidia GPU is not connected to the display. My integrated Intel GPU is connected and the way I used the Nvidia GPU in Arch was that I set the output of the Nvidia to go to the Intel GPU. I suppose that my Nvidia GPU i snot Optimus on the sticker only Nvidia GeForce is written.
You output clearly states, that you have a hybrid laptop, which is always "Optimus" if the discrete card is an nvidia, or "Dynamic Switchable Graphics" if the discrete card is an ATI.

How else are you supposed to use the discrete card? Even if your laptop was ancient enough to have a multiplexer, you need either technology to make it work.

Some more informations:
Optimus with bumblebee (general information) : https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/bumblebee
Optimus with bumblebee (HDMI on gentoo): http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/NVIDIA_Optimus_and_HDMI_Output_Configuration
Native nvidia without bumblebee: http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/NVIDIA_Driver_with_Optimus_Laptops
And more general information: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/hybrid_graphics
_________________
Important German:
  1. "Aha" - German reaction to pretend that you are really interested while giving no f*ck.
  2. "Tja" - German reaction to the apocalypse, nuclear war, an alien invasion or no bread in the house.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vanjo9800
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Mar 2015
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2015 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for the help with bumblebee, I did not know it. I read the links you send. However, I want to use my nvidia card with the nouveau driver. So i read Prime (https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/PRIME). XRandR detects only one provider and there is not /etc/X11/xorg.conf.

How can I fix that?

Thank you in advance!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandreabis
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 2413
Location: イタリアのロディで

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UP.
Did you solve?
_________________
Il numero di post non fa di me un esperto! Anzi!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum